We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy friendly great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
Ranked #147 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the tennis this year and found our stay a pleasant experance.Our room was not large but clean and serviced daily.The breakfast room is warm and inviting .You are given a good variety of fresh fruits & stewed with quality cereals and breads., To top it off, a small selection of hot food,at no charge !!.
We own a hotel in geelong victoria. It never ceases to amaze how petty the public can be.
If you want to pay for five star on top of the city you may get you're perfect garden and matching
Décor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

STAY AWAY !!!!!
This place is a nightmare ! we stayed in the family suite. It is filthy and smelly. The room is incredibly shabby, worse than a backpacker hostel. Don't stay there with little ones !!My kids hated it. My husband and I stayed in the bed for one night and got spots all over our back the next morning... We stayed there one night and then we thought it was time to RUN
The fridge was smelly and dirty. They charge you for wi-fi access in your room but you need to stay in the reception hall to get it....
a hovel !!! I don't understand how these people get away with running these dumps and charging you for it

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RachLLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel has a glassed in breakfast room overlooking a herb garden. A spacious old mansion that has ensuites in each room, The rooms are basic but comfortable. Cleanliness in the shared areas is not amazing. They very kindly let me in when I checked in 5 hours later than I expected. Doesn't quite live up to the 'boutique' appellation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diorissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is not boutique. It is old but that's no excuse for poor maintenance and overall cleanliness.

Room Tip: Still looking in East Melbourne!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marigold g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed in the Cottage apartment and paid $209 for the night, first of all we are not fussy people, but this place was terrible. Our apartment had a private entrance that we could not even use, the wood on the door for the private entrance looked like someone had tried to break in. The apartment was dirty, it had dust and a dead moth behind the TV in the lounge area. The kitchen had a sponge in the drawer that smelt so discusting it made us feel sick, we had to use out hands to wash our glasses which were dirty, the tea towel sitting on the microwave had holes in it and was not clean. There was many holes in the walls one which looked like it'd been patched up not even painted and scuff marks eveywhere, no remote for the TV in lounge area. Toilet was not clean enough in my opinion. Room is very noisy we could hear the people in the room next to us, every word from the bathroom, which is not luxurious like they say. The linen and spare blackets in the cupboard were not tidy it looked like everything was thrown in there and didnt smell very good when we opened the cupboard doors. Reception staff were friendly and helpful although it was hard to understand them as their English was not the best.
Stay somewhere else, you wont regret it, we wish we chose somewhere better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I can't believe anyone would give this place any more than 1 star. Well past its prime and not maintained properly at all. And it was DIRTY! Stayed here for five days and the first day we noticed mould in the shower on the tiles (many of which were broken) and the shower curtain. We requested it be cleaned. The reaction we got was jaw dropping...."now!?" was all the receptionist could say before I had even finished speaking. I then requested for a message to be passed on to the cleaners to clean...."I can leave a message but that doesn't mean they will clean the shower"...unbelievable. And they didn't clean it. I managed to corner the cleaner a couple of days later but she couldn't speak a word of English. Apart from the dirty shower, there was no soap, dust everywhere, our shower mat not replaced, beds not straightened out with covers pulled up over crumpled sheets, tiny rooms. In short, a shocking stay. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs seem to be bigger. Upstairs looked tiny. But I suppose the dirtiness would be evi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SydneyMiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Terrible - the rudest, most unhelpful receptionist who demanded $50 for a parking permit or to give him our keys if we chose to park at the rear. Small, cramped rooms with air cons not working and completely outdated. Breakfast was poor quality, cold and cheap. When we arrived, there was no one there! There were other guests waiting for someone to turn up as well. A rip off, completely.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megsamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#121 of 161 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 161 in Melbourne
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
217 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#97 of 161 in Melbourne
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $71 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing