We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, excellent location, good, clean rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #45 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent location, good, clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed my stay at the Travelodge. I had not expected such high standards and such low prices.

We arrived there by accident , having not planned our accommodation in Melbourne. The location was fantastic - on the river, right in the heart of Melbourne, near loads of restaurants and close to the city centre and public transport. It was so good, in fact, that I had expected a much higher price. The Travelodge was also set far enough back from the road and the local nightlife to be extremely quiet (at least on the side of the building we stayed on). It was the only hotel in three weeks in Australia that I managed to sleep in without ear plugs - although there was an electrical sounding constant low hum that I couldn't identify the cause of.

The room was large, very attractively decorated and clean. The bathroom (or more accurately the shower room, there was no bath) was large and clean and practically arranged with plenty of space to put your wash bag.

In fact, the whole set up was very practical - there was a microwave in the room and a directory of where to order take away from. The Travelodge didn't have its own car park, but had an arrangement with one about 50 metres away giving us A$12 per day parking (ask at the desk, they need to put the parking ticket through a machine to get you this rate).

My only slight complaint was the beds (we went for twins just to be on the safe side, after a shocking night of roll together and bounce in the previous motel had left me sleeping on the floor). The beds were on castors and tended to push away from the wall when you leant against it to sit up and watch TV and were also slightly squeaky. Overall though, this did not detract from me getting a good night's sleep - and as a light sleeper with a bad back, that's no mean feat.

  • Liked — Fantastic location, good decor, practical set up, quiet rooms
  • Disliked — overly mobile beds on castors
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndigoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    2,432
    616
    135
    52
See reviews for
919
2,082
416
890
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

The best 3 stars hotel we've ever stayed. The location is great, only 10 minutes walk to Crown Casino and 10 minutes walk to catch the free city tram @Federation Square.

The receptionists were very friendly, we asked for directions couple times and they were very helpful.

The check-in was quick, we arrived @10am, the room was ready and clean.

Loved the microwave and the kitchen utensils, very handy.

We will definitely stay @this hotel again if we visit Melbourne in the future.

  • Liked — Location, the staffs
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank viaticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

Went into the city with the girls for a night on the town. Easy walk to do shopping at Melbourne Central and Bourke St Mall. Lots of really nice restaurants close by and pretty close to Crown Casino. Eureka Tower is literally next door. We felt everything was at our door step.

For the price we paid we were expecting something very pokey, but it was a decent size room. Even the pull out sofa bed was very comfy.

The service was good and the rooms were very clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Smileeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge,West Midlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2008

The travelodge has an excellent position needed as a tourist.The rooms are clean and what you expect.Staff are efficent.The hotel is good and pulls no punches but is one of the best choices to take whilst in Melbourne.

  • Liked — location.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

This was a really pleasant surprise as we were expecting this to be more like a UK travel lodge, but it is a completely different chain!

This had a really great location, just by the river and main station, with lots of nice restaurans nearby.

The hotel itself was very comfotable and excellent value for money. We would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to see Melbourne.

  • Liked — It's perfect location
  • Disliked — The shower wasn't that powerful
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wayne-Gemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

I have just returned from Melbourne, we stayed 2 nights in Travelodge. The whole experience was fantastic, it is just so close to everything, and public transport was easy to reach. Hotel staff were friendly, the room was spotless and very comfortable, bathroom the same. I got a great rate which included breakfast, which was everything you could hope for. Used the internet access in the lobby and it was fast and a good price I thought, $1 for every ten minutes. Southbank was great and close by.
The only one downside we found, and this has nothing to do with the hotel, is that unless you are willing to pay big bucks there isn't anything reasonably priced to eat close by, but maybe we just missed something :)
I would definately stay here again and will recommend to friends, family, and work colleagues.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — No rooftop sundeck or pool
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kayo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

I traveled for a month through New Zealand and Australia, and this is the only hotel that I wouldn't stay in again. I was here for 3 nights and couldn't wait to leave (I was also booked at the Travelodge in Sydney and thankfully, that one was much better than this hotel).
Yes, it is a great location. But that being said, I wasn't comfortable in the room at all which is also important while traveling.
I was traveling with a friend, and we requested 2 beds. We got a room with 2 twin beds, which is a bit uncomfortable considering neither one of us had slept in one since we were about 8 years old.
The worst part of the room was the bathroom- the shower was level with the rest of the bathroom, like you would expect of a handicapped shower to be. That would be fine except because all there was is a curtain around the shower, we were constantly dealing with flooding of the tile all over the bathroom, being on our hands and knees wiping down the tile! I had the front desk call the Travelodge in Sydney to make sure they didn't have these showers there (no) or else I would have changed hotels.
The door to the actual room itself was loud and needed to be greased very badly- I am sure everytime we open or closed the door every single person on the floor was woken up if they were trying to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sammyt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#41 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#55 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,265 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing