We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to enjoy Sourhgate and the Melbourne CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #50 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Perfect location to enjoy Sourhgate and the Melbourne CBD”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay here. Simple accommodation done well. I stayed on the 9th floor in a corner room. We got an excellent Friday night stay via Booking.com. Southgate waterfront is literally steps away and CBD (Flinders Station) is just across the bridge. Only criticism is that the bathrooms are due for renovation and look a bit tired. I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank feline_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear feline_1972,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Don't forget the Toga hotels website for bookings to get the best online price guarantee next time!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,121
    2,662
    671
    150
    63
See reviews for
1,016
2,286
457
1,009
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peregian Beach
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I spent 2 nights at this hotel, staying for business. By Travelodge standards I think it was pretty good. The hotel is new and the hotel staff were lovely and helpful on check in. The rooms are basic but if your priority is location this is a great pick.
The location is fantastic, you are just a 30 second walk from Southbank where there is plenty of places to eat and drink and there is a footbridge where you can walk straight over to the city.
I didn't use the restaurant or gym so I can't really comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Terri S,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and our great customer service . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

For future guests reference, the hotel does not provide a gymnasium at the hotel

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in Travelodge, Southbank for 3 days as it was most convenient for us and we always tend to stay around this area.

It is close enough to the city centre and to where my siblings live and the Crown casino for a bit of nightlife entertainment!

Not only was it close enough to everything, this hotel is quite efficient and is really good value for money – check-in was quick and easy, room was clean and quite spacious and is good enough for basic accommodation, which is what we needed.

This is good for short stays, but for longer stays than 5 days or so, we’d probably stay at one of the apartments instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GhianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear GhianV,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments. The team are so happy to read that you had an enjoyable time during your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having stayed there before I knew what to expect. The hotel is adjacent to the highest building in Melbourne and a boulevard of many restaurants that lead to the Crown Casino. Although on the South side of the river it is conveniently located to a walking bridge over the Yarra River and therefore just some 10 minutes walk directly to the Flinders Street Railway Station and major tram junctions adjacent. Another tram stop option is also but some 10 minutes away in St Kilda Road, and adjacent to the National Gallery and nearby Concert Hall. All in all very convenient to walk to downtown Melbourne.
On each occasion I had a quiet room, and I am lead to believe that is the case with other rooms. The rooms meet the national Travelodge norm fitted out with a clean, tidy functional room. A comfortable bed, quality TV, simple decor with a microwave, fridge, iron/ironing board available for use also.
Front office staff are efficient and friendly. Some minor administrative issues could be addressed, but they do not detract from the fundamental nature of good accommodation. I found my booking had an error of one day extra which took some time to resolve and subsequent adjustment to payment (incl a refund). Even on check out it still had not been amended - I was expected to have stayed yet another day. Further, on day 2 my room had only been partially refreshed. Also towels had been replaced (not at my request) despite the fact that the hotel encourages ongoing use.
All in all though a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear tastony2,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Our green clean policy is that if towels are placed on the ground, we will replace them, if hanging up, we will not replace them. I have passed your comments onto the team to ensure this process is being followed

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Enjoyed our stay for 4 nights in December at this hotel. Rooms adequately furnished, clean & tidy. Great to have a fridge & microwave in the room. We used the pay computers in reception area (very slow) to try to print off boarding passess for next internal flight but were unable to do so, helpful reception staff tried several times unfortunately without success to do so as well. As on previous reviews shame about wi-fi access being so expensive this is the same in the majority of hotels, we were given 15 mins a day free access during our stay but had to use ipad in reception area. We were grateful to be allocated a room as soon as we on arrived at 10.00am after the long flight from the UK without having to wait. Booked breakfast for two mornings during our stay, usual breakfast buffet - good, dining room busy but well managed by the 2 staff on duty. No facility for evening meals at this hotel, which is a shame as after a long day visiting attractions it may suit many to eat here rather than go out again. There is an option to order pizza for room delivery from nearby restaurant which we did on last night as had early start the next day, thought I'd been really clear on what we wanted, however instead of receiving fries with the pizza we got squid!!! Not any fault of the hotel though. Location is great for Southbank which is 5 mins walk along with train station and Federation Square 10mins away. We did eat on the Southbank, but found the restaurants there expensive, nice food and views. Handy to have 2 x laundry facilities within the hotel. Would recommend this hotel for value, location and helpful service.

Room Tip: Our room on 9th floor looked out at the Eureka Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear BeachLoverSuffolk,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments. The team are so happy to read that you had an enjoyable time during your recent stay.

I have passed on your feedback to Lacamera regarding your room service so we can avoid a repeat in the error

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Very reasonable room price for a great location. Close to great restaurants and bars. Room was basic, but that was all we needed: clean, comfortable, hot shower. Breakfast buffet was good value for the price. Wifi access costly. It's time hotels provided free wifi.

Room Tip: Higher up and with a view across the city would be nice if you are staying more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjm286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear bjm286,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are constantly working with our internet provider to improve value for our guests and hope that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary wifi available in the lobby.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed here a few times and find it pretty good value for money considering it's position just about 100m from Yarra River in Southbank.
Rooms are well furnished & clean and amenities are fairly good. If I have a complaint it it that the Wifi or direct connect Internet is not free like so many hotels and is priced at $10/hr although price reduces for longer periods, doesn't sound much but start multiplying it and it gets pricey.
This hotel is in a great position if you need to stay close to Melb city especially for places like the Arts Centre and there are many choices for restaurants nearby. Room also has a few amenities for cooking your own including microwave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear ralphd22,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
4,900 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 160 in Melbourne
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#91 of 160 in Melbourne
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing