We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #44 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas for the cricket at MCG.The hotel is in a fantastic location for Southgate centre,Flinders St station,Crown Entertainment Complex and many more of Melbourne delights.
We arrived early in the morning and our room was ready which after a long flight was much appreciated.
The reception staff were very polite and helpful especially Amy and Claire.Their knowledge of the local area and trains were fab and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We found the rooms to be clean,spacious,well appointed and always had plenty of towels!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Fiona C,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments and for coming back and giving Travelodge Southbank another go.

Glad you enjoyed your trip and good luck in the next Ashes series! (you may need all the luck you can get!). We hope to see you on the next tour down under

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,775
    2,263
    566
    125
    48
See reviews for
843
1,913
389
836
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a find! What a location! what a price! This hotel has everything going for it. It is situation 50 yards from the main Southbank and although it does not offer its own restaurant (except for breakfast) it is linked to one nearby where you can charge items back to your room. The rooms are very comfortable and in addition to the fridge (which every hotel in Australia has) it has a microwave a kitchen sink and ample crockery and cutlery for a DIY snack in your room, The hotel has two guest laundries and an iron and iron board in the room. I spent four very comfortable nights here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatrealaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Thatrealaleman,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and
thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are glad to hear you made use of our local restaurant chargeback service, we are always glad to hear our neighbours take good care of our guests

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stay here for the Austrlain Open 2014 & its in the perfect spot for everything. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was good, WIFI good & the rooms are good. It was just me & my 2 kids (11 & 7) & we had plenty of room. Beds were very comfortable & had a lovely view from our window (11th floor).
Travelodge provide each day, the scheldule of play, cold, ice, lemon water & sunblock. These little touches really help with the hot days we experience.
Checking in & out was done with ease & also booking the Skybus for hotel pickup.
Location is perfect as its a 5-10 min walk to Flinders St station/Elizabeth St to catch the (free) tram to the tennis.
Plenty of places to eat at Southgate. We chose a different eatery very night & was not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear gwombles,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear your family enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the Australian Open tennis and couldn't fault the service, room or location. As a reasonably priced hotel it ticked all the boxes - spacious room, excellent helpful, friendly staff and fantastic location. A nice touch having each days tennis draw, cold drinking water and sunscreen in the foyer to make the stay a little more welcoming. Our room was great, had a comfortable bed and allowed us to spread out and relax on the sofa after a long (hot) day of tennis. As experienced local and international travellers we found this hotel a real gem in the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coleclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear coleclassic,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments!

We are glad our tennis table/display was such a hit with yourselves, as with many guests during the period. Its fantastic to receive some recognition for something so little

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and the New Year and it was a great base for our Ashes trip. The location is excellent. The Melbourne cricket ground is within walking distance, as is the CBD, and Federation Square. Just round the corner from the hotel there are numerous restaurants and bars of various prices along the Southbank. The hotel does breakfast but not lunch or dinner. Our room was clean and comfortable and a decent size. Personally I would have preferred an openable window. Even in an 11 storey hotel it should be possible to open the window a tad for some fresh air. I have a few niggles which annoyed me. There was no free Wi-Fi. Most of the places we stayed on our 6 week Australia trio offered free Wi-Fi; here it was quite expensive even in the lobby. On Christmas Day and Boxing Day the rooms weren't made up. The management said it was in the interests of the environment. How? Clearly it was to enable the hotel to operate on a skeleton staff; that's OK, so why not be honest about it. When we checked out they tried to bill us in sterling and a poor exchange rate. I had to insist on paying in Australian dollars. This smacks slightly of sharp practice and left us feeling slightly unhappy. Otherwise it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear dianaen,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, however disappointed we managed to disrupt your stay with minor niggles

I have reminded my front office team that paying in foreign currency is an option for guests and should be left entirely at the guests discretion

We hope you were able to make use of your 15 minutes free WIFI internet in the lobby each day

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are airy and fresh with a basic feature set including microwave and television. Room was very clean, bathroom was clean however the floor was quite grimey in the bathroom but not to the extent it would put you off.

Lady at check in desk very friendly giving us tips about the local area and a map. Convenience store just round the corner from the hotel. Pleasant experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear nick_scjo,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Please be rest assured that the bathroom tiles are thoroughly scrubbed each day, unfortunately they hold permanent marks over time which may have given you the impression of grime. We are currently working through multiple options to remove these permanent marks

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed 5 days at Travelodge Southbank for tennis. Excellent location for eating out & transport. Disappointed about cost of internet access/wifi - I refuse to pay those amounts! Sunscreen & cold water at front door was great. Bathrooms outdated, but rooms quiet & pleasant. Room not serviced at all on one of the days - too late to complain when we came in at 10pm!! We bought a visitor's pass for the tram/bus etc at the local 711, which had $4 credit on it & can be topped up easily, and used again when we come back next year.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lillibt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Lillibt,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments. The team are so happy to read that you had an enjoyable time during your recent stay.

I was disappointed to hear your room was not serviced one day and I would like to opportunity to investigate with the team further, as it is definitely not something we consider acceptable. please feel free to contact me at the hotel at tcolgrave@travelodge.com.au or (03) 8696 9600 to provide your room details so I can proceed

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#63 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,894 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#43 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Property: Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing