We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Could not ask for better location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #44 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Could not ask for better location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I can only re-iterate what most reviewers have already said about this hotel. The room was clean, large, bright and had all the necessities I required. As many others have said, this is not a 5* hotel, so don't expect it. But of course it was not a 5* price either!! In fact, the price I paid for a Friday night was better than most 3* hotels on the same night.

The location of the hotel is ideal to explore both Melbourne city and Southbank areas. Eureka building was right next door and the casino was less than 100 meters away. Flinders St station, Federation Square and Melbourne city center, are all easily walked to from the hotel.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Navy35,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,773
    2,257
    565
    125
    47
See reviews for
841
1,909
388
835
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrabool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby. I really liked it a lot. First of all, remember it is not 5 star, so the bathroom isn't marble and you don't get heaps of large towels. However it met all our needs very well. I like the way there is a microwave and a large sink in the 'kitchen' area, also some plates and cutlery. We could fill up the kettle easily in this sink, and didn't have to go into the bathroom and put the kettle on a funny angle. The bed was comfortable, there was a small table with two chairs and a couch. There are two guest laundries which you don't get in higher priced hotels. Best of all the price was very reasonable. The parking was between $12 and $14 dollars a day which is very good for this area. The hotel is very close to bustling Southbank, Federation Square and the Arts precinct. The staff were very helpful and recommended a nearby hairdresser. I would recommend this for people who like to stay in a central area and not pay a huge price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Linda F,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave| Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here with my wife back in January 2013 but only just getting round to writing a review. We stayed 4 or 5 nights amd while it's not a 'luxury' hotel, it's clean, comfortable and ideally located for a first-time visit to Melbourne, right next to the Skytower and a short walk to the Botanical Gardens and Federation Square.

Only down-side was no room safe so have to use a box behind reception which is a little less user friendly as you sometimes have to wait to be served and there was a little lack of consistency when signing the access log. All is taken into their back office however and seems perfectly safe. Staff were very helpful too.

Overall, solid choice of hotel and recommended to my parents who are staying there next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Paul M,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.


Thanks so much for recommending us to your family and we look forward to welcoming them in the future

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Brilliant location. Next door to Eureka Skydeck. A short stroll to all Southbank has to offer and the walk bridge over the Yarra to the CBD.

The hotel is clean, and the staff pleasant and helpful. Room was quite large and the bathroom was clean and well lit. Shower was large and water pressure was good.

Only gripe I have is about the shower. Water goes everywhere!! And I mean everywhere. The bathroom door is water damaged, that is how bad the water from the shower sprays everywhere. They need to replace the shower curtain with a door.

This hotel is hard to beat, price wise and location wise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandden6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Denise1002,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We hope to be able to announce a bathroom re-design in the near future, which will assist in minimising the water leaving the shower. In the interim we are purchasing shower curtains long enough to the ground.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago for a few nights and were impressed with it back then which led to us booking it again this time around. This hotel is good value given the great location and the comparable costs of other hotels in the area. The hotel is clean with friendly staff. The rooms are a nice size with comfortable beds. There are also guest laundry facilities in the hotel which are useful, and the rooms have a fridge, microwave and sink as well as a kettle. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pcuff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear pcuff1980,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Had occasion to stay in Melbourne overnight on 25th November. Made a last minute booking with this great hotel. Check-in was a bit busy but once to the counter, staff at reception, efficient and professional. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The location is fantastic, right on Southbank and an easy walk to the CBD. From observation, I would say this is a very popular choice for local and overseas travellers. Would definitely recommend and stay here in the future.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Julie B,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I think for the location/price ratio, this place is hard to beat. Melbourne is right at your doorstep, being just across the river from the CBD and Flinders Station/Federation Square. And of course all the wonderful options for entertainment and eating out just outside your door. Being next door to the Eureka Sky Deck makes the place easy to find when you are walking home. As a little hint, there is a 7/11 on the back corner of the hotel which is very handy to have. And mums/wives, get yourself some time out and send the guys for a walk around the hotel block so they can look and dream at the Aston Martin and BMW dealerships while you grab something chocolatey from the Lindt shop in the mall next door.

A couple of gripes. As other guests have mentioned, one of the two lifts being out of order and not being able to access stairs (they are alarmed) was a frustration at times with some quite long waits for the working lift. TV reception was not that great, and the same was in the father-in-laws room, so it was not just our room. I know you don't go to Melbourne to watch TV, but if you want to catch up on some news its nice to be able to watch it without the signal dropping every so often. The biggest gripe for me though was the price of the wifi, which I felt was over the top. So if want wifi, I can suggest the food court in the mall next door where it is free, or any number of the coffee/breakfast bars in the area.

So onto the good points. The room was clean and tidy and we found the staff to be very helpful. We arrived early and even though the rooms were not ready the staff happily stored the bags for us and gave us some ideas on places nearby to eat or see. This was the theme throughout our stay, the staff always happy to answer questions and give helpful tips. I have already covered the location above. There is also the bonus of being next to the mall with a food court. Not only does it have the free wifi, but also a great selection of well priced food options that should please the whole family, seems to be very popular with the locals too for an after work catchup.

The hotel does breakfast, though we never had it there, as we found a couple of breakfast cafes very close by doing some great breakfast options.

We have stayed here before, and it would be on my short list for any return to Melbourne, though would like to see a more realistic wifi pricing scheme.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan_and_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Jan_and_Ham ,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Please accept my apologies for one of our lifts being out of action for part of your stay. We worked tirelessly to get this back up and running and were as relieved as anyone when it was fixed

We hope you were able to make use of our complimentary 15mins wifi each day in our lobby during your stay, but as you said, the local area offers mulitple free wifi spots. For guests that require more than 15mins, a charge of $19.95 per 24 hours is available in your rooms

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#63 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,879 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#43 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Property: Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing