We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #51 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a mid-range hotel but its location makes up for the lack of frills. It is a short walk to the embankment and galleries and Federation Square. Good pedestrian access across the river to shops and restaurants. We were impressed by the consistently friendly and helpful staff. The room was a good size and comfortably furnished with tea/coffee facilities, microwave and most importantly iron/ironing board. Wifi very expensive best to make your own arrangements.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear John_MtEden,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are constantly working with our internet provider to improve value for our guests and we hope that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary wifi available in the lobby.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,798)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,872 - 4,878 of 5,798 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a great stay! The location of the hotel was perfect, really close to the river and the very well priced & varied Southbank food court. A standard basic hotel but very comfortable, clean, and neat. Despite the central location it was lovely and quiet too. Staff efficient, friendly and helpful. Would definately stay there again. Cheers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonz2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Sonz2005

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had come from Sydney and quickly checked into the Hotel. Since it is situated on a very busy street, getting out of the cab could be an issue. The check in was extremely swift and the room very comfortable. Since my cousin who is staying in Melbourne insisted, I decided to check out. The check out also was extremely swift. The door leading to the road was locked so I had to use another one. But over all good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandiii999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Sandiii999,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments. The team are so happy to read

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is no better than it pretends to be but is comfortable, has very helpful staff (my wife had an emergency - they were terrific) and is a locality that is perfect. It is right behind the Art Gallery, across the bridge from the station, Federation Square and the CBD and surrounded by a terrific range of restaurants and bars, with Crown Casino just a 10 minute walk.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank IanF46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear IanF46,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I was very glad to hear the staff were able to assist with your emergency

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

An excellent budget hotel, well located on Southbank. However, provides limited services and room service options. Prices vary significantly depending on the Melbourne events schedule. Staff are efficient and friendly.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank jhall14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear jhall14,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

The hotels finds by offering less services than your standard 5 start hotel, we are able to offer the most competetive rates in southbank and we are glad you were able to take advantage of it during your stay

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Never stayed here before so we decided we would try it out and booked this hotel prior to flying into Melbourne. We arrived a couple of hours earlier than check-in time and the staff let us into our room at that time so that was a good start for us as we had some heavy luggage. Staff and service were excellent and very accommodating for our needs. Room was comfortable, very clean and a reasonable size for our needs. We did have a small issue with a missing top sheet on our bed and that was resolved very quickly. Will stay here again when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Panda1939,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

While our hotel standard is not to use a top sheet, we are glad you made good use of our 24/7 service and were happy with the result

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just spent a week in Melbourne,Southbank Travelodge room 919 very good place to stay,good location.nice room good shower plenty of towels,coffee, tea etc,good bed plenty of pillows,fridge,microwave ,plates cutlery etc,sink,plenty of coathangers,TV reception mmmm not baaad,Hard working room staff,two minutes from Yarra River,good value eating in Southgate eateries,made our stay very enjoyable,would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Book Sky bus from Airport
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddy035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Paddy035,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,017 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#96 of 160 in Melbourne
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $97 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing