We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, value, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #51 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Location, value, clean”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Travelodge is a good choice for a comfortable no frills hotel central to Melbourne and a brilliant spot for access to Southbank and the restaurants and Casino. For business it is well located and good value, and has toiletries and an iron, basic breakfast. Plenty of great bars and restaurants within a short walk. Try the Bond Store 50m away for a great breakfast and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Steve36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,085
    2,630
    657
    147
    63
See reviews for
1,005
2,258
445
982
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Booleroo Centre, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed two nights in a group of six, all with separate rooms. We all found the hotel clean, good value and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was great value at $15 a head. The location was great with a short walk to the casino and CBD a moderate walk to the MCG and within walking distance of Etihad Stadium.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notafussytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at the Travelodge for 3 nights after a long flight from the UK. First night we just crashed out as very tired, but the room was very good. Clean and an extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and kept clean every day we were there. Set in a great area to go into the centre of Melbourne. Next door to the tallest building in Melbourne. Breakfast was wonderful, so much chose that we tried to work out how many courses we could actually eat, it was a buffet style breakfast that we did pay extra for. On the whole a very good hotel and could show the Travelodges in the UK a few things. Hopefully going back next January, so a good offer from them would be very much appreciated.

Room Tip: our room was very good, and had no complaints at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had no hassles booking in to the travelodge over the phone. On arrival from an early flight the staff were happy to book us in a little earlier as the room was ready. All the staff were helpful and friendly especially Esther. The room is very clean and has an environmental policy where you leave a card on your bed and they wont change the sheets. However our towels were changed each day and we didnt indicate we wanted this as we hung them up. The hotel does cater for chinese tour groups who could be noisy outside of the lift areas , shouting etc. but this is not the hotels fault, perhaps some signs opposite the lifts to be thoughtful of other guests ( we had a room near the lift). Also we were given a lower floor which was appreciated as we were travelling with my 80 year old in laws. The hotel is central to a food court and walking distance to the Yarra and over the bridge to Flinders station. We had a lovely stay and will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived to the hotel at 11am after a trip from US that lasted close to 24hrs. The front desk staff was very accommodating and able to check us in. Travelling with a young child, this was a fantastic gesture as it allowed us to rest a bit and then head out. In the following days the staff also booked a couple of tours for us, one that ended up costing more than expected. The staff (Amanda and Toby) was able to contact the tour operator and correct the overcharge.

The room was clean and reasonably equipped. At least once the cleaning staff did not replenish the toiletries, but for the most part, the room was cleaned in a reasonable fashion. The view from our room was not very impressive, but it was not a major drawback. Getting from the hotel to the main city area was no problem (basically you cross a foot bridge). There is also a shopping center near the hotel with several reasonable food options. The free bus is also within reach and close by you can take a paid tram directly to the zoo and Victoria Market.

Overall, excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefanelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laidley, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spent only one night at this hotel in order to visit the NGV. I was extremely impressed with this establishment, especially for the price I paid. Everything was sparkling clean, and my room included a kitchenette, large shower and a lovely view from the 9th floor. The staff were friendly and helpful and I used Skybus and their free hotel shuttle service to travel to and from the airport - $28 return. It was such a lovely area for walking around Southbank, and so close to Flinders Street Station and all of central Melbourne, with its free City Circle trams. I thoroughly recommend this establishment for its location, service and value for money and will no doubt stay here when in Melbourne again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbugbitten10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Travel Lodge southbank is in the ideal position to take advantage of what central Melbourne has to offer.
Basic clean rooms with extremely comfortable bedding ! Good basic breakfast. Helpful staff.
House keeping needs to pick up game - stayed for three nights, didn't require room cleaning after first as was having a sleep in, could hardly tell they had been in the next.
Enjoyed stay and due to the price and five star location would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
4,808 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 160 in Melbourne
3,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing