We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #52 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived to the hotel at 11am after a trip from US that lasted close to 24hrs. The front desk staff was very accommodating and able to check us in. Travelling with a young child, this was a fantastic gesture as it allowed us to rest a bit and then head out. In the following days the staff also booked a couple of tours for us, one that ended up costing more than expected. The staff (Amanda and Toby) was able to contact the tour operator and correct the overcharge.

The room was clean and reasonably equipped. At least once the cleaning staff did not replenish the toiletries, but for the most part, the room was cleaned in a reasonable fashion. The view from our room was not very impressive, but it was not a major drawback. Getting from the hotel to the main city area was no problem (basically you cross a foot bridge). There is also a shopping center near the hotel with several reasonable food options. The free bus is also within reach and close by you can take a paid tram directly to the zoo and Victoria Market.

Overall, excellent experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefanelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,039 - 5,045 of 5,933 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spent only one night at this hotel in order to visit the NGV. I was extremely impressed with this establishment, especially for the price I paid. Everything was sparkling clean, and my room included a kitchenette, large shower and a lovely view from the 9th floor. The staff were friendly and helpful and I used Skybus and their free hotel shuttle service to travel to and from the airport - $28 return. It was such a lovely area for walking around Southbank, and so close to Flinders Street Station and all of central Melbourne, with its free City Circle trams. I thoroughly recommend this establishment for its location, service and value for money and will no doubt stay here when in Melbourne again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbugbitten10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Travel Lodge southbank is in the ideal position to take advantage of what central Melbourne has to offer.
Basic clean rooms with extremely comfortable bedding ! Good basic breakfast. Helpful staff.
House keeping needs to pick up game - stayed for three nights, didn't require room cleaning after first as was having a sleep in, could hardly tell they had been in the next.
Enjoyed stay and due to the price and five star location would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed on the second level of the hotel for one night. Positives were the room was clean and the location was great. As others have said the hotel is very close to the highlights of Southbank and a short walk across the river to the CBD. I was able to get a hotel shuttle service connection from the Skybus at no additional charge. My room had a couch, table, tv and bar fridge (just as seen in photos). The bed and temperature were both comfortable. Service at the front desk was slow, but very friendly and helpful. Were able to check in when we arrived early. Staff kindly held our bags on the day of check out to allow us to tour the city.

Negatives included the sound of the whistle used by the bellhop at the neighbouring hotel which pierced right through the window (don't even think about an afternoon nap). Also, there was no shower recess (not a fan of water all over the bathroom floor). No free wifi available (a big negative in this day and age).

Curious happenstance - there was an evacuation in the early morning when the fire department was called to the eleventh floor. However, I had no idea and it did not appear the whole building was instructed to evacuate. It was only that a fellow traveller was awoken by the faint evacuation signal on the higher floor that I even became aware of the emergency situation. The fire department were already completing final checks by the time I made it to the lobby. I hope this was due to a low risk assessment of the danger and not to a failed evacuation alert system!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatshepsut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the travelodge with my son . We were in Melbourne to see the liverpool , victory game . The hotel is clean the rooms spacious the staff are polite and the location is excellent . Will stay again when next in town withy son .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funky1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Travelodge Southbank on a number of occasions now. It was always pretty good apart from our last visit. Lets start with the positives...excellent location, right in the heart of Southbank surrounded by top quality cafe's and restaurants. Just a short stroll over a footbridge and your in the heart of Melbourne CBD. Staff have always been great too. Now to the bad...the bathrooms are terrible! There seems to be no extraction fan in the bathroom, and this has resulted in an unacceptable level of mould build up in the showers - or they are just not getting cleaned thoroughly! The towels and linens were disgusting! Paper thin towels and gross pillow/cushion covers that look like they haven't been washes for weeks. This place really needs to step up in the housekeeping department! Such a pity - I personally wouldn't recommend to return to!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Amtra,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.
We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments.

I am glad to announce that we are currently completing works to unblock all exaust fans in the hotel. Currently 4 floors of the hotel are complete and we expect to be finished in around 8 weeks. We have already seen a vast improvement in the cleanliness of the bathrooms

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is strategically located near the yarra river. Various restaurants and food courts nearby. Decent room size and acceptable cleanliness. Also close to Flinder street station and about 15-20 minutes walk to city centre

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 162 in Melbourne
5,082 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#100 of 162 in Melbourne
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 162 in Melbourne
3,712 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $104 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing