We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$110
$87
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$269
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$168
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$206
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$257
$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$121
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (6,685)
Filter reviews
6,685 results
Traveler rating
2,538
3,105
782
182
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,538
3,105
782
182
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel lodgeeureka towersouth bankarts centreyarra rivershort walkflinders street stationroom was cleancrown casinorestaurants and barswithin walking distancewould stay againgood sizepublic transportgreat place to staycar parking
Filter
Updating list...
5,818 - 5,823 of 6,685 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went down to Melbourne for four days and found this hotel to be in the best location for our needs, very close to transport & short walk to all the cafe's etc along Southbank.

Staff there were very helpfull & always willings to assist with our requests - Flinders St. Station is just across the river by five minutes walking & easy access to all the markets during the weekend.

Highly reccommend just walking around the streets & getting lost in the little lane ways as you get to see hidden gems & some of the best cafes you'll ever experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GThurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear GThurston,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank and that you were able to take in all that Melbourne's Southbank precinct has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Booked in for 3 days last weekend 3 to 5 May. Booked through expedia. 2 plane tickets from Gold Coast to Melbourne, 3 nights accommodation for 2 at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne for $570 - BARGAIN! I thought the hotel might have been a little on the downside considering we paid a bargain price for the plane tickets and accommodation. We arrived at about 9pm on Friday - check in wasn't an issue - 10 minutes later we were in the room. Clean, basic, 9th floor and best of all - no noise. This was one of the quietest hotels I have ever experienced. Being on the 9th floor might have helped but I didn't hear a thing each night we slept. Great location right on southbank. Just a short stroll across the pedestrian bridge, through Flinders Street Station and you are in the city. The casino was about a 5 minute walk west on the hotel, Eureka Tower was right next door too. Great bars and cafes are directly outside or if you want something cheaper - the city is like 5 minutes walk across the bridge. I worked out we spent about $50 a night on accommodation at Travelodge for 2 of us. Expedia (if you book early) is definitely the way to go if you want to book this hotel. My only gripe - the shower although hot and plenty of water, sprays water over at least half of the bathroom. highly recommend you get a higher floor (11 floors all up) if you want a 100% quiet night - I didn't even hear a door slam and the whole time we stayed there we didn't pass any other guests in the hallway on the 9th floor.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for a nice quiet night... we had the 9th floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevandBeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear 62rocket,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank and that you found the property quiet & comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was with the husband on a short business trip and he chose this hotel. The location is really fantastic - near to Southgate and the Casino, and just across the river from Flinders Street Station.

The room was clean and didn't look too tired. It had a microwave oven (with some bowls, plates and cutlery)which is slightly unusual but nice to have. The shower had glass on one side and a shower curtain on the other, so the floor might get a little too wet. The toiletries were tiny!! I'm glad I brought my own. The king sized bed was firm and comfy.

We paid for internet because we wanted to be able to Skype and the speed was good.

The room did not come with breakfast but we decided to have the breakfast on the last morning. Here's a tip: If you book for breakfast the night before, it costs $15 per person. But if you choose to have breakfast in the morning, it will cost you $19. I'd say the breakfast was decent for $15. There was a selection of hot and cold items, decent coffee and tea.

All in all, a pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank CHKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear CHKL,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

With regard to your bathroom feedback, we are about to roll out a bathroom refurbishment program that will see all rooms getting shower screens, new tilling and a vanity. We are also about to release a brand new range of amenities. Something you can look forward to on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've stayed here before because of it's central location just a quick walk from the CBD and it's location in Southbank which has lots going on 24/7. The rooms are standard hotel issue with excellent beds and a very handy microwave and crockery supplied. Wi-fi is available at cost in the hotel or at the terminals in the foyer. Parking is across the street in a public car park - discounted by the hotel but check the times you use the car park. It's right next to the Eureka Tower which has the most stunning views across Melbourne - get there just before dusk - and is a must do when you're here. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They're all OK
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HafodBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear HafodBlueMountains,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I agree, there is nothing more spectacular than the view from Euraka Tower at dusk. We are glad to be able to offer Travelodge Guests 10% off admission to Eureka Tower!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I plan my 1 week trip in Melbourne with initial stay in this hotel. I wrote to them to ask for the quote such as room rate, breakfast, airport pick up and earlier check in.

They replied my email to ask about the date of check in and check out. After this, no more reply from this hotel been received thereafter.

I feel very disappointed about the customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wktanmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews