We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So impressed by the change in this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #45 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“So impressed by the change in this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I reviewed this hotel in May 2012 and it was not a very pleasant review, but to back it up I also wrote to the Manager. My feedback was welcomed and they asked us back again to give it another try. Which we did in Jan 13. As the stay in January was pleasant we gave this another try in March 13. All I can say is that I am very impressed. The hotel have replaced their old sofa beds with newer more modern. The best improvement was the ditching of blankets and bedspreads. They now have simple white sheets covering a doona. This has made each room look far more fresh and clean. I noticed a big improvement with cleanliness in public spaces this time also. The check in was very friendly on our latest visit. In January I did hear the duty manager doing a very bad job of explaining the need for a credit card security. The customer seemed to think that he would keep his card, but he didn't make it very clear that it is just an imprint instead spend many minutes telling the man that it is a requirement. (The hotel swipe your credit card with a $1 purchase to hold as security - as do all hotels). This time it was very pleasant. Even to the point of a booking error I had made being all sorted out between wotif and the hotel. I do find that the breakfast here is very over priced and with Southgate at your door you will find much better value and choices outside of the hotel. There is just not enough of a choice for the price they charge at the hotel which I found to be about the same as the 5 star hotels with so much less options. I really do believe this to be the best budget hotel in the best location in Melbourne. I would not have said that 12 months ago so they really have stepped it up. There is just one more thing left. The bathrooms look dirty due to the blackened grout. I am sure this is on the list too. So for a great location - especially if going to an event at Rod Laver Arena try this hotel. (Did you know there is a shuttle water taxi from Southgate to Rod Laver for events and concerts, making this hotel in a very good location). Well done to the team that have made the changes and keep it up. It certainly was a pleasurable stay. Oh and the best have been changed. They were sooo comfy!

Room Tip: Try not to get next to or opposite the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neds0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear neds0,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments and for coming back and giving Travelodge Southbank another go.

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed our brand new beds, pillows & doonas and that you received the level of service that we expect of the Travelodge Team.

Our upcoming bathroom refurbishment will address the issues you have raised about the bathrooms and we hope to be able to confirm a commencement date for this work shortly.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    2,432
    616
    135
    52
See reviews for
919
2,082
416
890
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great value for money in a great location on the Southbank. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean. First stay in January and such was the experience that we returned for a night in March. Front desk staff really friendly and Melbourne is just such a lovely city

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinnielynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney. Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Travelodge is situated just a short walk to Southbank. The position is perfect for that Melbourne city holiday being very reasonably priced. There is a wide variety of restaurants nearby and also a food court for the budget conscious traveller. You can walk over the footbridge to the train station or the free tram stop. The room we stayed in had a mini kitchen with tea and coffee supplied for your arrival. Very confortable bed made for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ChrisJTourist,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacktown, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have travelled to Melb on a number of occasions, stayed at 5 star hotels. This place I will stay again and again. Perfect location, close to the restaurants, the Casino, the Parks, the stadiums and 2 min walk to tram / bus stations. Rooms are very comfortable, quiet and clean. Service was fantastic, got to the hotel way before lunch and was allowed to check in straight away. check out was at 10 and was allowed to leave our luggage in a lock up room at the reception until later that afternoon. Has it's own laundry if required, coin operated but good. .Recommend to anyone, will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Vince A,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were over from NZ as a family, with 2 rooms side by side, and stayed 4 nights. This was our first visit to Melbourne. The hotel was near perfect for our needs. Location was brilliant. New girl (first day) on the desk was very friendly but our biggest thanks goes to Esther who was fabulous. We will stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear John Y,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding Esther & Emily. They were thrilled to read your comments and your feedback has been shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Only stayed one night. This hotel had everything you needed for a night. Good location, good size room, basic cooking, quiet, comfortable bed, clean, iron, toiletries, hairdryer, good price. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mary C,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, my husband was attending a conference nearby. The room was a good size with a microwave, plates, bowls & good size cups in the room. Our room was quiet, the bed was firm but I had no trouble sleeping. There was also a 2 seater couch (possibly a fold out bed), with a table & 2 chairs. Plenty of room to lay out 2 suitcases. We had breakfast each morning which was ample for both of us. The Shopping, Casino, Federation Square & Arts district are within walking distance with ample restaurants to choose from along the Yarra along Southbank prices varying. We didn't use wifi as we had our own data but there are places where free wifi is available. The hotel is next to Eureka tower & behind The Langham. There is a 7eleven behind the hotel where you can get basics & your myki card for the trams etc. The staff we came across were friendly only criticism is that the hallways could have been cleaned more frequently as 3 rubber bands were on the floor near our room for our entire stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear SydneyMaree,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I have passed on your feedback reagrding the corridors to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure this is a focus.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#41 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#55 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,265 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing