We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Melbourne spot to begin/end a trip to Oz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #39 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value Melbourne spot to begin/end a trip to Oz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good location for the riverbank, southbank cultural organistions, bridge accross river to CBD, and close to restaurants, grocery and bottle stores. The room was clean and comfortable, the guest laundrey clean and working. The front front desk efficient, friendly and helpful, the lobby had free wifi for a limited period, and a free courtesy bus was provided to and from the airport shuttle. Would recommend as good value Melbourne spot to begin/end a trip to Oz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cellarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear cellarvie,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    2,085
    521
    112
    40
See reviews for
778
1,771
359
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived at about 9am, the reception staff were very welcoming. They stored our luggage, gave us a city map and told us where we could get a coffee. When we checked in later, we found our room very spacious with a clean bathroom and a small kitchen area.

Wifi charges are high. Each guest gets 15 mins free wifi in the foyer, but this is not really enough. However, there are a lot of places in Melbourne that offer free wifi, so it was not a problem for us.

The location is superb, close to cafes, restaurants and bars and right next to the Eureka Skydeck, a must to visit! We stayed for three nights and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Gem413,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are constantly working with our internet provider to improve value for our guests and are glad that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary wifi available in the lobby.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Radish has said it all. 100% correct in their comments.The bathroom tiles have no glaze on them and appeared dirty all the time, there was mould in the shower grouting. There are plenty of products on the market to resolve these problems. The staff were average except for one girl who helped me with a computer problem, I think her name was Rebecca.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Robert M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments.

As I mentioned in my response to RadishTas, we will soon be undergoing a bathroom refurbishment that will address your comments regarding the bathroom tiles. WIth regard to the mould, this is of great concern to me and I have addressed this with our Housekeeping Department.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Clean, efficient, nice big room. Comfortable and quiet. Rooms have their own kitchen area, but Wi-fi is expensive. Very well placed for business district and tourist spots such as the Eureka Tower. The rooms don't overlook the river, but are very close. Lively atmosphere in surroundings, and plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCam237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear RCam237,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location of the Southbank Travelodge couldn't be bettered. A few minutes walk from the Art Centre (which was where we were headed) and ditto to the City Centre. The Reception staff were friendly, informative and totally professional. The hotel itself is a little tired, particularly in the bathroom. Shower curtain rather than glass panels - water escaping on bathroom floor. Not the amenities that you usually get with a hotel of this supposed level - shower had poor pressure; only soap & shampoo provided - etc. Air conditioning never actually managed to cool the room down - and it was a hot day/night. Television reception was appalling - again not what we were there for, but contributed to this review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadishTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear RadishTas,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the Maintenance department to improve our overall guest experience. It would be great to know which room you stayed in so that I can have our Maintenance Team check these issues. Perhaps you could contact me at the Hotel?

With regards to the bathrooms, I am pleased to advise that the hotel will soon be undergoing a bathroom refurbishment that will include new tiles, installation of a shower screen and a new bathroom vanity.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Travelodge for 3 nights last month. We arrived after picking up our hire car, and found that once we had left the car in the multi storey car park across the road next to The Langham Hotel, the staff at reception validated our ticket so that we only had to pay $12 for overnight parking. The Travelodge is in a superb location, just 3 minutes walk from the bank of the river, and a further 5 mnutes to walk to Flinders Street Station where you can catch the free Circle Tram (number 35), which takes you around the city.
The staff at reception were always very friendly and helpful, and our room was, as one reviewer put it, very "Ikea like", but that is no bad thing as everything was spotlessly clean and uncluttered. There was ample room in the bathroom and we had shampoo, conditioner and soap provided. There was also a sachet of dishwashing liquid provided, a dish cleaner and tea towel which were replaced daily. We had the breakfast one morning, and at $19 each, represented good value.
I only had one complaint, and that was, having a load of washing to do, there were only 2 laundry rooms, on the 3rd and 8th floors, and just one washer and dryer in each room. One dryer was out of action, and I had to keep going to each laundry room to try and get my washing done. I gave up on the only dryer becoming free in the end, and just draped the washing in our room, and it did dry overnight.
I would definitely recommend the Travelodge Southbank Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbylady_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments. The team are so happy to read that you had an enjoyable time during your recent stay.

Please accept my personal apologies for one of the dryers in our guest laundries being out of service. This was temporarily out of order whilst we waited for a part and I can confirm that this has been repaired and returned to service.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel has one of the best locations in Melbourne. One block from the river and just 3 from the Casino. Great dinning options nearby. Parking available across the street in parking garage at reasonable rate. Parked Sunday evening and out by 8am for $8.00.
Clean room with frig. Easy walking to all in CBD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskansurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear alaskansurfer,

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your positive feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and that you had an opportunity to enjoy everything that our Southbank location has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,569 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#52 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,855 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Property: Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing