We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“LOCATION,LOCATION.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #42 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“LOCATION,LOCATION.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights,arrived early at 8am but did not get into room until 2pm.Room was on 14th floor,good size,well equipped and clean.
Staff were very efficient and helpful.
The hotel is in a perfect location and it is easy to get out and about all over melbourne.All in all a great find for a good price.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear jemLiverpool,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime soon

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    2,137
    537
    116
    43
See reviews for
800
1,816
366
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great location - handy to the city centre (behind Flinders Street Station) albeit with the Yarra River between. Easy walk to the Casino and the Restaurant Tram stop. Next door to the Eureka Tower. Quiet location due to the fact that the Yarra River separates the Travelodge Southbank and the city centre. Walk to the MCG and museums. I believe that they now offer free WiFi in all Travelodges which would make the hotel ideal. Rooms are well appointed and clean. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are well placed within the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Jenny308 ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments. I am so glad you enjoyed the hotels location and the team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels again sometime soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A great location good value for money polite staff. Clean rooms with all you need. Close to melbournes attractions. Close to conference venues taxi rank across the street.
Near crown casino best value in southbank

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaGem80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear WaGem80,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive comments. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location, comfortable, clean and relatively inexpensive. Within walking distance to Federation Square and several museums. Close to Royal Botanic Gardens. Close to free visitor tour bus stops. Close to Yara River and Southbank. Really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Zelda68,

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave you positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet area on the Southbank, about 3 minutes walking distance from Flinders station. Plenty of food choices around. Rooms are descent and the staff is friendly.
The location is right at the edge of CBD so it is super easy to come back to rest or change at the hotel in the middle of the day.
If you want free internet, just walk out towards the river and catch free Wi-Fi from Southgate shopping center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AlikK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear AlikK,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive comments.

A tip for next time - we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby for 15 minutes per day per device.

Thanks again for your comments & we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great location, right on the riverfront where it is plenty of action. The staff and hotel manager are great. Someone came into our room during the middle of the night (because we didn't close the door properly), and the manager was right onto the case to check why this has happened. They had some problems with one of the elevators during our stay, and because of this they said that everyone that wanted could delay their checkout the next day because of the problems. We paid approx $150 for a room during summer holiday and Australia Open.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eriso82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear eriso82,

The team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us over the Australian Open.

The hotel is superbly located for the tennis and a great base when visiting Rod Laver Arena and the Olympic Park precinct.

It was fantastic to read that the Manager on Duty was responsive to your concerns and we were able to identify the issue with the door quickly.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. The travelodge is in an excellent location, so close to everything. It is a basic motel, but very clean, service was good. Depends on what you are after, the money we saved by staying here as opposed to paying for other expensive motels nearby was well spent at nearby restaurants, entertainment etc. Would definitely stay here again, inexpensive considering the location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elrem62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Elrem62,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,666 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#50 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,914 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Property: Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing