We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #47 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A bog standard chain hotel room. Clean, spacious and perfectly comfortable. The staff were good and the location is excellent. By Aussie standards it was decent value for money.

Like seemingly all Australian hotels, the wifi was a total rip-off, and wasn't particularly fast. I complained and asked for an ethernet cable, but was told i couldn't be helped, that the Internet is provided by an external company and all they could offer me was a refund. Really poor, but exactly the same in all 4 hotel is stayed at in Australia on this trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Finch23,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,957
    2,477
    628
    137
    55
See reviews for
943
2,125
426
916
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairmont Hot Springs, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

A typical big city midrange hotel. Its big advantage is its location in the south bank of downtown Melbourne. You have easy access to everything. Getting to the car park when you arrive is a bit of a challenge but after that you don't need the car. The staff were pleasant and efficient; I was extremely surprised when the young lady checking me out remembered me from the previous day when I checked in. The rooms are a typical size; small but have everything you need including a small fridge. I just wish Travelodge would put lips on their shower stalls so that water does not go everywhere in the bathroom; makes it unpleasant for people that follow. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear David K D,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently when visiting Melbourne to go to the Melbourne Cup. We had requested an early check-in if possible but we actually arrived earlier than we thought we would and didn't expect to get into the room straight away however we were told a room had just become ready and we were able to get in right away which was great. It is very well situated with lots of restuarants to choose from on the Southbank, close to the Crown Casino and with easy access to the city via the footbridge over the Yarra . The rooms are comfortable and clean and very quiet at night. The staff are very helpful and efficient. Bart on reception was especially helpful as he helped us to book the Airbus shuttle for our return pickup. Airbus's computer system was down and it meant he had to repeatedly ring to try and get through to them to make the booking. We had breakfast one morning in the hotel and the food was good, plenty of selection and good quality. We would certainly recommend this hotel and it is also very good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Ellen B,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Did not know what this place was going to be like and was based purely on comments from a workmate who had stayed there. It turned out to be a very good choice , the rooms although not huge where adequate and very clean , the check in at arrival was extremely welcoming and very efficient by the staff who manned the front desk. The most surprising and pleasing aspect was how quiet the room and adjoining rooms were, and in general the whole building. It is very well located for all types of sight seeing and things to do ,the N.V.G is just around the corner Melbourne CBD is only a ten minute walk away via the river walk and there is always something happening whether it is buskers or entertaining people(particularly one very bad magician) performing in the Southbank area plus if you want to lose all of your money the Crown casino is only five minutes away.
We had breakfast here at a very reasonable cost this consisted of a buffet with just about everything you could want very nice .
I will stay here again and am doing so early next year this would have to be one of the nicest (and value for money accommodation) I have stayed in when I visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear stephen b,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Clean the bathroom it was filthy, Sign on the wall says to protect the enviroment we do not use chemicals. Well no need to be a rocket scientist to see that it was filthy, sleep quality crap pillow was about 10 years old. Checked in late receptionist was rude (don't like your job move on) breakfast crap dont stay here!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nykcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

A check on Virgin for a "holiday" package for an overnight business trip to Melbourne came up with the flights and accommodation at the Travelodge Southbank (including breakfast).

Travelodge? I was skeptical. Well, as it turned out I was pleasantly surprised!

Located on Southbank the walk to the City was a very pleasant 10 minutes over a foot-brige that took me to Flinders Street Railway Station. Getting there was just as easy. I had taken the Skybus from the Airport to Spencer Street Rail Station then a good 20 minute walk to the hotel itself. On the first morning I dropped my bags at reception for storage as it was 8am and check in wasn't until 2pm. Reception staff were pleasant and more than happy to store my baggage.

Check in later that day was easy and staff again were pleasant. The room itself was a surprise. I was expecting a run-down room and the opposite was the case. The room was sparkling clean, no mould or mildew in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Everything in the room was perfect for my overnight stay. (two very, very minor points - the shower curtain was useless and the bathroom floor quickly became flooded and the complimentary shampoo/conditioner were very tiny - fortunately there were two sets of both shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom so this turned out not to be an issue).

I found the breakfast the next morning to be a good hearty Australian style buffet breakfast (toast, coffee, bacon, eggs, sausages, fruit etc). The food was plentiful and tasty. The staff were overly efficient and cleared my full coffee mug away when I went to make some toast!!! The ambience of the dining room was nice.

Later that evening I received an email from Ultra Feedback, an independent feed back company asking me to fill in a survey about my stay. Always a good sign when hotel management are keen to solicit your honest views about their hotel.

Overall the stay was surprising good. Whilst I stayed there only one night, you could easily consider this hotel for a longer term stay.

Room Tip: When booking through Virgin Holidays on a business trip you will need to call them to get a tax invo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FPA208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear FPA208,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a superb location, close to the banks of the Yarra River, a short walk to downtown Melbourn, and close to Federation Square and Melbournes two fabulous museums, the Ian Potter Cultural Cennter (Australian and Aborigine Art) and the Art Gallery of Melbourne (European and Asian Art) and the concert halls. There were dozens of restaurants of all prices very close to the hotel in the nearby Southgate shopping center.
Room was spartan, but clean, and price moderate. Good for all types of travellers. Big minus factors were very expensive breakfast and very high charges for internet use. Otherwise we enjoyed our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmaam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear aam77,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,428 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#56 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing