We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #47 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Landed in Melbourne 8.30am, hoped on the Skybus and 20min later got to Southern Cross station (soo easy and much cheaper than taxi). We walked to Travelodge probably round 15 minutes. Got to the hotel 10am, were going to leave our bags there as check-in wasn't till 2pm, however staff were great and gave us a room straight away.
We stayed in Room 817. It was clean, tidy and surprisingly spacious. Lounge with coffee table and a small dining table with two chairs opposite. There were also 2 full length mirrors which is nice to have. The TV was on the small side, but fine for an hour or so whilst having coffee or getting ready to go out and start exploring. Basic amenities, kettle, microwave, iron, luggage rack. There was only crockery and cutlery for 3, which we thought was a bit strange, however makes sense when the max occupancy is 3. Bathroom had hairdryer, was clean and with enough room. Lighting could be a little better for putting on makeup. We liked the individual lights above the bed, a bit like the reading lights in a plane, so you can read without disturbing your partner. The bed, well..... bit on the hard side. Agree with a previous review that it could do with a micro cloud topper.
Block out curtains are great for keeping out the light to sleeping in. There was no street noise as it is in a quiet location, just behind the restaurants on Southbank. The hotel does not offer room service and only serves breakfast. There are however a couple of menus in the room from surrounding restaurants who provide a delivery service to your hotel room.
About 50m from the front door is a walkway which crosses the Yarra and takes you directly to Flinders St Station and onto the heart of the city.
As we had prepaid for our stay, checkout was a breeze. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallrelative101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear itsallrelative101,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,954
    2,472
    627
    137
    55
See reviews for
941
2,121
426
915
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold coast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Pricewise very attractive, new and clean, however the bed comfort was average, could have been fixed by a micro cloud topper and the flat screen TV very small.
The bedspread was also a little worn and tired.
Good position! and friendly staff,
try the Italian restaurant la Camera do room service to travellodge and the meal was a standout!
No minibar, but sink and microwave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyagGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear TanyagGoldcoast,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is in a great location! It is very close to the Yarra River, restaurants, shopping, botanic gardens and more... It is located behind the Southbank area and it is safe to walk from the hotel to these restaurants, etc at night. The only negative was that the beds (and pillows) are very hard, being on a wooden base. There were also only 2 towels in the bathroom and no hand towel. The buffet breakfast is nothing special but reasonably priced for a hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Flyingkiwi0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Flyingkiwi0612,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The combination of location and excellent value was unbeatable. As we had three in the room (2 adults and 15 year old son), I had done quite a lot of research looking for apartment options where we could have a separate bedroom, but I kept coming back to this Travelodge option. And am very pleased we did. Staff were very friendly and let us put our bicycles in a secure, interior storage room - much appreciated. Room (2 doubles) was spacious and clean. Kitchenette also a bonus. Location meant it was super-easy to either walk straight across the river into the city, around the corner to the National Gallery or Concert Hall, or to hop straight onto cycle paths (these are excellent in Melbourne). Plenty of restaurant or take-away options immediately adjacent in Southbank. Hope to make a return visit soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear TFReid,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My sister and i stayed here for two nights, the 11th to 13th October 2012.
The position cannot be beaten - it's in the centre of Southbank, next to the Eureka Skydeck (and the Luxurious Langham Hotel at four times the price!!!) The room was much larger than most hotels in the same price range, very nicely furnished and really clean. The kitchen sink and microwave was an extra useful touch, although the microwave can only be used for re-heating microwave meals - there are no cooking utensils. This is fine with me as I don't want to smell cooking odours. There is a variety of lighting; the bedside lights had very convenient dimmer switches for those who like to keep reading when their partner would rather sleep. The colour scheme was extended into the passages as well, which gave it a more luxurious feel. I agree with one of the previous contributors - the smoke detector at the bottom of the bed blinks like the night lights on a jet. Beds (we had twin) were firm but comfortable. There would have been plenty of room for a third bed, with room to still move around.
Its location on Southbank may suggest that there would be street noise. Not so. It is a lovely quiet location, helped by double glazed windows. Although there is no direct room service, you can order in from local restaurants and charge back - but why would you, when there is an endless variety of eating places right outside on the riverbank. The buffet breakfast on the ground floor looked substantial.
The Flinders St rail station is only a maximum 8 minutes stroll across the river, and trams are the same distance away along St Kilda road. Many of Melbourne's top tourist attractions are within an easy walk from the Travelodge.
I would like to see wireless internet connections free of charge.
My only major gripe with this hotel was THE PILLOWS!!! They are truly dreadful. Should you choose to stay here, try your pillows out immediately, and contact housekeeping if they are unsatisfactory.
Another point to make: the hotel has the room fridges behind a kitchen cabinet door. This looks nice, but creates a great deal of heat around the fridge, which consequently never turns off. This is not a problem noise wise, but is an issue, power-consumption wise, for a hotel which is promoting itself to be energy efficient.
I definitely recommend this hotel - friendly staff, great value, great position.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-Wanderer1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Happy-Wanderer1949,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Managed to book two nights through lastminute.com at less than $170 for two nights. Room was clean, comfortable and only a two minute walk to the bars and restaurants. Would stay again, in fact we tried to but they were fully booked. The receptionist recommended their sister hotel being, Vibe Carlton.....don't stay there. Nowhere near the city and far too noisy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetcheeks001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear sweetcheeks001,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,402 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing