We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$134
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$201
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$126
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$92
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$83
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$170
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$240
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$230
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,511)
Filter reviews
6,511 results
Traveler rating
2,460
3,028
770
177
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,460
3,028
770
177
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtravel lodgeeureka towersouth bankarts centreyarra rivershort walkroom was cleanflinders st stationcrown casinorestaurants and barswithin walking distancewould stay againgood sizepublic transportgreat place to stayfree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,839 - 5,844 of 6,511 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have chosen Travelodge Southbank as my hotel for my stay in Melbourne, and will definitely not be coming back. For starters free WiFi for the guests is something most hotels offer in Sydney, but here I was being asked to pay almost $20 a day for the privilege. Outrageous.

There is no restaurant really in the hotel, sure you can have breakfast there, but dinner, it doesnt exist. You can get room service in your room, but it is coming from outside. Lucky there are a lot of restaurants and pubs near the hotel.

When you check in, you have $50 frozen on your credit card (to cover room service apparently), yet it takes 10 working days to "unfreeze" it. Great tv in the room, flat screen, yet the reception signal is poor. No minibar, there is a kettle and a whole bunch of milk in the fridge, yet, no coffee, and noone seemed to check if coffee is stocked or not for whole 3 days.

The only thing hotel has going for it is great location, right next to the skydeck and perhaps 5 minutes walk to the Crown complex.

Am certain there are better hotels for the similar price in Melbourne and I intend to stay in one of them next time I venture down there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Alec A,

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback.

I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

Thanks again for providing your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel many times. It is very reasonably priced for a city hotel, well located on Southbank and an easy walk to Flinders Street Station, the Casino, shopping areas, and Botanic Gardens. It has spacious rooms and friendly staff. We're looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We haven't had a problem with any of the rooms and we've stayed there many times.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Julie A,

The team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you keep coming back! Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have now stayed at the Southbank Travelodge 3 times and each time we have enjoyed our visit. This hotel is situated just off the main riverside boulevard on Southbank with easy access via a pedestrian bridge to Flinders Street station and all the laneways and fashionable streets of Melbourne. The Crown Casino is also an easy stroll also along the boulevarde. Great value for money and the rooms are clean and modern. We did not eat in the hotel but found the staff quite helpful and full of great information. The area is quiet even though it is close the the main roads. The airport hotel shuttle bus is great as they drop you right at the front door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city for the best views
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveller027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear aussietraveller027

The team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you keep coming back! Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Travelled to Melbourne to see The Beach Boys 50 years and stayed at the Travelodge Southbank - easy location to find staff very friendly both at reception and the Dining room - great breakfast with good range of hot and contential breaky and as for ease of getting about only a short walk to Rod Laver arena to the concert - car park just across the road cheap for Melbourne standards with the Discount - for a drink before the concert Riverside Bar.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 11th floor very quite
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip_T1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Phillip_T1953,

The team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

As the second time I have stayed here, I was equally impressed both times, by the location, room (size/cleanlilness), and staff (service). I found the basic kitchenette (sink, fridge, microwave, kettle, cutlery) very handy and a good cost saver, allowing me to have breakfast and a simple dinner in the room. Although close proximity to the city, the room was very quite, and dark. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an affordable getaway to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Kelly S,

The team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews