We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic no-frills hotel in a choice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #44 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Basic no-frills hotel in a choice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Pros - relatively cheap for the pricy location, located next to the river and near the Convention Center and near several museums and the aquarium. The room was ok, reasonably clean. A footbridge is very close by and lets you cross the river directly to Flinders Station for trains and trams.

Cons- it is very much a basic no-frills hotel that charges for anything extra. No internet or wifi in your room unless you pay extra. No breakfast unless you pay for it. There is internet down in the lobby with three computers, but they charge 10 cents a minute and 20 cents a page to print out things such as your boarding pass. TV is very basic, with just a few channels - lots of Fox sports rugby. I got a room with a shower that did not separate the tile floor from the rest of the bathroom, so water spilled out all over the bathroom.

This hotel meets the basic requirements for good value, cleanliness, and location but is otherwise bland and unmemorable. The lack of free wifi and internet and printing is the most annoying aspect. It probably deserves only three and a half stars.

Came here for the 2012 ISMRM Convention.

Stayed May 2012.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vrmgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    2,434
    616
    135
    52
See reviews for
919
2,084
416
890
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

You cannot miss this hotel - it being right next door to the Eureka Skydeck, the tallest building in Melbourne. The hotel is also close to the Langham Hotel which means there is never a shortage of taxis available. Our room was clean, tidy, quiet and had good storage. The bathroom was a good size and the air conditioning worked effectively. As well as the normal facilities the room also had a small kitchenette equipped with a sink, crockery and cutlery, a small fridge and a microwave oven,This could make the hotel an ideal base for those who want to spend as much time as possible looking at the city rather than in restaurants and bars.The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and quickly sorted out a couple of problems we had.The hotel was also in a suprisingly good location which will only improve with time. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the Southbank Boulevard with its restaurants, bars and street theatre; it is a few minutes walk from the Southgate Centre which will be even better when it is fully developed; it is less than 10 minutes walk to Flinders Street station over a pedestrian bridge and less than 15 minutes walk to Federation Square, The hotel did not offer lunch or dinner but this was no problem given the number of close-by places to eat which would suit most tastes. The buffet breakfast was satisfactory - offering a reasonable range of hot and cold dishes. The only minor snag was that there was not much in the way of fruit either fresh or tinned.The reception area also had coin-operated internet terminals.If we stayed in Melbourne again this hotel would be our first choice.

Room Tip: Try to book your room including breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helpmeimlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, and our room was a good size, clean, quiet and comfortable. It had everything you would expect, like mini-bar, tea/coffee making facilities etc., although you had to pay for wifi. There was also a computer and printer that you could use for a fee at reception. We found the location to be perfect for us and could walk easily around the city. The Southbank also had plently of restaurants and bars, and the casino a very short walk away.

We did have a few minor issues - we didn't get refills for our bathroom shower gel etc. without having to call reception to ask for them, and the shower wasn't working very well. We also got given incorrect advice about availability of taxi's to the airport early in the morning.

Other than that we had a great stay and would happily stay there again if we returned to Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Modern furnishings and decor in our room, shades of taupe accented with red.
Our room looked out onto another nearby highrise building so natural light entering the room was limited.
The bedroom area small; along one side fitted cupboards,a small bar fridge, microwave; equipped with cutlery, dinnerware and glasses for light self catering. Bar fridge filled with mini-bar items, which for a self catering situation, left little room for any light meal ingredients.
Mini bar items (as is usually the case in hotels) way overpriced. On room check-in AUD$50 is held from your credit card, and refunded after satisfactory check out.
In contrast to the small bedroom area, the bathroom was enormous, probably because the room was fitted for disabled use, the hotel's normal bathrooms would probably not be as spacious.
The Front Office staff have a genuine friendly manner and willingness to assist guests. The hotel is easily accessed via the walkways over Spencer Street/Southern Cross Railway Station

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Was worried about our stay as had read some previous reviews. No problems at all. Great place and definitely best location for us. No noise from outside, either lifts or street noise they were happy to give us a room where we requested. Walk to everywhere and the cafe scene, Casino and train station almost on doorstep. Staff helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. Check in/out speedy and with a smile. Good price as on tight budget, look for the specials. We enjoy our holidays and are rarely in the rooms except to sleep and suited us just right. Had to pay for WiFi so didn't bother. Will def return there.

Room Tip: Was told to request room away from lifts and this we did and were happily given same. On 7th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeds777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

If you want a room close to transport hubs but not in the thick of the city this hotel is for you. With trains and trams within minutes of the hotel you can get anywhere quickly.

The hotel itself is nice enough the king size beds are really two beds zipped together so the middle join can be annoying.

I've stayed here a few times and the biggest fault is the hotels attention to detail, some days your room will look immaculate and other days you might wonder if they did anything to service your room. Having said that if you complain it will get fixed.

Room service is nice enough.

Hotel staff are generally quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonsbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here on business in April 2012. I chose it for the location and the price. It was not far from where my meetings the next day were, and also close to a variety of dining options, great when travellling solo.
The Southbank area of Melbourne is great, and this hotel is just behind the first row of buildings from the river. It is close to a variety of restaurants and bars from trendy to budget and also walking distance to the casino and convention centre. There is a footbridge directly across to Flinders St station and the Southgate Centre (shops and restaraunts) has free wifi, which saves paying $20 a day in the hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and basic, but essentially - quiet. The TV was anchored in position to the console so couldn't be angled for viewing from anywhere other than the bed, and the wire coat hangers were pretty awful which were my only real negatives.
There is no room service, although delivery can be arranged from nearby restaurants, some of which offer a discount to hotel guests dining in their premises. Buffet breakfast is available at the hotel if you need it, but I chose to try a nearby cafe. I will happily stay here again, but only for short stays (no more than 3 days). I would classify this property as a 3.5 star, although the ratings don't make this possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts if you need to - they get quite a few Asian groups who can be a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisbanegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#63 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#41 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#55 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Property: Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing