We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good value and service, no frills hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #44 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Good value and service, no frills hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Booked in for four nights in a twin room, as that was the best rate for this hotel. Arriving at the hotel from the airport via Skybus is easy and check in friendly and were allowed to access our room ahead of check in time.
The twin room was sparse for furniture. No lounge chair or couch to relax, two hard chairs and a table and beds.
Kitchenette consisted only of a microwave, cutlery, crockery, sink but no toaster. The view was of a car park and apartments and slightly the Eureka Tower next door.
Our room on the eighth floor was connected to an adjoining room with a locked door!
Air conditioning was quiet, but the fridge was noisy at night. This is not a mini bar. Housekeeping staff were obliging and friendly and kept the room fresh with clean towels and toiletries.
Room was small and being confined in the room one morning because the weather was uncomfortable. The hotel has no facilities such as pool, spa or sauna, gym or all day restaurant or cafe bar.
A small LCD TV has all the local channels, pay per view adult channels, satellite channels such as Fox Sports and Sky News and is also used for two radio stations Nova FM and FoxFM.
A cafe bar next to hotel is open for breakfast and until late.
The location is excellent. Just a quick walk to Flinders/Elizabeth Street over the Yarra River footbridge, gets you right into the heart of the city.
The bathroom was roomy, and toiletries supplied are sachets of shampoo, conditioner, plus soaps and tissues.
Beds were not totally comfortable, but managed to sleep okay. The hotel is quiet and it is a busy hotel but there was little noise from other guests.
Breakfast is served from 6.30 - 9.30am in the dining room on the ground floor, a buffett consisting of fruit juices, cereals, coffee, fruit, bacon, scrambled eggs, mini sausages, baked beans, hash browns, muffins, toast and spreads for $19pp...thought was overpriced.
No dinner menu here. Information kiosk on ground floor has ice and drinks and plenty of Melbourne tourist information available. Also a direct dial phone to Skybus to reserve pick up to return to airport.
Newspapers are available from reception desk. Computers in the lobby available at $2 per 20 minutes, extra for printing.
A 7/11 convenience store is just around the corner and Southgate closeby has newsagent, pharmacy and restaurants. A taxi stand outside hotel always has plenty of taxis available.
The hotel is right next to Eureka Tower Skydeck 88, and discount entry for Travelodge guests. The Melbourne Aquarium is via Queens Bridge, is within walking distance from hotel.
The Melbourne Tourist Shuttle doe's not stop anywhere near the Travelodge Hotel. The closest pick up point is Stop 12 located a ten minute walk from hotel at Queens Bridge.
Storage for your suitcases etc is available if you need to as staff will happily allow you to store your luggage until pick up time. Skybus picks up outside The Langham Hotel across the road from the Travelodge.
Overall enjoyed the stay, but due to lack of being able to relax after a long day sightseeing or shopping, the beds just don't provide that! Great for short stays, but this is not a resort hotel and doe's not provide resort facilities, very basic but clean and modern with nice staff.

Room Tip: Great views of Eureka Tower in rooms facing the tower from 7th floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravellers2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,775
    2,263
    566
    125
    48
See reviews for
843
1,913
389
836
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a reunion group on 24 and 25th March. The hotel was most welcoming in all aspects of planning. They offered a great room rate to make it affordable for everyone. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were all very pleasant and most helpful. The buffet breakfast was good and offered the standard fare. We had morning teas organised as part of the reunion and these were well catered and attended to. The hotel is located in a great spot. There are any number of bars and restaurants close by and our group certainly made the most of it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OooRoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located on the Southbank. It is an economical way to stay in Melbourne. The rooms were basic and more than adequate. Don't have breakfast there. There is a food court across the street with much better quality offerings and free wifi!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks for your positive feedback - It means a lot to the team here at Travelodge Southbank! We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at Travelodge Southbank. It's close to the station and the CBD. However, there was mould around the hand basin drain hole and mould on the lower tiles in the shower.
The reception staff seemed inattentive to guests in the evening and rarely smiled or acknowledged us when we arrived or departed.
Internet costs $10 per hour and breakfast costs $19 per person which is expensive considering the large number of cafes and restaurants in the area which offer good food and free internet access. There is NO pool, spa or sauna despite some internet descriptions
Wont stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room without mould
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StretchF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience. I would love to hear where you saw that we have a pool and spa as I have not been able to find it anywhere on our website.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

My 2nd stay at the The Travelodge Southbank & just as impressed as last time. Friendly helpful staff on arrival, nice clean well equipped room & of course, for me the number 1 feature of this hotel is the fantastic location. Step out the door & around 1 min walk to Southbank and its bars and restaraunts. Also 1 min walk to the footbridge over the Yarra that comes out at the back of Flinders st station. Southbank is a great spot to eat, drink & just go for a walk

Room Tip: I took a room on top floor and did not hear a sound from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at Travelodge Southbank again. I will be sure pass your compliments onto my team of whom I am very proud.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Southbank in the near future.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

A very basic budget type hotel with no frills. Location is fantastic right on the Yarra within easy walking distance to the restaurants etc. Room is smallish and bed is OK. Didn't drive to hotel but I believe they have a parking arrangement with a hotel across the road. Breakfast is in one of those horrid experiences where it appears someone just heats up packet mixes of eggs and boiled bacon. It is included in the deal. This hotel was booked by work as we had a function in the Eureka Tower. By choice, I will not stay here again, I have stayed in far nicer joints in Melbourne for a similar price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go-Go-Go-With-Gazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We know you have
many choices when it comes to lodging and hope you will continue to choose
Travelodge Southbank for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a decent hotel in a top location which people can book online at reasonable rates by Australian (very expensive) standards. The rooms are fine and ample, furniture is adequate (closer to IKEA than sophistication) but practical.

The location offsets any shortfall the hotel may have. Superb in every sense. Parking across the road is $12 a day which is also very reasonable.

I would recommend it if the price at which it can be booked is not above AUD$150.00 per night.

Internet is available but a high price, and that detracts from the rate. When will AUD Hotels stop charging for internet at confiscatory prices?

Overall, a good hotel at a good price in a great location. No need to look elsewhere or to pay more for a hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
My self and the team at Travelodge Southbank would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Feedback received is valuable, and I appreciate the time you have taken to provide this. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Travelodge Southbank.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Southbank in the near future.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#63 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,894 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#43 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Property: Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing