We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #118 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great breakfast - fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, breads, juice and a proper coffee! This is included in the rate. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The only downsides are a distinct lack of parking (only 3 spaces available), although we did manage to find a space down the street. There was an issue with the toilet (it took 10 flushes to remove everything...), which I did advise staff upon leaving - the staff were very friendly. Would I stay here again - Yes, absolutely.

Room Tip: Might be quieter on the top floor (quieter only from the perspective of guests coming home after you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
So pleased you took the time to review us and took advantage of our unique location and enjoyed our complimentary continental buffet breakfast. We understand parking is an issue as we only have 4 complimentary spaces and 2 permits available for on street parking and generally this is enough to service our 18 accommodation rooms. There is also overnight parking from 6pm - 9am available on the Hotel side of the street. Unfortunately due to our location in a residential area we are unable to change this. You will be glad to hear the toilet was promptly fixed for the arrival of the next guest, thank you for making us aware of it at the time.
Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    63
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had the most incredible stay with my partner at The Hatton Hotel. It was so gorgeous and cosy. The morning breakfast was all we needed drinking T2 Tea and granola/fruit. The location was so perfect! The tram stop is right out front and a 100m walk down the road are beautiful cafes a 7-11 and the most amazing sushi bar. I honestly can't rave enough about The Hatton Hotel and we can not wait to stay here again.
PERFECTION.

Tiarne Ettingshausen
Escape Magazine

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiarne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our unique location after being fueled up by our simple breakfast. We would love to have you back, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Hatton is conveniently located, with short walk to botanic gardens, fine selection of restaurants, brief cab ride to CBD, and tram stop nearby. The building itself is charming, and the décor is a surprise - eclectic modern art, and clean walls inside a traditional Victorian building. The rooms are simple and functional, with taste. We stayed in room 11, so not sure how this compares with other rooms, but can highly recommend this choice. The bath is beautifully oversized, the bed comfortable. selection of teas in the room good. The best part of this room was the opening window... located above a sprawling green mass of climbing ivy and at the rear side of the hotel, so it was quiet and peaceful, and provided a lovely calm green view. Although the room is somewhat Spartan in décor, it was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel; with one exception, the windows! Free wi fi is available. Down side, no hot meals or room service, though small snack / antipasto type foods available at the front desk during business hours. Breakfast is continental, so again no cooked eggs, but the bread selection was good, and there was some cheese. There are good cafes nearby to cater for any other food preferences. Overall, a lovely calm place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 11 offers tranquillity and an opening window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We are so happy you found the hotel calm and relaxing and enjoyed it's atmosphere. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in room 14, a spacious twin at the rear of the hotel, so it was blissfully quiet. It had an excellent en-suite with bath and shower over, down a few steps from the bedroom providing l'Occitaine toiletries. I loved the bath bomb. Beds had excellent linens, and were very comfortable. The rest of the furniture was a bit worn, and not top quality, but perfectly serviceable. It was also nice to have kettle, sink, and plates and crockery provided
Breakfast was served in the bar, and was continental, fruit, lovely pastries, toast etc. enjoyed it
Staff were delightful, helpful and a great asset to the hotel
Situated on a tram route, but only 40 mins walk from the centre of Adeleide, and right by the Botanical Gardens so good base for sightseeing. Near several excellent restaurants- staff very good with their suggestions.
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
So pleased you enjoyed the spacious rooms and facilities contained in it. We will certainly pass on your praise to the staff. Our location in Melbourne is unique and we are grateful you appreciated the proximity to the botanic gardens and the city. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

For Around the Bay 2013. Near to start and very accomodating for needs of very early start for ride. Stayed here before and relaxed and enjoyable experience always. All very convenient and comfortable- our "regular" in melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzLoz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
We are so pleased you feel us to be a home away from home, we love our regular guests!
Hope the ride was a success for you and that the location proved to have you close the start.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were given a gift voucher for our stay - and loved being here. The location is sensational - parklands nearby, shopping village, restaurants & tram outside the door; the decor - with an eclectic art collection displayed brings this boutique hotel to another level. It's like being in a special gallery!
Breakfast in the front room is fresh, tasty and better than most continental breakfast offerings. Very friendly and efficient staff. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review us. So pleased your gift voucher proved to be such a success and that the style and ambience of the hotel was to your liking. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Away from the bland, chain style hotels, The Hatton, a Victorian building in S Yarra is a good place to stay. Easy walking to many cafes, shops, restaurants and bars. Tram stops outside giving access to the city. close to the Domain, botanic Gardens.
Comfortable beds with good linens, spacious rooms (all a bit different), wooden floors, windows that open! rooftop area!
Reception /breakfast area/lounge has a fireplace and the fire welcomes on a chilly, winter evening. mice to sit in here with a glass of wine and mingle... or not!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are different. I was upgraded from the standard room and so glad to have the space! But a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind words we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt a true guest in our 'Home". We are pleased too you took full advantage of our central location.
Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Royce Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#66 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Property: The Hatton Hotel
Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing