We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!”
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #126 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had the most incredible stay with my partner at The Hatton Hotel. It was so gorgeous and cosy. The morning breakfast was all we needed drinking T2 Tea and granola/fruit. The location was so perfect! The tram stop is right out front and a 100m walk down the road are beautiful cafes a 7-11 and the most amazing sushi bar. I honestly can't rave enough about The Hatton Hotel and we can not wait to stay here again.
PERFECTION.

Tiarne Ettingshausen
Escape Magazine

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiarne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our unique location after being fueled up by our simple breakfast. We would love to have you back, Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 166 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Hatton is conveniently located, with short walk to botanic gardens, fine selection of restaurants, brief cab ride to CBD, and tram stop nearby. The building itself is charming, and the décor is a surprise - eclectic modern art, and clean walls inside a traditional Victorian building. The rooms are simple and functional, with taste. We stayed in room 11, so not sure how this compares with other rooms, but can highly recommend this choice. The bath is beautifully oversized, the bed comfortable. selection of teas in the room good. The best part of this room was the opening window... located above a sprawling green mass of climbing ivy and at the rear side of the hotel, so it was quiet and peaceful, and provided a lovely calm green view. Although the room is somewhat Spartan in décor, it was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel; with one exception, the windows! Free wi fi is available. Down side, no hot meals or room service, though small snack / antipasto type foods available at the front desk during business hours. Breakfast is continental, so again no cooked eggs, but the bread selection was good, and there was some cheese. There are good cafes nearby to cater for any other food preferences. Overall, a lovely calm place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 11 offers tranquillity and an opening window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for the positive review. We are so happy you found the hotel calm and relaxing and enjoyed it's atmosphere. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in room 14, a spacious twin at the rear of the hotel, so it was blissfully quiet. It had an excellent en-suite with bath and shower over, down a few steps from the bedroom providing l'Occitaine toiletries. I loved the bath bomb. Beds had excellent linens, and were very comfortable. The rest of the furniture was a bit worn, and not top quality, but perfectly serviceable. It was also nice to have kettle, sink, and plates and crockery provided
Breakfast was served in the bar, and was continental, fruit, lovely pastries, toast etc. enjoyed it
Staff were delightful, helpful and a great asset to the hotel
Situated on a tram route, but only 40 mins walk from the centre of Adeleide, and right by the Botanical Gardens so good base for sightseeing. Near several excellent restaurants- staff very good with their suggestions.
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
So pleased you enjoyed the spacious rooms and facilities contained in it. We will certainly pass on your praise to the staff. Our location in Melbourne is unique and we are grateful you appreciated the proximity to the botanic gardens and the city. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

For Around the Bay 2013. Near to start and very accomodating for needs of very early start for ride. Stayed here before and relaxed and enjoyable experience always. All very convenient and comfortable- our "regular" in melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzLoz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us.
We are so pleased you feel us to be a home away from home, we love our regular guests!
Hope the ride was a success for you and that the location proved to have you close the start.
Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were given a gift voucher for our stay - and loved being here. The location is sensational - parklands nearby, shopping village, restaurants & tram outside the door; the decor - with an eclectic art collection displayed brings this boutique hotel to another level. It's like being in a special gallery!
Breakfast in the front room is fresh, tasty and better than most continental breakfast offerings. Very friendly and efficient staff. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you taking the time to review us. So pleased your gift voucher proved to be such a success and that the style and ambience of the hotel was to your liking. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Away from the bland, chain style hotels, The Hatton, a Victorian building in S Yarra is a good place to stay. Easy walking to many cafes, shops, restaurants and bars. Tram stops outside giving access to the city. close to the Domain, botanic Gardens.
Comfortable beds with good linens, spacious rooms (all a bit different), wooden floors, windows that open! rooftop area!
Reception /breakfast area/lounge has a fireplace and the fire welcomes on a chilly, winter evening. mice to sit in here with a glass of wine and mingle... or not!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are different. I was upgraded from the standard room and so glad to have the space! But a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for the kind words we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt a true guest in our 'Home". We are pleased too you took full advantage of our central location.
Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are very fond of this stylish boutique hotel in the affluent suburb of South Yarra. We have visited many times over the past 7 years - and once stayed for 5 nights. It is an annual event - we must visit The Hatton...On the last 2 occasions we have stayed in the Eastern Balcony Room which has a luxurious bed, deep bath, small dining table and a wonderfully large balcony overlooking the beautiful terraces of Park Street. The other rooms we have stayed in are also lovely, roomy and simply styled. All of the rooms have L'occitane bath products, very nice. We love the small sitting room at the front of the building - nice in winter when there is a small open fire, glass of red and art/architecture magazine in hand. The breakfast is served in this room and it is equally enjoyable - a cup of T2 (tea), museli loaded with macadamias, poached fruits, artisan toast, cheeses, French pastries etc.. very Euro style. The Hatton is super close to the beautiful Royal Botanical Gardens, which is close to 40 hectares of stunning landscaped gardens, we always enjoy a beautiful stroll and then a Melbourne coffee at My Legendary Girlfriend. Right outside the Hatton is a tram stop, which is very handy to pop into the city or visit the Art Gallery (NGV). It is super close to lots of great cafes - Bacash, France-Soir, Golden Triangle, MamaBaba (George Calombaris's new one) to name a few. We adore this Hotel and look forward to our 2014 visit, or perhaps a 2nd 2013 stay!

Room Tip: Eastern Balcony is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your great review, so pleased you have enjoyed your stays so much with us that it prompts you to come back again each year! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#93 of 162 in Melbourne
339 reviews
Royce Hotel
#35 of 162 in Melbourne
1,219 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#102 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $142 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing