We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #126 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 20, 2013

For Around the Bay 2013. Near to start and very accomodating for needs of very early start for ride. Stayed here before and relaxed and enjoyable experience always. All very convenient and comfortable- our "regular" in melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzLoz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us.
We are so pleased you feel us to be a home away from home, we love our regular guests!
Hope the ride was a success for you and that the location proved to have you close the start.
Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for The Hatton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were given a gift voucher for our stay - and loved being here. The location is sensational - parklands nearby, shopping village, restaurants & tram outside the door; the decor - with an eclectic art collection displayed brings this boutique hotel to another level. It's like being in a special gallery!
Breakfast in the front room is fresh, tasty and better than most continental breakfast offerings. Very friendly and efficient staff. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you taking the time to review us. So pleased your gift voucher proved to be such a success and that the style and ambience of the hotel was to your liking. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Away from the bland, chain style hotels, The Hatton, a Victorian building in S Yarra is a good place to stay. Easy walking to many cafes, shops, restaurants and bars. Tram stops outside giving access to the city. close to the Domain, botanic Gardens.
Comfortable beds with good linens, spacious rooms (all a bit different), wooden floors, windows that open! rooftop area!
Reception /breakfast area/lounge has a fireplace and the fire welcomes on a chilly, winter evening. mice to sit in here with a glass of wine and mingle... or not!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are different. I was upgraded from the standard room and so glad to have the space! But a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for the kind words we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt a true guest in our 'Home". We are pleased too you took full advantage of our central location.
Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are very fond of this stylish boutique hotel in the affluent suburb of South Yarra. We have visited many times over the past 7 years - and once stayed for 5 nights. It is an annual event - we must visit The Hatton...On the last 2 occasions we have stayed in the Eastern Balcony Room which has a luxurious bed, deep bath, small dining table and a wonderfully large balcony overlooking the beautiful terraces of Park Street. The other rooms we have stayed in are also lovely, roomy and simply styled. All of the rooms have L'occitane bath products, very nice. We love the small sitting room at the front of the building - nice in winter when there is a small open fire, glass of red and art/architecture magazine in hand. The breakfast is served in this room and it is equally enjoyable - a cup of T2 (tea), museli loaded with macadamias, poached fruits, artisan toast, cheeses, French pastries etc.. very Euro style. The Hatton is super close to the beautiful Royal Botanical Gardens, which is close to 40 hectares of stunning landscaped gardens, we always enjoy a beautiful stroll and then a Melbourne coffee at My Legendary Girlfriend. Right outside the Hatton is a tram stop, which is very handy to pop into the city or visit the Art Gallery (NGV). It is super close to lots of great cafes - Bacash, France-Soir, Golden Triangle, MamaBaba (George Calombaris's new one) to name a few. We adore this Hotel and look forward to our 2014 visit, or perhaps a 2nd 2013 stay!

Room Tip: Eastern Balcony is fantastic
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your great review, so pleased you have enjoyed your stays so much with us that it prompts you to come back again each year! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I prefer to stay in neighbourhoods where people actually live, rather than sticking to the beaten tourist track, which is why I usually choose The Hatton. It's half a block away from the Royal Botanic Gardens, and around the corner from great cafés and one fantastic restaurant (Bacash). I love the building's appearance from the front, and the common area is great for chilling out. The staff are helpful and friendly but non-intrusive. I asked for late check-out, which I was given at no extra charge. I got up way too late for breakfast, but the young lady at the desk was happy to let me have a couple of pastries and make me a pot of chai.
Got a bit of a dud room this time--nothing special about it. Normally I'm taken with the charm of their rooms, and they're all different, with no standard hotel-issue furniture.
Added benefit--the #8 tram stops right in front.
Quirky benefit--the TV is mounted at the perfect angle to watch telly in bed whilst propped up with pillows.
BTW, I really take issue with some of the negative reviews of this place. I think some people would be impossible to please even if champagne was flowing out of the taps.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyDiazepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words and for taking the time to review.
In this day and age of one size fits all and generic brands we are pleased to offer something a little different for those still prepared to appreciate it, thank you for your discerned choice.
We love our regulars, Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After arriving around 8.30pm on a dark, cold, blustery night, a long working day and an inter-state flight, the warm welcome and wonderful room appeased my senses. Downstairs the superior room was large, with high ceilings, beautiful timbered floors, and doors gave onto a private terrace. Unfortunately I couldn't use this or the roof terrace because of the weather, but the large oak table in the room was perfect for spreading maps, papers, i-pad and the clutter of travel. Bed lights were excellent, great for reading, something overlooked by many hotels. The roomy bathroom had a bath and plenty of shelf space where the Occitan toiletries stood. The residential street and the soft bedding meant quiet nights.
I enjoyed breakfast: a choice of home-made mueslis, a dish of thick Greek style yoghurt , a dish of soft ripe strawberries, various breads, jams, juice and your choice of coffees or T2 teas. Only disappointment were the croissants and pastries. I'm sure the lovely small A la Folie patisserie in Chapel Street or similar could provide better. Service was always friendly and helpful.
Next morning, umbrellas at the door, I caught a tram around the corner into Toorak Road-so easy with the stop right outside although it is an easy walk. Next time I'll visit the Botanical Gardens at the other end of the street. Interesting restaurants, shops and the station all fairly close.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoroniaNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are so pleased you enjoyed our location and setting. We do hope to see you again, Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

First impression is what a stunning building. I checked in and walked up the grand staircase and down the wide hallway to my room and was so pleasantly surprised by the spacious room with lovely old polished floor boards, modern and understated decor, and large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and amenities perfect for the business traveller, the rates are very reasonable and restaurants in walking distance. I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive review.
We pride ourselves on the number of return guests so would be happy to have you back!
Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
337 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royce Hotel
#35 of 160 in Melbourne
1,200 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#103 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $144 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing