We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hatton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$110
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$177
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$271
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$162
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$255
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$181
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$309
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$129
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
86
63
12
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
63
12
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 167 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Came here on the recommendation of an Aussie friend. Great success and nice to find something other than a cookie cutter sameish hotel with no character. The Hatton has it in spades. Comfortable, quiet room with a great bed after a long flight from the UK and a super breakfast on arrival.
The Hatton is in a lovely part of town right by the Botanical Gardens. A ride on the tram, which stops right outside and comes by every few minutes, takes you to Flinders Street in 10 minutes or so. A good selection of coffee bars asnd restaurants is right around the corner from the hotel. A rare find.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deerleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive critic.
We are glad you made the most of your location and that you found out about us from a friend!
Nothing like a first hand recommendation- Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights as a couple exploring Melbourne. Hotel is located in suburban road, surrounded by mostly modernised Victorian / Edwardian houses, and fits in well. It's about 10 mins tram ride into Melbourne centre, and 5 mins tram ride into the trendy suburbs of South Yarra & Tourak. Tram stops are literally outside the door, making it a great place from which to explore Melbourne, if you want to see more than just the centre. Staff were friendly and efficient, room was clean, with it's own small kitchenette, in addition to good sized bathroom. Furniture quirky. Breakfast (continental only) was good quality, without being particularly extensive. Roof terrace is good area to sit in evening sun with glass of wine. Much more personal than most big city hotels.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay taking full advantage of our tram system and location. The now revived roofdeck area is lovely on a balmy night with a glass of wine so we are pleased you also enjoyed this area of the Hotel, Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Of course, there's no 24/7 room service or laundry. Of course, the breakfast possibilities are limited. Of course, you can sometimes hear everything your neighbour does next door. Of course, the bar closes before midnight. Of course, there's no restaurant and the only thing you can do is order take aways. So what? The Hatton is something special. This is where you go where you need a home away from home, a friendly staff, and a great location in Melbourne. It does it for me... when it's not fully booked.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We certainly appreciate your critic and your honesty.
A majority of our clientele are return customers so we hope to see you again.
In the meantime Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We planned to stay two nights in Hatton. One was enough. Check in was very unpolite, like visitors are not wellcome. He asked just a credit card and told what we cant do. Carrying luggages to room, where wifi didn't work and air condition dropped quite a lot water to floor all the time was the last drop. Sorry to say but we got feeling they are closing the whole hotel. At least it woul need quite a lot of upgrading with service attitude and cleaness.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your time with us. We do have a maintenance schedule for all our appliances and technology however at times things do breakdown and require action. The air conditioner has now been repaired and the wifi which we have recently upgraded has had teething problems and we are doing our very best to correct these issues. For this we sincerely apologise.
Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hatton is, I guess, an old private residence, converted to a small private hotel. If you like small and quirky, rather than 5-star glitz, then this is the place for you ... and us! So many different people on reception/bar duty, but all really friendly and helpful. Once you've schlepped your cases up and down innumerable stairs, the bedroom is fine ... pretty much what you'd expect, but spacious and clean. Terriffic location .... this part of the City boasts fabulous Art Deco properties and appears an affluent area. A tram stops right outside the hotel to get you quickly into the centre, or a short walk the other way gets you a tram to the beach. Also lots of good reataurants nearby. All in all a great place.

Room Tip: If you're 'elderly', try to get a room which doesn't involve too many stairs to reach it!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Yes we are a little different and we appreciate that you found that difference to your liking.
The Hotel itself was actually built as a hotel back in 1901, and the owners endeavored to keep as much of the original building as possible - thus the stairs. We are pleased you took advantage of the location which out of curiosity was in fact the outskirts of town back in 1901, Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews