We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location, Friendly Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #90 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Came here on the recommendation of an Aussie friend. Great success and nice to find something other than a cookie cutter sameish hotel with no character. The Hatton has it in spades. Comfortable, quiet room with a great bed after a long flight from the UK and a super breakfast on arrival.
The Hatton is in a lovely part of town right by the Botanical Gardens. A ride on the tram, which stops right outside and comes by every few minutes, takes you to Flinders Street in 10 minutes or so. A good selection of coffee bars asnd restaurants is right around the corner from the hotel. A rare find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive critic.
We are glad you made the most of your location and that you found out about us from a friend!
Nothing like a first hand recommendation- Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    63
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights as a couple exploring Melbourne. Hotel is located in suburban road, surrounded by mostly modernised Victorian / Edwardian houses, and fits in well. It's about 10 mins tram ride into Melbourne centre, and 5 mins tram ride into the trendy suburbs of South Yarra & Tourak. Tram stops are literally outside the door, making it a great place from which to explore Melbourne, if you want to see more than just the centre. Staff were friendly and efficient, room was clean, with it's own small kitchenette, in addition to good sized bathroom. Furniture quirky. Breakfast (continental only) was good quality, without being particularly extensive. Roof terrace is good area to sit in evening sun with glass of wine. Much more personal than most big city hotels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay taking full advantage of our tram system and location. The now revived roofdeck area is lovely on a balmy night with a glass of wine so we are pleased you also enjoyed this area of the Hotel, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Of course, there's no 24/7 room service or laundry. Of course, the breakfast possibilities are limited. Of course, you can sometimes hear everything your neighbour does next door. Of course, the bar closes before midnight. Of course, there's no restaurant and the only thing you can do is order take aways. So what? The Hatton is something special. This is where you go where you need a home away from home, a friendly staff, and a great location in Melbourne. It does it for me... when it's not fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We certainly appreciate your critic and your honesty.
A majority of our clientele are return customers so we hope to see you again.
In the meantime Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay two nights in Hatton. One was enough. Check in was very unpolite, like visitors are not wellcome. He asked just a credit card and told what we cant do. Carrying luggages to room, where wifi didn't work and air condition dropped quite a lot water to floor all the time was the last drop. Sorry to say but we got feeling they are closing the whole hotel. At least it woul need quite a lot of upgrading with service attitude and cleaness.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your time with us. We do have a maintenance schedule for all our appliances and technology however at times things do breakdown and require action. The air conditioner has now been repaired and the wifi which we have recently upgraded has had teething problems and we are doing our very best to correct these issues. For this we sincerely apologise.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hatton is, I guess, an old private residence, converted to a small private hotel. If you like small and quirky, rather than 5-star glitz, then this is the place for you ... and us! So many different people on reception/bar duty, but all really friendly and helpful. Once you've schlepped your cases up and down innumerable stairs, the bedroom is fine ... pretty much what you'd expect, but spacious and clean. Terriffic location .... this part of the City boasts fabulous Art Deco properties and appears an affluent area. A tram stops right outside the hotel to get you quickly into the centre, or a short walk the other way gets you a tram to the beach. Also lots of good reataurants nearby. All in all a great place.

Room Tip: If you're 'elderly', try to get a room which doesn't involve too many stairs to reac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Yes we are a little different and we appreciate that you found that difference to your liking.
The Hotel itself was actually built as a hotel back in 1901, and the owners endeavored to keep as much of the original building as possible - thus the stairs. We are pleased you took advantage of the location which out of curiosity was in fact the outskirts of town back in 1901, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

A very charming mansion turned into a hotel; or rather into a great classy bed& breakfast.

I loved the balance between the design elements and the original old house, nice spacious room, friendly staff with the same "home-attitude" as the hotel, tram in front of the hotel.
Included breakfast.

Great location, especially because I was very found of the Botanical Gardens.

Just perfect? Well not:
Wifi doesn't work well
At least some cold cuts were missing at the breakfast (given the price)
Noise from other rooms can be very present


still a lovely place that I surely recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your honest review.
We have currently just changed WIFI systems in an effort to update and fix our previous system. Unfortunately the new system has experienced some teething problems and we are doing our best to solve these and they should be corrected by the time this has been published, I apologise for the inconvenience.
Thank you for also seeing the positive side of your stay though and we do hope to see you again.
We are also pleased you capitalised on the location of the hotel.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Loved the Hatton Hotel - didn't want to leave. Our first night away from all of the kids this year - possibly first night ever. Beautiful room and amenities - fantastic and knowledgeable and interested staff - so I'm not sure what happened to WimbledonSE - maybe look in the mirror...Highly recommend anyone wanting a luxury B & B feel to a boutique hotel. Brilliant central location and fab restaurants, bars and parks nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReganForde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review, a night away from the family is certainly a rarity and I am glad you enjoyed yourself so much, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Royce Hotel
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#41 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#7 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#12 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Property: The Hatton Hotel
Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing