We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tasteful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #118 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tasteful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a boutique hotel of quality and good service in a splendidly quiet location near the Botanic Gardens. We liked the large airy room and very comfortable bed, the hotel decor, the inclusive breakfast, the free use of the iPad and the friendly, helpful staff. The neighbourhood has a 'village' feel and there are near by coffee houses in which to relax and watch life go by. We liked to walk into the city centre through the wonderful Botanic Gardens, but there are tram stops near by for a quicker journey.
We will always be attracted to accommodation with individuality and character. The bigger branded hotels are not for us. The Hatton delivered on all counts!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, and for highlighting our uniqueness! Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    63
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here a as gift from a friend and couldn't have been more pleased.

The hotel is in a beautiful old house located in a very quiet residential street between 3 parks (including the beautiful Botanical Gardens). There are a number of really nice restaurants nearby and a convenience store at the end of the road (all nor more than 2 minute away). There is also a tram that goes directly to the heart of the CBD which stops literally at the front gate - perfect.

When entering the hotel you really get a feeling of entering something with such history and stories to tell. The building has been lovingly decorated to keep its character whilst at the same time adding its own twist with the art and styling.

The staff were great, so friendly and welcoming, and seemed really interested in you - makes change from the larger chains who don't seem that interested. It was at this point we found out the hotel offers free wifi and continental breakfast which was a really nice surprise. Where else can you get that. There was also a roof terrace which we could use and take food and drink up there. You must go here, the views of the CBD are spectacular!

The room was great too, absolutely huge with a seperate pantry and outside courtyard and really big, antique furniture. They are tastefully decorated and feel like you are staying at a big country manor somewhere! Loved the L'occitane toiletries too!

Breakfast is served in the lovely reception/dining area and included some really tasty fresh bread, pastries, coffee. tea etc all you can expect but again served with a smile from the staff.

Really cant recommend it enough. Location, service, room and experience were all A*, you felt like you were at home you are made to feel that comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the lower floor that have the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurTsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review, we are very pleased you felt the Hotel to be a home away from home, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

i have stayed at the Hatton several times previously for business in a standard room, however this time i travelled with my wife for a four day stay in so we upgraded to a superior room

as always the decor was warm, the staff were very friendly and knowledgable, the amenities were as you would expect in a boutique hotel, and the breakfast options are just what you need to kick-start the day without going over the top.

the location is close enough to the city that you can easily get around yet far enough out to be relaxing, so if you don’t need to be in the heart of town - this is where I would stay

we’ll be back

Room Tip: all rooms a great, but i would stay on the upper floor or at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much. It has always been our aim to create regular custom, and your positive comments are proof of that. We are pleased your wife got to enjoy the Hotel with you this trip.
We look forward to welcoming you back again- Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the fifth time I've stayed here (usually for a week at a time) and it's a wonderful place. When you walk into the Hatton it smells lovely - you just know it's achieved that perfect combination of homeliness and sophistication. There is nothing to criticise about this place - from the proximity to the wonderful Botanical Gardens and the restaurants of South Yarra (Da Noi and France Soir not to be missed!), to the tram stop directly out the front, to the Yarra River almost on the doorstep winding its way into the central city, to the friendly low-key staff and to the fabulous breakfasts - I love this place! Oh, and the views from the upstairs rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review, we do our best to create a homely atmosphere as our point of difference whilst retaining an elegant edge, and we are pleased you have picked up on this- Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Hatton recently whilst on business, I hired he meeting room which was in just near the very stylish reception area, it worked well for my purposes, the staff were fantastic and the overall feel of the Hatton is divine. My standard room was tiny however had everything i needed and felt fresh . Lovely toiletries , tea etc etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Hatton.
I am glad you took advantage of our meeting room facilities, often it goes unnoticed by guests but for those on business can certainly be a convenience to them. The room is often used as well for fashion/product showings due to our location. I'm glad you appreciated the hotel and enjoyed your stay also. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Boutique hotel in good location close to tram and bus. Interesting decor with ?Vietnamese artefacts in communal area. Comfortable bar/breakfast room with attentive and interested staff.

Stayed four nights. Recommended as breakfast, internet and coffee/tea all included in price - unlike other hotels we stayed in during our trip to Australia.

Room Tip: Beware at least one room (ours) had six steps up from bedroom to bathroom - not for the less agile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre83120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for posting your review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
In relation to the steps in your room, we do try our best to make it known that some rooms are split level in design (one of the difficulties in using such an old building!) for those potential guests out there who would see this as a difficulty please request a room without the split level upon booking.
Thanks for the review once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I really liked the style of this hotel - it feels like staying at a very stylish old house. Our room was airy and spacious with high ceilings and fitting antique furnishings and the bathroom was more modern (and supplied with lovely L'Occitane toiletries). The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

The location is really good - there is a tram stop outside and you can get into the centre of the city in 10-15 minutes. It is also close to a lovely park.

We stayed on a Saturday night and were able to park for free on the street outside.

My only small complaint is that the breakfast is a bit of a protein-free zone. I am on a diet that means I cannot eat carbohydrates or sugars (so no fruit or dairy) and there was literally nothing I could eat. I am used to travelling in Europe where even the cheapest guest house has a basket of boiled eggs or a plate of cold meats, so the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment given the price of the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the location, the aesthetics of the room and the L'Occitane toiletries.
We have taken on board your comments regarding the breakfast and will use those in our next review of our continental breakfast to try to further improve it.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Royce Hotel
#33 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#71 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Adara East Melbourne
#108 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Property: The Hatton Hotel
Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#98 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing