We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tastefully renovated old mansion in wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #68 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful tastefully renovated old mansion in wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the fifth time I've stayed here (usually for a week at a time) and it's a wonderful place. When you walk into the Hatton it smells lovely - you just know it's achieved that perfect combination of homeliness and sophistication. There is nothing to criticise about this place - from the proximity to the wonderful Botanical Gardens and the restaurants of South Yarra (Da Noi and France Soir not to be missed!), to the tram stop directly out the front, to the Yarra River almost on the doorstep winding its way into the central city, to the friendly low-key staff and to the fabulous breakfasts - I love this place! Oh, and the views from the upstairs rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review, we do our best to create a homely atmosphere as our point of difference whilst retaining an elegant edge, and we are pleased you have picked up on this- Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    63
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Hatton recently whilst on business, I hired he meeting room which was in just near the very stylish reception area, it worked well for my purposes, the staff were fantastic and the overall feel of the Hatton is divine. My standard room was tiny however had everything i needed and felt fresh . Lovely toiletries , tea etc etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Hatton.
I am glad you took advantage of our meeting room facilities, often it goes unnoticed by guests but for those on business can certainly be a convenience to them. The room is often used as well for fashion/product showings due to our location. I'm glad you appreciated the hotel and enjoyed your stay also. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Boutique hotel in good location close to tram and bus. Interesting decor with ?Vietnamese artefacts in communal area. Comfortable bar/breakfast room with attentive and interested staff.

Stayed four nights. Recommended as breakfast, internet and coffee/tea all included in price - unlike other hotels we stayed in during our trip to Australia.

Room Tip: Beware at least one room (ours) had six steps up from bedroom to bathroom - not for the less agile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre83120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for posting your review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
In relation to the steps in your room, we do try our best to make it known that some rooms are split level in design (one of the difficulties in using such an old building!) for those potential guests out there who would see this as a difficulty please request a room without the split level upon booking.
Thanks for the review once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I really liked the style of this hotel - it feels like staying at a very stylish old house. Our room was airy and spacious with high ceilings and fitting antique furnishings and the bathroom was more modern (and supplied with lovely L'Occitane toiletries). The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

The location is really good - there is a tram stop outside and you can get into the centre of the city in 10-15 minutes. It is also close to a lovely park.

We stayed on a Saturday night and were able to park for free on the street outside.

My only small complaint is that the breakfast is a bit of a protein-free zone. I am on a diet that means I cannot eat carbohydrates or sugars (so no fruit or dairy) and there was literally nothing I could eat. I am used to travelling in Europe where even the cheapest guest house has a basket of boiled eggs or a plate of cold meats, so the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment given the price of the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the location, the aesthetics of the room and the L'Occitane toiletries.
We have taken on board your comments regarding the breakfast and will use those in our next review of our continental breakfast to try to further improve it.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel and had a superior room.
We had booked on Expedia for three adults and the price provided we thought was for three but we had to pay extra for the 3rd person. The parking space was VERY smal.

Other than this, the room was very clean, beautiful and comfortable. There was coffee and tea in the room. The bathroom was fantastic with a big bathtub and very spaciouse. The beds are nice and you sleep very well. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast is just marvelous with fresh fruit and juices. The walls are decorated with beautiful art.

The location is just perfect. You're just couple of minutes walk from Chapel street and also in daytime you can walk to the city and then take the free tourist bus back.

We were leaving really early the last day and when I checked out I was given breakfast to keep in our fridge for the morning and could put the key under the reception door which was perfect. We really enjoyd this place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sommar-sol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your very positive review. I am disappointed it was not clear that a 3rd occupant in your room would increase your costs on Expedia, we are currently working with them to see if we can fix this problem. And yes, one of the difficulties for our property is the limited car parking, as you have pointed out though we are well located and in walking distance to many of Melbourne's attractions and have public transport accessible directly at the front of the Hotel.
We are pleased the 2 negatives did not affect your overall enjoyable experience of the Hotel and Melbourne, we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room, staff and inclusive breakfast was all first class! Was pleasantly surprised by the fit out of the room, very well laid out with a fantastic view of the city, especially from the roof top. The continental breakfast was 100% as was the coffee. The staff were all very helpful and exceptionally friendly. Happy to have picked this to stay in and would consider booking for our next stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diver005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks, I'll be sure to pass on your positive comments to our staff. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My first stay at this hotel . The rooms are extremely nice and the breakfast is first class. The service is always brilliant. Some old charm about the place that make you feel like your in old world England. Very Nice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments, the comparison to an old hotel in England is especially nice- thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Royce Hotel
#34 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#8 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Property: The Hatton Hotel
Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing