We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #125 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My first stay at this hotel . The rooms are extremely nice and the breakfast is first class. The service is always brilliant. Some old charm about the place that make you feel like your in old world England. Very Nice

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your very positive comments, the comparison to an old hotel in England is especially nice- thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 167 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

nicely decorated and well maintained. located at a quiet area yet closee to center.staff very friendly and helpful. easy transportation by tram. very close to botanical gardens which are fantastic. beautiful and serene neighborhood

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yirmiRehovot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed our location close to the botanic gardens and that the staff were responsive to you. We hope to welcome you back sometime-happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We started our Australian holiday with three nights in "The Alto on Bourke" and ended with three nights in The Hatton and I find it very hard to decide which was better.

It has a lovely character - the architecture, artwork, high ceilings and setting on the edge of South Yarra are excellent. Complementary breakfast buffet with made-to-order fresh coffee, free (limited to 6 cars off and on street) parking, stunning rooftop terrace and incredibly helpful staff are all bonuses.

I think we were lucky with our room as we were quietly positioned at the rear of the hotel with picturesque views over the city. The rooms are stylish with stripped boards, rugs and modern utilitarian furniture - some reviewers didn't care for this, but I thought it was a good call as it allows the space to speak for itself. Sounds pretentious I know, but I thought it really worked! Bathroom was clean and bright and I loved the Occitane en Provence toiletries...

Not the cheapest, but a characterful choice for a stay in Melbourne which I'd recommend in a heartbeat. Just don't ask me to chose between this and Alto on Bourke - jury's stil out!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, but reception staff grabbed our bags and ferried them up to the room before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, we would be happy to have you back and win you over from our competitors! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

this is a great hotel t stay in - high ceilings in large rooms with friendly staff, open fire, tasty breakfast and no additional charges (for anything) walk across the gardens to the city or take the number 8 tram - a real gem in a hotel landscape that i have found not always brilliant.
very romantic

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy you took full advantage of our location during your stay. We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just checked out the other day so this review is fresh.

I would have given 4 or even 5 stars to The Hatton but it just did not meet my expectations. And that was the root of my issue: my expectations were not appropriate - not high, not low, just different.

To me, The Hatton should not be classified as a hotel. It does not have the expected trappings of a hotel, i.e. full service – 24-hour reception, concierge, room service/full F&B, complete room amenities inside the room (without need of asking), AND no elevator (I don’t remember that reviews I read on TA before I booked last month did not mention this). The Hatton does not have any of those. So if someone asks me if it is a good hotel, I’d have to say that it’s not. But as an inn, it is very good and I won’t hesitate to recommend it BUT expectations need to be set properly.

I knew that The Hatton was in an old residential building. I've stayed in small hotels that were previously residences and which had been completely modernized inside, including installation of an elevator, so I was expecting this of The Hatton. But it was not completely so. It is more homey than the usual hotel (which is good), and I’d even describe it as feeling like a rich relative's mansion renovated to modernize basics like plumbing/bathroom and electrical fixtures. But, the renovation and furnishings could use some improvements.

The details --

Pros:
- Staff – the staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We informed the staff upon booking that our flight is arriving early and asked if we could store our luggage before check-in. But when we arrived before 9am (check-in is at 2pm), our room was ready and were allowed to check-in so we were able to get some much needed rest (we took a redeye to Melbourne from Singapore and did not sleep well on the flight).
- Breakfast – the choice was limited to cereals/muesli/granola, fresh fruits, bread and breakfast pastries, yoghurt, milk plus fresh juices. But the quality of the food was above par and could have been the artisanal kinds, not the supermarket variety (except some of the spreads like the peanut butter). And they offered different kinds of fresh coffee all made upon order: flat white, long black, cappuccino, espresso, latte. Definitely not the usual hotel buffet breakfast which suited us just fine and in fact preferred it. Would have been good to have some hot items, though but there was no kitchen.
- Location – it is in South Yarra, an upscale quiet residential area just 10 minutes by tram to the CBD. It is perfect for those who want to get a neighborhood feel instead of being in the CBD and feel like being in any other city. The no. 8 tram which goes straight to the center of the CBD stops right in front, and The Hatton can sell tram tickets so there’s no worry about not having loose change for the tram.

Cons:
- As I earlier said, it lacks facilities, even as basic as a 24-hour reception. The front door is closed at 11pm so the room key needs to be used to open the front door. But to me, the most critical was not having an elevator. We were at the start of a long Australian tour so had heavy bags which we had to carry up and down narrow flights of stairs.
- The furnishings were too Ikea-like and did not match the rich architecture around. The bed we had even had casters/wheels! What’s funny is that the motel (yes, a MOTEL) we stayed at in Lorne on our Great Ocean Road trip had the same wheeled-bed with plain white headboard. Even the lighting fixtures in our room at The Hatton seemed like they also came from Ikea. And there was not enough lighting, specially in the bathroom. There was no light above the bathtub, and the only light source above the sink/commode was not bright enough to light the whole bathroom.
- Speaking of the bathroom, the bathtub had one of those half-door or glass panel covering only half of the bathtub, which I still don’t understand the logic of. Don’t hoteliers/inn proprietors realize how much more work needs to be done to clean wet floors? Full shower curtains can have as much character and even costs less than a glass half-door.
- The bathroom door is only a sliding door that does not completely close. We visited in winter so the cold draft entered the bathroom through the door and made taking a bath such a freezing ordeal. Thank goodness the bathroom floor was wood so that helped ease the cold a bit. A proper door should be installed, or a heater placed in the bathroom. And there was very little bathroom and personal amenities, limited to the basic soap by the sink and the bathtub, small bath salt, shampoo, conditioner and shower cap. No cotton buds/cotton balls, comb, etc.
- There was no curtain and the window only had wooden shutters that did not block out light.
- Given that The Hatton is in an old renovated house, the sound of people walking and talking along the corridor goes through the door (it was a constant reminder that you are in a house, not a building). Fortunately, we could not hear the occupants of the room next door.
- Finally, the price, considering the lack of facilities and amenities, the price we paid - A$180 (close to US$200!) -- was too high. Then again, we realized that Australia in general is VERY, VERY expensive. The same quality accommodation we had at Napa Valley last year cost just US$150 per night. If not for the great service from the staff and the yummy breakfast, we would have felt that we got ripped-off.

Overall, I will recommend The Hatton to those who don’t mind staying in an expensive inn, but is not advisable for people who are expecting a full-service hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chocoluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. We understand your feelings in regard to our classification. We do blur the lines between a hotel and a guesthouse and do so deliberately as a unique accommodation supplier (having said that we are independently rated by AAA Tourism the official body as a 4 star hotel).
We do our best to supply potential guests with the marketing materials to make our point of difference clear however it is difficult to control given the size of our property and the abundance of marketing sites now present on the web- we are not a 5 star 200 room hotel with the economies of scale that come with that size.
In regards to an elevator we do have 3 levels however the entrance is on the middle level as we are built on an elevated block. So if you are on the top or the bottom there is one flight of stairs to commute. We did consider installing an elevator however we chose to retain as much of the purpose built hotel circa 1902 as possible.
In short we understand your criticisms and we have taken them on board. We are always reviewing our rooms to improve them and your comments are well noted.
Please understand though we are not trying to duplicate the experience of a big 5 star hotel.
Thank you for your honesty and time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Hatton is one of those buildings with personality. Years of history and modern refurbishment. No two rooms are the same in either shape or furnishing. The level of fitout is excellent. The staff are friendly. The lounge/reception/breakfast bar is a great gathering place, The number 8 tram is right at the door and you can buy your ticket at the hotel itself, Breakfast is continental, fresh and complimentary. What is not to like?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you have noticed our eclectic nature in combining modern with period furnishings and architecture.
Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

South Yarra, like many Melbourne suburbs, is large but The Hatton is in the best part, only metres from the Botanical Gardens and with a tram running at the door. Its about 15 minutes by tram to the CBD, and about 5 minutes to the South Yarra retail strip.

Parking is on-street and so can be a little difficult to find but at no stage did I have to park more than 200m from the hotel.

The friendly and competent staff told me that the property was originally built in the 1880s as a hotel and was renovated about 10 years ago. The property has been kept in very good condition since, and its very hard to find any shortcomings in the rooms. The public areas - especially the front bar - are elegant and welcoming.

My only complaint is the breakfast, which is not of sufficient quality for the price. And the toasters should really be described as bread warmers - c'mon guys, you can afford 3 new toasters!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneySydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

thank you for your honest review and I'm glad you enjoyed what South Yarra has to offer.
We are always trying to improve our breakfast and so have taken the comments on the toasters on board which are currently Sunbeam Cafe series. Looks like it is time for an upgrade!
Thanks again we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Quest Flemington
#58 of 161 in Melbourne
333 reviews
Glenferrie Hotel
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#113 of 161 in Melbourne
146 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#121 of 161 in Melbourne
124 reviews
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#96 of 161 in Melbourne
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $141 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing