We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hatton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$260
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$146
$97
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$159
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$125
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$267
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$94
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$185
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$210
$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
86
63
12
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
63
12
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 167 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great location with excellent restaurants and cafes a short walk away.Number 8 tram stops outside the door and only a short trip to Central Mebourne e.g Collins Street. Large spacious room with a surprising hiden away kitchenette.

Wonderful large original windows that unfortunately rattle in the wind if you don't use/see the rubber wedges sitting on the window sill ready to be jammed into the large sash gaps. Parking is extremely limited. Hotel only has 4 spaces but they can provide a resident parking permit allowing unlimited parking time in 1-2 hour street parking spaces. Front entrance stairs and internal stairs may present problems to the elderly or disabled.

Room Tip: Upstairs not facing front as tram passes by.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you TOz_11 for your positive review, with the helpful feedback we believe we have now solved the problem of the rattling antique sash windows, no more rubber wedges!
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned from our honeymoon stay at The Hatton and what a fantastic place to stay. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in a superior room which was kitted out with amazing furniture and gave us a little extra space for our extended stay. Breakfast was included and was simply fab. Hoping hubby will book hotel for 1st Wedding anniversary!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEMP030412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Hatton. We always enjoy seeing Honeymooners returning on anniversaries and it would be great to see you again! It was our pleasure to have you. As an aside, our very first guests spent their wedding night at The Hatton and have returned many times since to relive old memories!

Regards
Andrew Hatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Friendly staff, good, clean, well equipped rooms. Nice bed. Fantastic breakfast and a nice porch to eat breakfast on if the weather is good. Staff was very helpfull and if I ever need to stay in the city again I will be back! Half hour walk through the gardens to get to Fed Square was nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YggdrasilEquestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Having lived in this area most of my life, I have always appreciated the location and being able to walk or take advantage of Melbourne’s famous trams, to get to many landmarks and the beautiful parks and gardens. We look forward to seeing you on your return.

Regards
Andrew Hatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This gorgeous inner suburban hotel gives you that great feeling of how it would be to live in this hip neighborhood. Tram stop right outside, a few minutes ride to the city, Toorak Road walking distance and local dining handy. They serve a continental breakfast, and wines in the evening... The rooms are big and airy, with eclectic furnishings, high ceilings, modern bathroom, small kitchenette in our room and lovely linens, good beds. So old-style Melbourne from a gone-by era. Highly recommended, we have stayed there 3 times over the last 10 years and always consistently good. There's a great roof top garden sitting area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

We are so pleased you got that great feeling of how it would be to live in this neighbourhood. We try hard to give a unique experience that set us apart from the hotel chains, and a large part of that is our location being set amongst one of Melbourne’s premier residential areas.

Regards
Andrew Hatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed at the Hatton last week and was more then happy with everything.
Just a small thing a very poor bar selection,continental breakfast and coffee very good and newspapers.
Walking distance to good restaurants, tram out side
Bed room a little sparse but lovely big bed.
I will use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ground floor was fine.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patriciaTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback- we always appreciate the honesty so we can improve the hotel. We are currently looking at improving the bar selection and will soon have a new wine list with a focus on interesting small local wineries. Unfortunately we are bound by certain constraints, we are housed in a partially heritage listed building, being a uniquely small hotel (only 20 rooms) and being in a residential area all impact on the size of our bar and who we can or can’t serve based on licensing regulations. However given these constraints we do always aim to please and are working hard to improve the bar area! Thanks again for choosing the Hatton.

Regards
Andrew Hatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews