We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious but poorly upkept” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 22 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spacious but poorly upkept”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at quest hero for a working week, by myself while on business in Melbourne.
Although it was spacious, the quality of the apartment and fitting was poor, with burn marks in the lounge, lights not working, and excessive noise from vent fans. There was also a smell of cigarettes in the room.

The TV was microscopic, and I had to move the furniture to see the tv effectively.

It was ok, but for the price there would seem to be better options.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    89
    63
    30
    14
See reviews for
99
30
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

After having a pleasant stay at Quest on Hero I have now completely changed my mind about this hotel.
After making 3 phone calls regarding my security bond not being cleared into my bank account I was repeatedly told the same response "the bank has released the funds", as well as promises to call me back which never happened. A week later and still no money returned, not to mention the rude customer service.

If you like having your money in your account I don't reccommend you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppet_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great value but excellent quality. Good position and spotless .
A stay in Melbourne was a Xmas present from my son and his family. This provided a base for two days touring around the city. If it were not so far away I would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Second stay here. Even better room layout this time on one level. Excellent little kitchen, all laundry facilities in room so totally self sufficient.
Extremely central to CBD attractions (trams, Chinatown, shopping ect.) and the sports precinct (AAMI, tennis centre and MCG) also only 10-15 min walk away.
The only downside was that it's quite noisy ( city sounds) overnight so if your a light sleeper bring earplugs. Didn't bother our crew at all as we were exhausted from trying to cram all Melbourne has to offer into a week!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Quest Hero over the Christmas period 2013. We travelled with my elderly parents and could not fault the service or the apartment. We tried initially to book two bedrooms/two bathrooms but unfortunately this was not possible so we shared one bathroom, which was OK. Shower was fantastic! Bit noisy at night on a couple of nights but to be expected considering the time of year. Excellent location in the heart of the city. Staff were helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I booked a room for myself and two friends as we were in town for a convention at the Rod Laver Arena. I made the mistake of assuming that the reception would be open after 9pm but the building was closed, however the staff had left me keys and check in instructions in the key deposit box, so getting into the hotel was easy-much to my gratitude!
Apart from being a bit of a maze inside (only one lift takes you to the car park) the room was very comfortable and the location was brilliant- Chinatown is minutes away. There was a taxi rank very close which made getting to the arena really fast and convenent. The staff were very helpful and did not charge me for the trundle bed, which we didn't use. Nor did they charge me for an after hours call-out. The lady at the desk encouraged us to come again as she could get us a good group discount, which we probably will.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry_Jam249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Overall experience of our 2 night stay was very good. We were staying at 2 bedroom type at 5th floor. This apartment was spacious and well equipped. Both bedroom had ample cupboard. The bathroom a bit small but clean. Spacious living and dining room. Good internet connection although a bit tricky for using more than one device. Relatively good value. Great location, just few minutes walk for various kind of food and getting on the public transport as well. Very helpful and kind front desk staffs. Entering from Little Collins to the reception with large/heavy luggage could be a problem as we have to go down through some stairs and no special path for wheeled luggage.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Handoko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel

Property: 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel
Address: 140 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest Hero on Russell)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome from the owners and staff at 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel Our style 140 Little Collins is a fully serviced small boutique apartment hotel located within the Fender Katselidis iconic redevelopment of the historic 1948 Melbourne Telephone Exchange; the Hero Apartment Building. Our location Conveniently positioned in the cosmopolitan and stylish ‘Paris quarter’ or ‘top end’ of Melbourne’s CBD, we are just one block from the elegant tree lined boulevard of Collins Street, with its classic trams, historic buildings and chic designer boutiques. Our leisure guests You will find us within easy walking distance of the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Southbank, the Bourke Street Mall, theatres, cinemas and all manner of shopping, from designer to outlet, and including supermarkets and all night convenience stores. We are located within the Free Tram Zone and other well known destinations are just a short tram ride away; Bridge Road, Lygon Street, Melbourne Zoo, the Melbourne Aquarium and Queen Victoria Market, to name a few. Parliament Station, two minutes walk away, is our link to the Melbourne underground loop and the Victorian rail network. Melbourne’s cultural heart is within walking distance; the National Gallery of Victoria, NGV at Fed Square, live theatre and music venues, any number of museums, and we can direct you to the hidden laneways and graffiti art for which Melbourne is famous. Our corporate guests We offer a home away from home with ample space and free wifi in all apartments. Melbourne’s business precinct is just minutes away, and you can enjoy proximity to the corporate world in a fantastic location without being isolated from all that Melbourne has to offer. Our apartments 140 Little Collins offers spacious contemporary one, two and three bedroom apartments, often with more than one bathroom. Air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens, private laundry facilities, and separate lounge and dining areas are standard in our apartments. Natural light abounds through floor to ceiling windows designed to take advantage of striking city views. Some apartments have small balconies extending from the lounge room allowing you to soak up the sights and sounds of the city. Due to the high end architectural design, occasional surprises such as lofts, vaulted ceilings or quirky industrial nooks can be found in some apartments. Curved walls, and quality fittings, marble and granite abound. Each apartment is strikingly different, and a surprising alternative to hotel accommodation and normal box type apartments. Our services Our front reception is open 7 days a week 8am to 9pm. Staff there will gladly advise on what to see and do in our wonderful city. We know Melbourne well and we are happy to share our knowledge. We can arrange car rental, airport transfers, trips and tours, pantry shopping, in fact, even special surprises; flowers, chocolates, theatre tickets … just let us know, and we’ll do our best! We look forward to attending to all your needs during your time with us. Alex, Marina, Louise, and staff of 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hero On Russell Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Melbourne Quest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing