We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree, not bad but not great....”
Review of Quest Gordon Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Gordon Place
Ranked #46 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Wellington,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Agree, not bad but not great....”
Reviewed July 11, 2006

We stayed at Somerset on Gordon for eight nights and moved rooms twice.

We had booked a one bedroom apartment with an extra bed for a friend who was staying a few nights for a concert. The first room although it was meant to be a one bedroom was tiny and basically a studio apartment.

We moved to another room, which was bigger and a lot better. However it had two problems, the hot water in the shower lasted for about 10mins, not great for three people! Also it was facing Little Bourke St, the restaurants etc, honestly it was like trying to sleep in a nightclub, not just traffic noise, but people talking, music, bottles been cleared etc. So we moved again, this time to a two bedroom apartment which was very good.

I should note that the staff were very good and helpful and did everything they could to help us.

We didn't use the restaurant but it looked good, the pool was good and the location was good as well, especially for China Town restaurants we loved the Bamboo House, just across the road, very good food. Also close to the free tram about 5mins walk.

Next time I would probably check out their Elizabeth St apartments.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wellington Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    217
    131
    87
    66
See reviews for
120
204
45
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2006

The service and professionalism of this place is a problem. Brochures in the room state that their onsite spa is open from 8am to 8pm. I tried calling at 8am, 10am, noon, and 7pm and was told that nobody was at the spa and it was closed. Finally, I asked the front desk to contact them and ask them to make and appointment for me for a service that was specifically listed on the brochure. They called me back and said the spa didnt provide that service even though the brochure said it did. In the room, there was literature saying if you had forgotten any toiletries, you could purchase them from the front desk. I called the front desk and asked for a razor. They told me they didn't have any. Sounds like a lot of false advertising to me.

On the actual facilities, I stayed ina 2 bedroom apartment and it was very spacious and nice.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worldtraveler94131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cambridge, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2006

We stayed here for 6 days in January 2006, in the second week of the Australian Open. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great location - just a short walk to most places we wanted to visit in Melbourne, while the free City Circle trams stopped 5 minutes walk away. Based in Chinatown, so plenty of good local restaurants, like the Shark Fin Inn, which was right next door. The one bedroom apartment was spacious and well-equipped. You could cook your own meals in the kitchen and do all your own washing using the washing machine and tumble drier. The temperatures reached 42C during our stay, and we really appreciated the air conditioning. The only negative was that it was sometimes noisy at night, even though we were on the top floor, but we used our earplugs and always got a good night's sleep. Recommended and good value.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney AU
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2006

We stayed here on NYE and the night after. The main selling point was the extremely good price, considering that it was NYE and that other hotels in the heart of the city were charging a premium. Each night was AU 165 for a studio and no breakfast.

Other good points were the location at the eastern end of Little Bourke Street, the pool (small but nice), the historic and interesting building, and the friendly check-in staff. Also very cheap parking around the corner--AU 13 for 48 hours.

On the negative side, our room was actually below street level, with the result that it was dark and dampish. We had a terrible view out onto a rubbish-strewn alley. There was no service at all on NY's Day, which was a bit ridiculous, and the deli and the restaurant were both closed then as well. The storage was not really enough if you are a long term business stayer.

All in all, not bad, but ask for a room that is not on the lowest level, and if you are staying for an extended period, a 1 room apt would surely be better.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woomargama, NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

Stayed in a studio apartment booked through Wotif. As previous reviews mentioned, very compact room: small kitchenette/entryway, hallway/wardrobe adjoining bathroom (toilet, basin, good shower, unfortunately very little benchtop space) and bedroom (comfortable dble bed, one bedside table and lamp, TV/DVD player on small table). Recently refurbished room very clean with pleasant decor. Beautiful building, Staff friendly but not very knowledgable about local public transport. Size of room wasn't really an issue for us as there were so many things to do in the local area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beeonastring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

Stay here if you'd like a nice, snug place in a great location not too far from the CBD and other attractions.

As others have mentioned, the spaces can be rather small sometimes, so be mindful of that. For some reason, we had some leaking in our bathroom from the ceiling, but nothing terrible.

We found the staff to be very nice and courteous all around.

Locationwise, it was very convenient to Chinatown (of course...), as well as within easy walking distance of major tram stops, the CBD, the theatre district, etc.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2005

Loved these apartments - however, unless you are on your own or like small spaces don't go for a studio. Cafe's and bars near the hotel are open on Fridays/Saturdays - some are not open on Sunday's but it is a short walk to Chinatown, or the shops on Bourke and Collins Streets where things are open. Would definately stay here again if I went back to Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Egwegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#124 of 160 in Melbourne
359 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,678 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#134 of 160 in Melbourne
232 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#74 of 160 in Melbourne
875 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Bourke
Quest on Bourke
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Gordon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Gordon Place

Property: Quest Gordon Place
Address: 24 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Gordon Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Gordon Place - a quality National Trust listed property which offers a unique and stylish accommodation option in the heart of Melbourne CBD. We offer a range of studio, one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments surrounding a beautiful inner courtyard, located in the heart of the world-renowned theatre district and the top end of bustling Chinatown. All guests have access to our onsite restaurant Deli 1884, outdoor heated swimming pool and BBQ area. Our room rates include broadband internet access (300MB daily limit) and local telephone calls. ***PLEASE NOTE: As of 1st June 2015 Quest on Lonsdale and Quest Gordon Place will operate from one combined Reception Desk open 24 hrs 7 days per week - located at 43 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne. To check in for your booking at Quest Gordon Place please arrive with your booking documentation to 43 Lonsdale Street. *** This spacious property is ideal for the business and leisure traveller offering fully equipped apartments including kitchen and laundry facilities and an outdoor heated pool. This is a fully non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest Gordon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Gordon Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing