We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of Quest Gordon Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Gordon Place
Ranked #66 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed April 7, 2014

he hotel is at the top of China Town, close to restaurants, shopping, business and a 15 minute walk from Southbank etc....

We stayed for one night, we had a bedroom, ensuite, separate living area and large kitchen. All well maintained. The bed was comfortable and everything was clean.

The building itself is ancient but well renovated and lots of history. We had a room that faced onto Little Bourke St and there was some noise as the restaurants/bars closed down but nothing sustained and we were in the middle of the city!!!

Definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear GordonTownsville,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review from your stay with us.

I am delighted that you found our apartments to be convenient, comfortable and most importantly clean. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Gordon Place in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Gordon Place
arickard@questapartments.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 770 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very lovely old building, would have loved to stay there longer.
The room was lovely too... had everything we wanted, Very comfortable.
Had a lovely cafe where we had coffee. But you can have breakfast there too.
Very central so easy to get to trams etc

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Hi Jennifer L,

Wow, what a great review! It is a pleasure to read such lovely feedback and please be assured have passed your comments onto our fantastic front office team, management and the great staff of our onsite Cafe Deli 1884. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quest Gordon Place in the near future - hopefully for longer next time! :)

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Gordon Place
arickard@questapartments.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Good value. Character. I have stayed in better rooms in this hotel. The latest being a 2bed apartment. Quite poky and a little musty...but in saying that it is a Trust building and we stayed downstairs in original part. Would stay again because the pool is lovely and it doesn't feel as sterile as some of the high rise hotels can feel.
We stayed over long weekend there was no one in reception when we checked out.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Georgeelong,

Thank you for taking the time to share your glowing review from your recent return to Quest Gordon Place. I am delighted to read that you found us of good value and not to mention character! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us again and we look forward to your next visit to Quest Gordon Place.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Gordon Place
arickard@questapartments.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I've stayed at Quest Gordon Place and also Quest Mawson Lakes in South Australia, we have found both to be friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate. Thankyou for making our stay pleasant. The cafe next to it, was a delight, with lovely friendly staff and excellent food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Sally A,

Thank you for sharing your glowing review. Myself and the team are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Gordon Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was one of the nicest places we could have chosen. A historic property, tastefully restored. Room was excellent; had all the necessary amenities, quiet and comfortable in every respect. Reception and cafe had every base covered with just the right level of attentiveness without being "over-powering".

Room Tip: Room facing street are nice; we had a corner room with a little alcove which was ideal for using the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnBanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi JohnBanora,

What a delight it is to read your wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments about our beautiful property, room facilities, onsite restaurant and our fantastic Reception team. I have forwarded your feedback onto the staff to ensure they are aware how great they are!

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Gordon Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our room was on the 4th floor. It was a one bedroom apartment. With all that you would need..in the kitchen and in a laundry. We had servicing daily which was lovely. It was quiet even though it was at the top of China Town.
Serviced by cafes and restaurant and a cute little French patisserie. Go to Spring street and find the city circle free tram..if you can get on but at our stop no problems at all in either direction.
The kitchen was great so you could easily make yourself a meal or breakfast.
The staff at reception were extremely helpful.
Yes I would go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda R, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Wendy066,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to read that you found the apartment to be convenient, spacious and quiet. I have forwarded your lovely comments onto our fantastic Reception team.

Hopefully we will see you back again for another stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales, Quest Gordon Place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at the Quest because we were going to see Grease at Her Majestys Theatre and as fantastic as the location was, the room sorely left quite alot to be desired!
It was very tiny with far too much furniture to suit and quite unnecessary. The shower door was broken and the air con, or really just cool air was very noisy and there's no way you could sleep with it on all night. The windows had timber shutters so you couldn't open them without exposing the whole room to the outside world.
Also, our room. no 13 seemed to be above the downstairs kitchen area and at 5.30 am it was extremely noisy with the days prep for service started! Theres no way to sleep in!
Having said all that, the staff were very diligent and attended to our complaints very efficiently!

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the kitchen area as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Junnay,
Thank you for your recent review of Quest Gordon Place. I am delighted to read that our location was a major highlight of your stay. I welcome your feedback and will look into your concerns in relation to the apartment maintenance accordingly. Please also be assured that i will forward your lovely feedback onto our fantastic front office team.

I encourage you to make contact with our client relations manager Sandi Gemmell on 03 9663 2888 or sgemmell@questapartments.com.au should you wish to discuss your feedback further.

The team and myself at Quest Gordon Place would like to thank you again for sharing your valuable review, it is through feedback such as yours that allows us to become better in what we do.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Rickard
Director of Sales
Quest Gordon Place
arickard@questapartments.com.au
03 9663 2888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#129 of 161 in Melbourne
480 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 161 in Melbourne
996 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,934 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#61 of 161 in Melbourne
465 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#73 of 161 in Melbourne
5,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Gordon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Gordon Place

Address: 24 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $74 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Gordon Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Gordon Place - a quality National Trust listed property which offers a unique and stylish accommodation option in the heart of Melbourne CBD. We offer a range of studio, one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments surrounding a beautiful inner courtyard, located in the heart of the world-renowned theatre district and the top end of bustling Chinatown. All guests have access to our onsite restaurant Deli 1884, outdoor heated swimming pool and BBQ area. Our room rates include broadband internet access (300MB daily limit) and local telephone calls. ***PLEASE NOTE: As of 1st June 2015 Quest on Lonsdale and Quest Gordon Place will operate from one combined Reception Desk open 24 hrs 7 days per week - located at 43 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne. To check in for your booking at Quest Gordon Place please arrive with your booking documentation to 43 Lonsdale Street. *** This spacious property is ideal for the business and leisure traveller offering fully equipped apartments including kitchen and laundry facilities and an outdoor heated pool. This is a fully non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Quest Gordon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Gordon Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing