We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and friendly service”
Review of Quest Gordon Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Gordon Place
Ranked #50 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed December 7, 2012

a wonderful heritage building - great inner courtyards - very helpful and attentive staff. Had a one bedroom right down the bottom and the rear - so quiet - but nice to look out into the trees in the courtyard. Little Bourke St at the top end was quiet - and suggest you use the lane way to the right to go through to Lonsdale where there is a supermarket. Price was right for one night for a several of us on business. Definitely return for longer stay if the price stays at this level. Usually we stay around at the Mantra in Londsdale - but their one night price has become too expensive. so suggest you check this out. great value and very roomy and comfortable (the one bedroom units).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rust-never-sleeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Quest Gordon Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 625 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Disappointing, is what this place is. For the price and stars, I expected cleanliness. Bzzzt. Wrong.
My one-bedroom (10) looked very tired and looked like it hadn't been properly cleaned in a while.
I could turn a blind eye to the black stains on the warped carpet, the major scratches/dents on the wall, the grotty grouting in the shower but the cobwebs? There were too many to ignore. Please, for the love of Pete, take to those rooms with some elbow grease and a rag. The place is amazing, the history is doubly so but for the price, I should not be having 'eeeew' moments.
Trust, I do not have high standards, nor am I a clean freak. In fact, after many years of staying in hotels, this is the first time I've ever felt compelled to review...
The bed was amazing though. Comfiest one I've been in for quite some time, in fact. The front desk was very friendly and welcoming too. A refresh in the rooms (or maybe I was just unlucky with number 10?) would improve this place a thousand fold.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetMeIn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear LetMeIn78,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Quest Gordon Place. Unfortunately it appears that we have not lived up to your expectations and for that we apologise. Please be assured that the standard of all of our guest rooms is our highest priority and the points you have mentioned will be looked into immediately. You mention a 'refresh' and happily we are about to begin re-painting in all apartments in the next month which we believe will have a huge impact. It is wonderful to see that you found our staff very friendly and welcoming - I hope you will feel welcome enough to come and stay again in the near future as I am sure we could improve on your previous stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Housed in an old building with a fascinating and sometimes infamous history, this comfortable hotel is superbly located in the middle of the Melbourne CBD. Lots of interesting laneways and restaurants around, and not far to trams or trains. We booked a studio but were upgraded to a huge 2 bedroom apartment, with a kitchen, dining room and large lounge and bathroom. All very comfy, pity we were only there for a night. The pool looked nice but of course it was too cold, the staff were very friendly, and they arrange parking for $20 a day in the car park behind in Lonsdale St. If I wanted to be picky I would say that they could wash the windows more often, they were really dirty, but then there wasn't much to see out of them anyway except a car park. Love the 100 year old palm in the courtyard!

Room Tip: Away from Little Bourke Street, lots of early morning noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelpossums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Travelpossums
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us at Quest Gordon Place. We agree - our beautiful property does have a fascinating history and character which is completely unique in Melbourne. It is a pity you were only here for one night - so we look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hopefully for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Quest for 2 nights on one of the "dungeon" rooms on the bottom floor, which are below street level. Actually, despite what some other reviewer said, there is reasonable light if you open the curtain; and you can open the windows if you like, for fresh air. The room was small, but quite adequate for a short stay, with a comfortable double bed. Excellent kitchen facilities were provided. Also iron plus board, which we needed to use.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is well located if you want to be within walking distance of the Melbourne Cricket Ground and nearby sporting venues. It also has close access to both up market and cheap eats. What suprised me most was how dirty the public areas were. Not only small bits of rubbish on the floor and in the lift but stone flooring is badly stained as if all manner of drinks and food had been spilt and not cleaned up. Maybe this type of stone can't easily be cleaned but that doesnt explain the rubbish. It certainly gave a very bad first immpression. My room was a reasonable size, it had a small kitchen so it may what the hotel describes as a one bedroom appartment. I am pleased to say the room was a lot cleaner. Lighting in the room and bathroom was rather poor and difficult read by but other than that everything i tried worked. The place has hugh potential, particulrly if you like older buildings with a bit of character so it is a pity it gives the impression of being neglected. I dont think there is any inhouse breakfast service given the sign in the lift suggesting breakfast across the road and i didnt see a bar or any where to eat inhouse although it doesnt purport to be a hotel but rather "apartments". If you can get it at the right price and you want this location its OK.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street this is party territory and noise can be an issue.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Quest Gordon Place is in a fabulous location in the centre of Chinatown close to theatres and shopping. The free tram is a short walk from the door. It has exceptional staff for whom nothing was a problem. They cheerfully replaced room cards when there was a problem, organised internet access and sorted out tricky invoicing for a trip that mixed business and pleasure.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable and the pool was a hit with the kids. The up/down stairs might be a problem for less able bodied guests or families with prams but this wasn't an issue for us. There were other rooms that may have been more accessible. The lift doesn't service the rooms on the bottom floor. The hotel has limitations on layout based on the historic nature of the building (which is lovely - if you like that sort of thing as I do).
Organising breakfast in the recommended cafe across the road needed better explanation as you have to get a voucher from Quest before you go (required a dash back to get one). Not far to go fortunately.
In all we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarcochilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in this lovely old hotel (recently acquired by Quest), for one night due to an evening at the theatre round the corner. From the moment we arrived until we departed nothing was too much trouble, and all the staff are to be highly commended for their friendly courteous service. The twin bedded apartment was beautifully clean, amply suppled, and very quiet. We were even woken to the sound of the birds singing in the courtyard and certainly no traffic noise whatsoever.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinkydi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear dinkydi26,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Quest Gordon Place. Providing our valued guests with excellent service is always our top priority. I will be sure to forward your wonderful feedback to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#128 of 160 in Melbourne
389 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,760 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Quest on Bourke
Quest on Bourke
#103 of 160 in Melbourne
544 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#134 of 160 in Melbourne
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Gordon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Gordon Place

Address: 24 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $76 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Gordon Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Gordon Place - a quality National Trust listed property which offers a unique and stylish accommodation option in the heart of Melbourne CBD. We offer a range of studio, one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments surrounding a beautiful inner courtyard, located in the heart of the world-renowned theatre district and the top end of bustling Chinatown. All guests have access to our onsite restaurant Deli 1884, outdoor heated swimming pool and BBQ area. Our room rates include broadband internet access (300MB daily limit) and local telephone calls. ***PLEASE NOTE: As of 1st June 2015 Quest on Lonsdale and Quest Gordon Place will operate from one combined Reception Desk open 24 hrs 7 days per week - located at 43 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne. To check in for your booking at Quest Gordon Place please arrive with your booking documentation to 43 Lonsdale Street. *** This spacious property is ideal for the business and leisure traveller offering fully equipped apartments including kitchen and laundry facilities and an outdoor heated pool. This is a fully non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest Gordon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Gordon Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing