We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Gordon Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quest Gordon Place
Ranked #45 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Disappointing, is what this place is. For the price and stars, I expected cleanliness. Bzzzt. Wrong.
My one-bedroom (10) looked very tired and looked like it hadn't been properly cleaned in a while.
I could turn a blind eye to the black stains on the warped carpet, the major scratches/dents on the wall, the grotty grouting in the shower but the cobwebs? There were too many to ignore. Please, for the love of Pete, take to those rooms with some elbow grease and a rag. The place is amazing, the history is doubly so but for the price, I should not be having 'eeeew' moments.
Trust, I do not have high standards, nor am I a clean freak. In fact, after many years of staying in hotels, this is the first time I've ever felt compelled to review...
The bed was amazing though. Comfiest one I've been in for quite some time, in fact. The front desk was very friendly and welcoming too. A refresh in the rooms (or maybe I was just unlucky with number 10?) would improve this place a thousand fold.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetMeIn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear LetMeIn78,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Quest Gordon Place. Unfortunately it appears that we have not lived up to your expectations and for that we apologise. Please be assured that the standard of all of our guest rooms is our highest priority and the points you have mentioned will be looked into immediately. You mention a 'refresh' and happily we are about to begin re-painting in all apartments in the next month which we believe will have a huge impact. It is wonderful to see that you found our staff very friendly and welcoming - I hope you will feel welcome enough to come and stay again in the near future as I am sure we could improve on your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    182
    114
    73
    59
See reviews for
95
174
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Housed in an old building with a fascinating and sometimes infamous history, this comfortable hotel is superbly located in the middle of the Melbourne CBD. Lots of interesting laneways and restaurants around, and not far to trams or trains. We booked a studio but were upgraded to a huge 2 bedroom apartment, with a kitchen, dining room and large lounge and bathroom. All very comfy, pity we were only there for a night. The pool looked nice but of course it was too cold, the staff were very friendly, and they arrange parking for $20 a day in the car park behind in Lonsdale St. If I wanted to be picky I would say that they could wash the windows more often, they were really dirty, but then there wasn't much to see out of them anyway except a car park. Love the 100 year old palm in the courtyard!

Room Tip: Away from Little Bourke Street, lots of early morning noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpossums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Travelpossums
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us at Quest Gordon Place. We agree - our beautiful property does have a fascinating history and character which is completely unique in Melbourne. It is a pity you were only here for one night - so we look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hopefully for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Quest for 2 nights on one of the "dungeon" rooms on the bottom floor, which are below street level. Actually, despite what some other reviewer said, there is reasonable light if you open the curtain; and you can open the windows if you like, for fresh air. The room was small, but quite adequate for a short stay, with a comfortable double bed. Excellent kitchen facilities were provided. Also iron plus board, which we needed to use.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is well located if you want to be within walking distance of the Melbourne Cricket Ground and nearby sporting venues. It also has close access to both up market and cheap eats. What suprised me most was how dirty the public areas were. Not only small bits of rubbish on the floor and in the lift but stone flooring is badly stained as if all manner of drinks and food had been spilt and not cleaned up. Maybe this type of stone can't easily be cleaned but that doesnt explain the rubbish. It certainly gave a very bad first immpression. My room was a reasonable size, it had a small kitchen so it may what the hotel describes as a one bedroom appartment. I am pleased to say the room was a lot cleaner. Lighting in the room and bathroom was rather poor and difficult read by but other than that everything i tried worked. The place has hugh potential, particulrly if you like older buildings with a bit of character so it is a pity it gives the impression of being neglected. I dont think there is any inhouse breakfast service given the sign in the lift suggesting breakfast across the road and i didnt see a bar or any where to eat inhouse although it doesnt purport to be a hotel but rather "apartments". If you can get it at the right price and you want this location its OK.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street this is party territory and noise can be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Quest Gordon Place is in a fabulous location in the centre of Chinatown close to theatres and shopping. The free tram is a short walk from the door. It has exceptional staff for whom nothing was a problem. They cheerfully replaced room cards when there was a problem, organised internet access and sorted out tricky invoicing for a trip that mixed business and pleasure.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable and the pool was a hit with the kids. The up/down stairs might be a problem for less able bodied guests or families with prams but this wasn't an issue for us. There were other rooms that may have been more accessible. The lift doesn't service the rooms on the bottom floor. The hotel has limitations on layout based on the historic nature of the building (which is lovely - if you like that sort of thing as I do).
Organising breakfast in the recommended cafe across the road needed better explanation as you have to get a voucher from Quest before you go (required a dash back to get one). Not far to go fortunately.
In all we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarcochilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in this lovely old hotel (recently acquired by Quest), for one night due to an evening at the theatre round the corner. From the moment we arrived until we departed nothing was too much trouble, and all the staff are to be highly commended for their friendly courteous service. The twin bedded apartment was beautifully clean, amply suppled, and very quiet. We were even woken to the sound of the birds singing in the courtyard and certainly no traffic noise whatsoever.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinkydi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear dinkydi26,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Quest Gordon Place. Providing our valued guests with excellent service is always our top priority. I will be sure to forward your wonderful feedback to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was my second business trip to Melbourne and the company put me in the Quest Gordon Place for the three weeks I was going to be there. What a wonderful change from my first trip. My first trip I spent two weeks in a typical hotel room. A place where the bed took up most of the room and all you had for meal preparation was a microwave and kettle.

My three weeks at Gordon Place was one of the best experiences I've had on a business trip. Staying in a beautiful old building (A National Trust Listed building no less) and having a full bedroom, with separate livingroom and kitchen was a dream. Being able to relax in the livingroom while watching TV or reading a book was fantastic. Being able to buy food and have a kitchen to prepare meals in was great also. Not having to go out every meal to find a restaurant to get a meal at was a great plus.

The staff was fantastic and I think they got to know me pretty well after three weeks. Any requests I had were taken care of promptly and with a smile. I must say that it was wonderful to walk in the front door of the hotel after a long day at work and have someone greet me and ask me how my day was.

For those people who complain about the noise. Yes, it does get noisy at times. However, you are in Melbourne in the CBD. People partying is going to happen. The garbage trucks need to get in to do their pickups before the city wakes up. Just like anything else, you just get used to it. It only took me a few days to get used to this noise and be able to sleep through it.

Overall, I enjoyed the location, the room and the friendly staff. I only hope that if I come down to Melbourne again, my company puts me back in Gordon Place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thunderstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Thunderstick,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Quest Gordon Place - it is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback and I shall be sure to share this with our team. We hope to see you back at our property again should you return to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#121 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Bourke
Quest on Bourke
#108 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#129 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Gordon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Gordon Place

Property: Quest Gordon Place
Address: 24 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Gordon Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Gordon Place - a quality National Trust listed property which offers a unique and stylish accommodation option in the heart of Melbourne CBD. We offer a range of studio, one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments surrounding a beautiful inner courtyard, located in the heart of the world-renowned theatre district and the top end of bustling Chinatown. All guests have access to our onsite restaurant Deli 1884, outdoor heated swimming pool and BBQ area. Our room rates include broadband internet access (300MB daily limit) and local telephone calls. ***PLEASE NOTE: As of 1st June 2015 Quest on Lonsdale and Quest Gordon Place will operate from one combined Reception Desk open 24 hrs 7 days per week - located at 43 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne. To check in for your booking at Quest Gordon Place please arrive with your booking documentation to 43 Lonsdale Street. *** This spacious property is ideal for the business and leisure traveller offering fully equipped apartments including kitchen and laundry facilities and an outdoor heated pool. This is a fully non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quest Gordon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Gordon Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing