We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Management when the going gets tough”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Causeway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Causeway
Ranked #125 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor Management when the going gets tough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Top position, quiet, good staff, clean and tidy but when things go wrong don't expect any help from management. Heat wave in Melbourne and no air conditioning. Not a good time for staff to tell us to leave the air con when it doesn't work. No assistance at all. No communication. TV didn't work on some channels and told that there was interference from other buildings. New aerial would help with this. Overall would not go again in case we were treated the same. Not good service at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    143
    78
    34
    24
See reviews for
47
141
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very clean rooms, air conditioning worked well, very competent staff and service.

The continental breakfast served on level 2 was ideal for us and saved us finding a café each morning.

The gym was adequate for some simple needs and the opportunity to work off some calories.

Located across the road from DJs, my wife loved this during the Xmas sales. Its central location made finding our way around very easy.

Room Tip: Levels 2 (breakfast area) and level 5 (gym) may get busier than levels 3 and 4. Our stay on level 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Excellent, central location which made it very easy to get around. Had a nice, clean room complete with a couple of apples, a couple of chocolates and some magazines to browse through. Very comfortable and enjoyable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravellerKRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms was clean, the bed super comfy. The room was too hot. Perhaps the air conditioner was faulty? It was hot in the city (26 degrees) but not overly hot to justify an air conditioner melt down. The fridge was leaking and a pool of water was at the base. The UHT milks were off. The ironing board had a cover but no lining so wasn't very good to use. The staff were warm and friendly. The location was fantastic (just a short walk from Etihad).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveller079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I found the hotel through one of the hotel booking websites during a very busy week in Melbourne. The location was perfect for my requirements and the price was right. The hotel is just off Little Collins St in one of Melbourne's many lane ways. Easy to find and well signposted. The reception staff were very pleasant throughout the stay. The overall presentation of the hotel shows it needs a lot of maintenance. There were lots of big chips out of corners, stained carpets and signs suggesting certain hotel facilities were either closed or off-limits. My room on the top floor was well furnished, very comfortable bed and the bathroom was excellent and clean. Quality linen and towels. My disappointment stems from the totally non-functioning air conditioning. The unit was very noisy - metal grinding against metal. There was no obvious cooling effect even after 4 hours. Unfortunately Melbourne was experiencing one of its warm nights. Fortunately there was a small sliding winding that opened so I managed to get a small amount of fresh air. In the morning I went to Level 2 to the restaurant for breakfast. Very limited offerings but adequate I guess. Unfortunately the coffee machine was "out of order" and the alternative offering was cheap sachets of coffee and teas. No apologies and the room was very warm. So, it's fair to guess the hotel air conditioning overall was not working. Great location, well presented rooms but no maintenance.

Room Tip: Find one with air conditioning that works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urrbrae_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Causeway-Melbourne, General Manager at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Good morning Rob,
Thank you for your review. As you did mention, during your stay, Melbourne had experienced hotter than normal weather, with heavy demand on hotel infrastructure. As a result, one of the hotel chiller units failed in the evening. Once we were aware of this, hotel maintainance and external contractors attended immediately and rectified the problem as quick as possible.
best regards
Paul Koenig - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night with my sister & mother on our way home from overseas. I read an article on the hotel in the Sunday Herald Sun singing it's praises so didn't think $279.50 for one night was unreasonable. The staff were friendly enough but the room was by far the dirtiest one I have ever seen, my mother was looking forward to a spa while my sister & I went out shopping, forget that it looked as if it had never been cleaned the jets were covered in soap scum & grime, (I can only imagine what the pipes look like) we stood on a towel to shower for fear of catching warts or fungus. There was mould everywhere in the bathroom, cracked tiles. The carpet in the bedroom was so dirty we had to keep our shoes on. An absolutely filthy rip off, we should have asked for our money back & stayed somewhere else. I would not stay here again & would definitely not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pondgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

A 3 night stay here with family last month. Really a long weekend & it longer would have been even better. Because we are just over 'The Ditch' in N.Z. makes this an inexpensive break.
Hotel Causeway was a great hotel to stay as we were right in the midst of the shops & coffee shops. A short stroll & we could hop on the City Circle 35 tram for a delightful tour around the inner city. We could hop off & on to explore places that took our fancy.
I loved Melbourne,its a mix of Victorian & Gothic Architecture & funky cafes & very nice shops.
When i go back Hotel Causeway will be my choice for a repeat stay.
Breakfast was included in the price which was a good start to the day,plus we had access to a coffee making machine after hours as well as tea & coffee in our rooms.

Room Tip: Only thing i would change would be for a view out the window. Our room overlooked the roofs of adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamdc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#102 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Property: Hotel Causeway
Address: 275 Little Collins St | entrance in Howey Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Causeway Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes. Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing