We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service was awful! Will not stay again.”
Review of Hotel Causeway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Causeway
Ranked #137 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The staff here were awful! When we arrived they did not greet us or even say hello, there were three of them at the desk talking amongst themselves and they looked up at us then went back to what they were doing..not a good first impression! And the girl who eventually looked up again (after at least 2 minutes of us waiting for someone to help us) didn't even say hello or smiled, she just said "name?!" very abruptly (you could tell she really enjoyed her job!). We were not impressed. Later our key cards were not working, so we went to reception and he just said sarcastically "you've got to do it slowly", but then he tried and couldn't even get them to work, he then grunted something to himself and walked back to reception without saying anything, no apologies for being rude or for the cards not working. Checkout the next day was the same, very abrupt, again the person didn't say hello or thank you, nothing. It's a shame because the room we had was nice enough (we booked the deluxe spa), the spa bath was lovely and spacious for two people, the bed was comfy, the room was clean but very noisy in the middle of the night and early hours in the morning. We will not be staying here again, we'll continue to go to our favourite hotel Novotel in St Kilda where the staff are lovely, the rooms are so much nicer and a warmer atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shell_32000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 368 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

This room was very basic!! But the bed was comfortable the shower had great pressure and best of all it was situated smack bang in the middle of Melbourne!!!! This is a cheap motel and you get what you pay for but is worth staying there for the position and after all we were only in the room to sleep of a night so it was very comfortable and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sapmmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you want to be in the middle of the city but still want a little haven to retreat to within easy reach of all the action, and if you're happy to overlook the slightly dated decor then this is the place for you. After a business stint in north Melbourne we wanted to head to the centre to kick off our holiday with a bit of sightseeing before a flight to Cairns, it was Grand Prix and Moomba festival time however so most places were booked up, but not to worry! This quirky Art Deco establishment came up trumps - the entrance is located in a lovely arcade where an eclectic mix of hidden bars, fashion boutiques and colourful graffiti-smothered alleyways give the area a creative atmosphere. The layout is simple, and there are no frills, yet it is a cut above the backpacker digs posing as hotels that you may find yourself in without a bit of research. A small lobby houses bench seating and a lift to rooms where complimentary fruit and chocolate add a welcoming touch. Breakfast is a self service buffet in an unexpectedly well laid out set up and is plentiful. The roof terrace is also a pleasant place to enjoy a glass of wine. The immediate surrounding areas are great for urban photographers, make sure you head to the back of the arcade and turn left down the alley where a tiny standing-room only bar is hidden.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Causeway on a recent girl’s shopping weekend. This hotel is one of our favourites as it’s so close to great shopping and restaurants. Being a smaller hotel it is also quieter than the larger ones we have stayed at in the CBD.

The staff are always welcoming and friendly, the beds extremely comfortable, and the rooms are spacious. Continental breakfast was included in our room rate and the selection of cereal, yoghurt, fruit, juice, pastries/toast and tea/coffee provided a good start to the day.

Overall it’s a great hotel but there were two issues that need to be mentioned. The strong smell of cooking in the foyer and corridors was overpowering and unpleasant at times. I assume the smell is from the Italian restaurant next door so better ventilation systems need to be installed. Housekeeping seems to have slipped since our last visit. There was a thick layer of grey dust and debris around the skirting boards which was very noticeable with the dark carpet. There was also a large suspicious smear on the back of the bathroom door which I cleaned myself. I realise with the door open the cleaner would not have seen it but it perhaps a little more attention to detail is required.

I've given this hotel a very good rating as hopefully the above issues can be resolved as the hotel is a little gem in the heart of Melbourne

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Causeway-Melbourne, General Manager at Hotel Causeway, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi Meg & Luke,
Thank you for your review. I have emphasised to the housekeeping department to be more attentive to the little things when cleaning. We must ensure that all aspects of a room clean are completed before allowing guests access.
many thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Causeway.
Best regards
Paul Koenig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had two nights at the Hotel Causeway recently and really enjoyed it. Service at the counter was friendly and timely. The room was clean, bathroom renovated, and there were lovely little touches like complimentary chocolate and fruit. Our deal included breakfast. It was not huge, but we were very happy with it. Again, the staff member was lovely. The location is fabulous! close to everything we wanted to do. I would totally recommend Hotel Causeway to others

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank LibbyBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Tucked away in Howey Place just off Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway is a small boutique establishment offering plain but spacious rooms. On a higher floor at our request, ours was blissfully quiet, immaculately clean, and serviced every day. Complimentary chocolates and fruit on our arrival was a nice touch. The hotel offers a generous continental breakfast, which is included in the tariff.

During our visit, the roof terrace was closed for renovations, but Melbourne’s winter weather would have precluded lingering too long outside anyway. A well-fitted gym with a steam room is on the same level.

Front desk personnel are friendly and efficient. Hotel Causeway is perfectly positioned for exploring Melbourne’s CBD lanes, gracious arcades and shopping opportunities. We would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor to minimise noise from Howey Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 423JohnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

They say location is everything well the causeway has that it also has friendly and efficient staff
We really enjoyed the continental breakfast and the bed was firm and comfortable the room was good size and the safe was very handy. The thing that disappointed us was the housekeeping
The bed was only pulled up and not made The bathroom wasn't cleaned properly for eight days.
Glasses cups spoons,tea ,coffee and milk were not replaced every day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#115 of 161 in Melbourne
657 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#92 of 161 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#107 of 161 in Melbourne
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#91 of 161 in Melbourne
2,349 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,934 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins St | entrance in Howey Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Causeway Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $93 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes. Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing