We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and quiet as well” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Causeway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Causeway
Ranked #122 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location and quiet as well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Decided to book with this hotel as they were in a really good location, and the room price was cheap/average for Melbourne CBD. My room was very clean and tidy, quiet, and also good sized. The room came with complimentary apples and chocolate coated macadamia nuts, which was fantastic. My only issue was with the curtains not blocking out enough light to sleep properly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator as it makes a bit of noise. I recommend room 530 as it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank po-purri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    143
    77
    34
    24
See reviews for
47
141
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Quiet location in Laneway off Little Collins St. Close to Flinders St and very central to all the activities. Good size clean rooms. 24 hour reception. Staff were very nice and helpful. No complaints. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gouldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had a one night stay here on Monday as was in town on business. Causeway hotel is centrally located in a small laneway off Little Collins Street. Great location near many cafes, bars etc and also shops, but best of all - very quiet - no early morning rubbish trucks or traffic noise. The hotel itself is small and intimate. Huge bed, large room with bathrobes, etc. Great service and a terrific continental breakfast included in my tariff. Complimentary fruit and choc macadamias was a lovely bonus! Will be back next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a Tuesday. Causeway Hotel is situated in a little lane way off little Collins street. Lady on check in was lovely and let us check in a couple of hours early. Loved the room, basic but clean and modern. Even came with complimentary apples and choc coated macadamias which was a nice touch. Mini bar had reasonable prices. The lift was right across the hall, but we got no noise at all. We received the continental breakfast free in a deal, it was lovely. Situated on the second floor it included Cereal, toast, spreads, juices, yoghurt, danishes, fresh fruits, meats, cheeses etc. noticed that they charge $18 pp for this breakfast normally which I think is expensive so were lucky to see it included. The location is good for shopping etc. staff were friendly and knowledgeable. We had to
Pay $50 hold on credit card on check in which is reasonable but as of this morning it still hasn't been released back (Thursday) hopefully this fixes itself and is just a timing thing :) we will definately be back, we got a great deal through Ratestogo only $110 night with 20% off voucher

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaggysonlyshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had such a great stay at the Hotel Causeway. It was exactly what I was looking for: somewhere small, neat today right smack bang in the centre of Melbourne. We were on a girls shopping weekend so anyone else planning such a trip should stay here. We got a great deal through a website for a twin room incl. breakfast for $125 per night which was amazing. I thought the hotel might be tricky to find as it was tucked in an alleyway but it was fine, easy to spot. Check in was swift and we even got our room a few hours early which was great. The twin room was actually quite large (enough for our luggage and our daily accumulation of shopping bags!). The beds were comfy although one of the beds on wheels kept travelling during the night but that was probably down to the occupant!

The bathroom was a great size but the shower was a bit tricky to get the right temperature so that did require a bit of tampering with. The room itself was clean but I think it could just do with a lick of paint here and there and where the carpet was shaded cream, you could see some of the marks (suggest it just be an all round plain dark carpet). Breakfast was adequate for me. Not massive but enough to keep you going with a good selection of fruits, breads, juices and tea and coffee.

The location was just awesome - right in the heart of Melbourne, opposite the David Jones entrance and close to plenty of other laneways, cafes, bars and shops. This is what sells the place and I would recommend it to any ladies out there wanting a great weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam_Evans75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

It's a great place for resting in peace and perfect for those people who love shopping. The room was cozy and relaxing. The housekeeping work is excellent! There's no dust when we came back for exploring Melbourne!!! It has a great breakfast with bread, cheese, meat and a good coffee maker machine. Be sure that the person in the lobby says Good Morning every time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is terrific although it's located in a lane way so you have to walk you bags a few shops in from the road.
We booked the loft room, you don't want to use the bathroom during the night as the trek down the metal staircase makes for loud footsteps and is very tricky. The biggest problem was that the lift makes continuous noise all night so sleep was broken to say the least. Even though the location was great we won't return as the room are very old and noisy.

Room Tip: as far away from the lift as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kt3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#98 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Property: Hotel Causeway
Address: 275 Little Collins St | entrance in Howey Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Causeway Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes. Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing