We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Causeway
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$133
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$99
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$168
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$101
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$129
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveler rating
61
151
90
42
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
151
90
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavid jonescollins streetbreakfast roomgreat locationlane waysbreakfast was includedgood sizecentral locationyour doorstepstaff were friendly and helpfulenjoyed my staytwin roomcbdcafesgymtransporttheatre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 374 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Right in the heart of the CBD. Room was spacious and well fitted out. Staff friendly throughout.

Got a great rate through another booking site (not via the hotels website) that included breakfast as well which made it all even better value for money.

Our room overlooked little collins and we stayed on a weekend - have to say didnt notice any noise being an issue. We were also on 2nd floor and didnt notice any noise issue generated from the breakfast room - that being an issue that other travellers have commented upon before.

Cannot fault it at all. Comfy rooms, great price, right in the middle of Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Booked three nights at the Hotel Causeway for a business trip, mainly because I needed to be right in the CBD. I haven't had much luck with CBD hotels in Melbourne before, but the reviews on Tripadvisor helped with the decision, and I was pleasantly surprised.

The place doesn't look like much; it really just looks like a hole in the wall, but my room was spacious and very comfortable. It was surprisingly quiet as well, and the blinds are good, so they block out a great deal of the city noise. It helps that the hotel is kind of tucked away.

It was a nice touch to find two fresh apples provided in the room.

The included continental breakfast was great. I often find myself overeating like crazy when breakfast is included, but on this occasion, I just found good quality breads, cereals and drinks with a minimum of fuss, and it was much easier to eat sensibly.

This place has it all; great location, excellent service and comfortable beds. The only downside was that the pillows were a bit on the thin side. And if that's my only gripe, I think I'll be back here the next time I want to be in or near Melbourne's CBD.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This low rise hotel is situated in a great location. Shopping and eats all very close and easy to get to MCG and Ethiad stadium. The main entrance is tucked away on Howey Place and some rooms look over Little Collins St. Because of the location there is street noise, if this troubles you you might want to consider a room away from the street. The hotel has a boutique hotel feel about it, the room I stayed in was comfortable and had everything I needed for an overnight stay.
If you're looking for location and comfort think about this hotel particularly if you can get a special price with continental breakfast included, which makes it a really affordable option for it's location in the CBD.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandfl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Unfortunately we did not enjoy our Stay at Hotel Causeway. We have stayed here before and loved the Boutique feel, however this time the rooms were very average and the beds were TERRIBLE!!
The staff were pleasant however some were quite rude. Overall we enjoyed the fact the the hotel was so close to the city, however we would not stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmD888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here, an absolutely perfect location for my 3 day shopping trip. If you book somewhere smack back in the middle of the CBD clearly you're not going to be lulled to sleep by the sound of lapping waves or awake to birdsong people - its a low rise,self rated 4 star hotel tucked away down one of Melbourne's many great alleys people so there's going to be a bit of noise. I packed ear plugs although didn't need to use them. The continental buffet breakfast was great and the staff were lovely, particularly a lady in reception called Gade who couldn't have been more warm & helpful. Wasn't expecting the white robe & slippers so that was a great touch. Loved the little roof garden too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews