We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #68 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed in room 544 during July. Let me first say all the other reports are accurate so I'm not going to ramble on. This is a nice hotel in a good location, but we must have had a room that hadn't been refurbished yet. There was scuff makes on the walls, but the room was very well cleaned. First thing I noticed was an old analog TV that could not pick up the digital TV channels. The bed was comfortable and the towels were a nice size and thick and the soaps and shampoos were nice smelling. The Internet if you have a laptop is free for three hours over a 24 hour period. Each day you have to ring up for a new code. They advertise cheap mini bar and bar prices, but I didn't find them that cheap. The hotel looks like they are set up for the business clientele. This is a 4 1/2 star hotel, the amenities they provide might give it those stars, but the rooms don't feel like it. I thought it was over priced, and for that reason and I would only stay here again if I could get a better deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonnieMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,652
    1,957
    842
    292
    160
See reviews for
602
2,002
376
1,188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I booked the Rendezvous through Wotif for a very good rate. The location cannot be faulted. As others have said, the hotel is in a very old building and the communal areas - lobby and atrium - are very lovely indeed. Some of the rooms have been recently refurbished and when you walk along the corridors they look smart and clean. The bar is nice enough with reasonably priced drinks and a happy hour.

Check in staff were completely hopeless, necessitating a visit from the manager to sort out what was a very straightforward booking without any unusual requests. Initially they were unable to find my booking and blamed Wotif. I had also asked for twin beds but ended up with a double and this needed to be sorted out later.

The main problem is that the rooms are very small indeed. Our room was in the corner, looking out at an office block and half the window was blanked out as there was a lift shaft outside. This meant the room was also dark and felt even smaller than it was. However, it was very clean, the beds were comfortable and I liked the lights to indicate whether you wanted the room made up or not. It is disappointing in this day and age to not have Wi-Fi in the rooms but a plug-in internet connection but at least it was free for 3 hours per day. It is also disappointing that this is yet another hotel that does not take any notice of its own environmental policy. I religiously put the towels back on the rail (I don't wash them every day at home so why would I want them washed daily when travelling?) Yet, they got changed daily. The mini bar was well priced and tea and coffee making facilities were provided.

The bathroom is really tiny and poorly designed. Water ends up all over the floor. The shower supplies are good though.

However, the most irritating thing about the room was the automatic light in the bathroom and lobby. These worked off a sensor but stayed on for a very short time. You could only reactivate them by moving towards the sensor again so hopeless if you were trying to take a shower and constantly being plunged into darkness. Trying to put your make-up on or drying your hair was also a disaster.

So, long and short of it - great choice of hotel if location is the most important thing to you and you do not want to spend a lot of time in your room

PS To the people who have complained on here about lugging their bags up the short case of steps at the front of the hotel - there is a (very obvious) lift available, just beside the steps!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed at Rendezvous Melbourne on an overnight business trip. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the public areas and conference rooms exude the old world charm of this wonderful heritage building. I stayed in a newly refurbished room which was modern and very well appointed (the bedroom & bathroom weren't large but had everything I required, and they were immaculate). Very comfy beds and no street noise.
The staff were attentive and location was fantastic, a short walk to all of the great attractions of the CBD. Railway station across the street and a few minutes walk to Southbank for fabulous restaurants.
Would I stay here again? ...most definitely! Beautiful hotel, fabulous location, great staff!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alice springs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

A great hotel, we have stayed here in standard rooms and now also a suite. Staff are always helpful and the place is always clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wensaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We were attracted to the Rendezvous as it had been refurbished and affordable and as we had a 3 day seminar to attend (plus we had 2 extra days to shop) it was in a great convenient location with ease of access to southbank and obviously the city. We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms and it was okay - extremely compact - so if you stay, be sure to be spending all your time out and about. You can certainly hear the neighbours coming "home" but I am not a light sleeper, so it was a minor distraction then back to zzzzzzzs. It would certainly suit young people and those wanting a refurbished hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I chose this hotel as I needed a place to overnight following the Sound Relief Concert and this was the cheapest hotel, with the best location I could find. I found the room adequately sized and the hotel has a tram stop practically right out the front which was great. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Clean, comfortable but view out of window was of an office block where people where working so I had to close curtains to have privacy.
Corridors a little noisy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurbanGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 160 in Melbourne
3,606 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,025 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing