We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$93
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$181
$175
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$157
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$147
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$189
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$246
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$200
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$172
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,686)
Filter reviews
5,686 results
Traveler rating
1,942
2,231
977
338
198
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,942
2,231
977
338
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationheritage roomflinders streetold world charmdeluxe roomrooms are smallcentral locationtrain stationsouth bankvalet parkingpublic transportbuffet breakfastwould stay againshort stayyarra rivercrown casinoconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
4,609 - 4,614 of 5,686 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Excellent location with trams and trains outside the door Staff were friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful old hotel. We delighted in the public areas with the large spaces, beautiful timber and stained glass. Our room was fine but we found being unable to open the window and access fresh air dissapointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Sally D,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here with my wife for 6 nights during the Grand Prix week and could not have been happier. We arrived at an ungodly hour at 6.30am to drop our bags off so we could explore. The welcome from the reception staff was very warm and helpful. Our check in wasn't until 2pm but i was told we would receive a text to inform us our room was ready should we wish to catchup on some rest. All the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and greeted us with a bright and happy "good morning" or "good evening" I could not fault any of them. The double superior room was very clean and was not lacking in anything. The bed provided a great sleep after busy days and our room had no outside noise at all. I doubt there would be a better location in Melbourne with Trams outside the door and a city to explore. Would i stay there again ?, Definitely, wh a great week we have started to plan on returning for the Grand Prix week in 2015 and will have no hesitation on returning to the Rendezvous Grand

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomGordon1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear TomGordon1962,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lovely foyer and the stained glass is just beautiful. Rooms a little on the small side though. Not a lot of space for two bags. Location was excellent and staff helpful and friendly. Bar staff do need to be clearer as to what wine and beer is included in happy hour. Our selections obviously weren't on the list and didn't realize this until we came to finalize our account. Overall though very good. Louise

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We didn't and our view another ugly building.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Louise H,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We agree that some room layouts are smaller than others, and being 100 years old this year and heritage listed, we have a large variety of room configurations available. We have attempted to ensure that the layout of rooms are in the most practical and comfortable layout possible whilst ensuring we provide the amenities our guests require.

We have also reviewed your feedback with our Bar team and have taken corrective actions to ensure that this will not recur.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is an old hotel building in Australian terms. (Say 100 years old). The entrance foyer has warmth and character and the property is well maintained. The standard rooms are small but well appointed. For instance there was a desk and chair in my room but no room for a lounge chair or coffee table. My room was fine for me as I was on a business trip. I would not recommend for couples or families.
I had a room service dinner and buffet breakfast in the dining room. The food was fine but in both cases not hot enough. Staff were efficient and professional.

Room Tip: This is a 100 year old building and the rooms are small compared to a comparable modern hotel. Ask for a room with good natural light and as large as they have available in the room category.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Alan S,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We have reviewed your feedback regarding the food with our Food & Beverage team and have taken corrective actions to ensure that this will not recur.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wonderful old world charm, fantastic service, yes the rooms are small as is the bathroom, but as you are only sleeping there not a problem. Breakfast was great. Convenient for walking most places, trams at the front door if you want to jump the city circle tram.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 500Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear 500Steph,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews