We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #67 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a great location for the city and also Southbank. Staff were personable, welcoming and helpful. Room, although small, was impeccably clean and well serviced every day. Conference facilities and catering were excellent. A pleasant surprise, and a change from the impersonal service usually on offer in Melbourne hotels.

Room Tip: Most rooms look out onto brick walls. Rooms on the eastern side seem to be the ones with views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ozzietraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear ozzietraveller09,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you. We are also pleased to note that our conferene facilites and food was to the highest standards and to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,023)
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,969 - 3,975 of 5,024 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

I've now stayed at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel 4 times and feel like they are responding to the reviews. The location is excellent for newbies to Melbourne. My stay was also part of a conference which I believe was the perfect venue for food and venue. It's not necessarily a place I would bring families but definitely the spot for business and couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building. It's much quieter than the back.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Keira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Keira L,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you. We are also pleased to note that the conference room and the food was of the highest standard and to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My bff and I had a great long weekend in this hotel, the concierge and reception were lovely and the location is just great, within walking distance to all the famous laneways and streets of Melbourne. I thought it would be quite noisy with the location being so close to Flinders St Station but there was minimal noise, although the rooms are quite small and it was easy to hear the people in the next room. All in all a perfectly comfortable room and everybody was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lisajay1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Lisajay1305,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our second three-night stay in this lovely Hotel, this time in Heritage room 438, which was exquisitely furnished and included a luxurious en-suite. We experienced excellent service everywhere, from the friendly Reception staff to the expert waiters in Straits Restaurant where we enjoyed delicious buffet breakfasts and a superb a la carte dinner. The Traveller's Bar is a gem also - we enjoyed a delicious light meal and drink here on one night. The Rendezvous Grand enjoys a very convenient city location, close to trams, buses and trains, so our daily visits to the Melbourne Flower and Garden Show were trouble free. I hope we will have the opportunity of staying here again.

Room Tip: I loved the superior heritage room better than the "De Luxe"one we stayed in last time
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ratter1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear ratter1942,

Thank you for your continued patronage and comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have stayed @ this hotel many times. The reason I keep coming back is that it really is a nice place to stay, from the rooms to the service and the fantastic location. I highly recommend this nice place to stay ,the rendezous hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawrencedelosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear lawrencedelosa,

Thank you for your continued patronage and comments after your most recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had yet another enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights in July 2011. They had hotel front renovations happening when we arrived. Got shown to our room and requested a change as there was scaffolding and workman right outside the window. New room was marginally better although so hot as we couldnt work the air conditioning. Centrally located Hotel though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellybaby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Wellybaby86,

Thank you for your continued patronage and comments after your most recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the regrettable inconvenience caused due to the improper functioning of the room air-conditioning. Please feel free to contact me at s.kakarlapudi@rendezvoushotels.com and it would be my pleasure to personally coordinate your room reservations and allocate the room which suits you the best.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very convenient City location, close to trams and Flinders St station rail links, Spencer Station and Shuttle terminal from Airport was less convenient, especially as the trams were diverted for the GP traffic. Small but comfortable room with no view, great little bathroom, noisy and too cool air-conditioning, would not adjust to warmer settings. Superb breakfasts in basement restaurant as was the dinner there. We LOVED the décor, and attentive service.
This is our 2nd visit, and we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank magic1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear magic1an,

Thank you for your continued patronage and comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,659 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,173 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $103 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing