We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Perfect location close to everything that Melbourne has to offer. Excellent room with view over the city, very comfortable double bed and spot clean bathroom. Very helpful staff. Stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The only negative was the corridor noise when a few families arrived and kept running between rooms on opposite sides of the corridor. Despite this I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely book it again for my next stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jg_travel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear jg_travel51,

Thank you for your comments via Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,482 - 4,488 of 5,424 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Room adequate, bathroom pokey, location great. I had to contact the facility twice to have my security deposit (paid by credit card) returned. The first contact I was informed that it takes between 5 - 10 working days for refund (obviously they checked the name of guest for any difficulties with the condition of the room etc). After the 12th working day I contacted again and low and behold was told that a credit would be authorised!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Helen C,

Thank you for your comments via Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. We have also noted your comment on the pre-authorisation held on your credit card in anticipation of your expenditure during your stay. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by the unexpected delay.

Dear Helen C, thank you once again for your comments and please be assured of our best efforts to continue to deserve your confidence in us. Please feel free to contact me at s.kakarlapudi@rendezvoushotels.com and it would be my pleasure to personally coordinate your future room reservations.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My room was quite small but comfortable. The only negatives are that if people walk and talk in the corridors late at night the noise can be heard in the bedroom, and the internet connection was slow. However, when I had a problem with the shower flooding over the floor, it was fixed immediately. (It was a blocked drain). The staff were friendly with proximity to city, railway and art centres terrific. I would certainly stay there again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and upgrade to a better style room perhaps if you want roominess and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henry071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Henry071,

Thank you for your comments via Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We agree that some room layouts are smaller than others, and being 100 years old this year and heritage listed, we have a large variety of room configurations available. We have attempted to ensure the layout of rooms are in the most practical and comfortable layout possible.

We are also pleased to note that our friendly team was readily available to assist you during your stay. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Whilst the room was quite pokey, after a couple nights it got homely. The bed is comfortable, the amenities are decent and the location is great! I would have liked more light so next time a city view room would be my option. Breakfast options were vast and quite pleasant :)

Room Tip: Opt for a higher room (preferably facing South towards the Yarra River) as there is limited light in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Travel_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Luv2Travel_Syd,

Thank you for your comments via Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. We are also glad that you enjoyed our daily buffet breakfast. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We have also noted your comments about the view from the room and strongly suggest that you reserve our South Bank River View rooms for all your future reservations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have stayed here because it is a very convenient location- short walking distance to trains, trams and great lane way eateries.
Came for the Myer Christmas windows experience with our daughter- will return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gossgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Gossgirls,

Thank you for your comments via Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you and your daughter had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel room is new, very clean bathroom, very comfortable bed and great service ! Easy access to the city, closer to everything. I will go back to the hotel for next trip and Highly recommended for friends looking for 4.5 stars hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AAA831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear AAA831,

Thank you for your comments via Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very comfortable, friendly and the staff were courteous and building very well updated for such an old building. We will be visiting again as required. Flinders Street location is central to all Melbourne city activities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Robert D,

Thank you for your comments via Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
8,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $91 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing