We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #66 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My mother & I stayed here last week for 2 nights. We booked the room via agoda and got a good rate. The hotel pics do it no justice. This hotel is gorgeous! The multiple reception areas are picturesque. The staff was very professional & friendly. It is located 2 shakes (less than 1 min) from everything. The tram, the train station, shopping, all right there. We walked to everything and rode the free tram when we were tired of walking. We arrived around 11am so we left our bags at the front desk and started walking. When we returned a little after 3pm, our room wasn't ready so they put us in a different room which had 3 beds. The room & bathroom were very spacious. Comfy beds. And when I turned tv on, the screen showed a personalized welcome note with my name. Wow. I know it's simple to do, but for the $ we paid, that was a wow moment. I was told to ask for a room on the heritage side, but it would be for an additional fee. I have nothing negative to say about this place, except that it must be a really old building because the floor creaked and we were on the new side. But no worries. The room was quiet, clean, affordable & convenient. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoprj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Shoprj,

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. The team always enjoys hearing back from guests who have had a great experience during their stay.

It was pleasing to hear that you also took advantage of the centralized location of the Rendezvous Grand Hotel as this is one of our many popular features.

We look forward to having you stay here when you are again in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    1,448
    624
    228
    125
See reviews for
419
1,423
284
863
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and myself stayed here on the weekend as part of a mystery flight package.
Check in was easy, and Jamie the young lady serving us was a pleasure to deal with.
Yes the rooms are a little small but since we were not there to spend time in the room it did not worry us.
Housekeeping were wonderful and always greeted us as we left our room.
David in the bar was very friendly, and made everyone feel very welcome,
I have only 2 issues where I thought the hotel was not up to standard and they are that we were told breakfast was served till 10:30am, but at 9:45 the staff went around letting everyone know they would be finishing serving the food at 10am.
We were fine as we were just enjoying our coffee, but we did notice one young couple come down at 9:55 and have to rush getting breakfast. More communication between the restaurant and front desk will easily fix this issue.
The other disappointment was they had an anti pasto platter, advertised every where which was described as "showcasing the best of Victorian produce" we were really looking forward to this and had it just before leaving the hotel. I really do not know how they could say it showcased anything. What we received was very different to the advertised picture
We received feta, thin sliced ham and turkey, black olives, 2 grissini bread sticks and some chargrilled veges, the veges were the best part. To us the rest looked and tasted like they had gone to the deli at Woolworths. There was no explanation of what region the food came from and certainly did not have the procuitto or meat kebab displayed on the advertising.
Apart fron those 2 critisms the hotel was a lovely place to stay.
The free city site tram just outside the door is great, and leaves every 15 minutes

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theboydeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Theboydeys,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on the level of service our staff provide. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be welcomed by the team – those specifically mentioned especially.

The full buffet breakfast served daily in the restaurant is from 6am to 10am on weekdays and 6.30am to 11am on weekends, so I apologise for any miscommunication regarding this.

I was disappointed to hear that the antipasto platter did not meet your expectations. The advertising describing this menu item isn’t specific on what items it includes as our executive chef selects the freshest produce available daily. As such, it can differ from day to day. Staff delivering this platter to guests should indicate it’s relevance to Victorian produce, so I again apologise for any miscommunication in this regard.

Thank you again for your kind words regarding the team, and your feedback has been acknowledged to ensure consistent communication.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Reception service was excellent and efficient.

My room was beautifully renovated. The only thing I found strange about it was the bathroom seemed to be a bit ill-fitting. It was also renovated but the bath/shower was cramped behind the door. The room had a large wardrobe though, so maybe different travellers might appreciate the wardrobe space instead.

Other than that, the 24 hour check in was necessary and appreciated. Great service. Over all, very happy with my stay in this beautiful old building on Flinders Street.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank caz_770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Caz_770,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the refurbishment of the rooms. Being a heritage listed building we are limited somewhat by the layout of the rooms and in most cases are unable to extend on the room size. During our recent refurbishments we have aimed to use the space available to us in the most efficient manner to ensure the best possible outcome for our guests. I do apologise that the bathroom did not meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the near future.

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel staff was very professional and helpful. Hotel room was clean and a good size. However our windows faced in to a concrete wall. The location for the hotel was excellent. We went and saw King Kong and it was a close walk there and to all of the other places we wanted to see.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DarlingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear DarlingH,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of you stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. It was a pleasure to read that the hotel staff were professional and helpful to you and this is what we strive for at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. When you are back in Melbourne again the Team and I would love to welcome you back for another special stay.

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great hotel, very beautiful building with probably the best location in Melbourne CBD. Our room was rather small but it didn't bother us. You can get free wifi (a bit slow but if you are on a vacation the most you'll do is check email, not download movies). I liked the view from our window. I mostly loved this hotel for its convenience. The staff were very, very friendly and helpful. We tried food from their cafe and it was delicious. This hotel can't be beat for its value and convenience. I'll probably stay here again if ever in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Amna B,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. I was delighted to read your review and the lovely comments regarding our staff being so friendly and helpful and our perfect location in the centre of Melbourne.

I was also happy to read that you enjoyed your dining experience in the hotel. The food and beverage team work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests have the best of customer service.
The team and I would love to welcome you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel if you are passing through Melbourne again.

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Arrived at hotel early (11am) for our 2 night stay. Staff were very acommodating, friendly and just wonderful and they changed our rooms to ensure we could check in early. The room was on the 9th floor (not much view) small but Oh so clean and comfortable and the reburished bathroom was amazing. The bed was comfortable and the heavy curtains ensured you could have a sleep-in if you wished. Location was fabulous - walking distance to almost everywhere in Melbourne or trams and trains right at front door. We went to the Regeant Theatre to see the Musical King Kong and it was such an easy walk with no problems walking home late at night. Resturants and shops close and handy with walking distance to Victoria markets and the Botanical gardens. I would definately stay here again - price of accommodation very resonable

Room Tip: Ask the friendly Staff to help with right room for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janicecolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Janicecolli,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. I was delighted to read how great the staff was in accommodating your early arrival and making you feel welcome. Our location at 328 Flinders Street as you mentioned is ideal to explore Melbourne as we are so close to all the best that Melbourne has to offer.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the very near future.

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#52 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,845 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing