We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably wont stay here again....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #65 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably wont stay here again....”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Breakfast apalling. Had it in my room - fruit was dried out, water for cup of tea was cold so had to boil the kettle. Toast was cold...only one butter for 2 doorsteps. Small milk for tea and cereal. No cutlery. Not worth the price. Thought I had booked a bigger room but it was tiny. There was an adjoining room and I could hear everything from the room next door. However the staff on the desk were absolutely excellent. Cant say the same for the Barman. We were given $20 vouchers for not using housekeeping so we decided to have a drink in the bar - one rum and coke and one cappucino. Apparently that was $20 as we received no change. Also saw the barman make up a cocktail for another client and the licked the straw he had stirred it with.

Just another run of the mill hotel in a beautiful building.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LouBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    1,873
    811
    281
    153
See reviews for
572
1,923
368
1,139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I chose the Rendezvous Grand recently as I was attending a conference in the city. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. While the rooms are a little on the small size everything else was well appointed and comfortable. The hotel turned out to be the perfect location to stay as the venue for the conference was next door.
The staff were helpful and very welcoming. They organised for me to store my bag while at the conference.
Overall it was a pleasant stay and one that I would certainly do again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mary F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel.

We could not be happier to receive your comments about your stay and our staff - I have passed them on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay.

Best regards,
Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for the weekend to take in the sights of the town - being located right next to Flinders Street Station, as well as being right next to handy tram stops, made it the perfect launching point for our excursions. On the first night we did discover a bit of a flaw with the shower as the open design was prone to letting water flow out in to the rest of the bathroom area, but aside from this the service was prompt and the cleaners kept the room neat and tidy without fuss. If you're leaving town later in the day, take advantage of checking your luggage at the front desk so you can enjoy the day without hiring an expensive locker at the train station.

Room Tip: The Superior Saver room bathroom had some problems with drainage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrewn272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Andrew N,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. We are delighted that the location was perfect to your needs and you were able to explore everything that Melbourne has to offer. I am also delighted to read that our Housekeeping attendants provided a good service for you. I will be passing on your comments to the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the very near future.

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We both found the Grand Hotel to be very centrally located to all the sights that we wanted to experience. It was a short walk to the free city shuttle and over to Southbank. We went to the Regent Theatre to see King Kong and that was a short walk from the hotel as well.
Our room in the Rendezvous Grand was clean and comfie and very quiet even though our room was facing onto Flinders Street. The room was compact but had everything we needed. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the lobby and adjoining areas to be quite beautiful. We definitely would stay there again and would recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RandL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear RandL2013,

Thank you for your review of the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. As you have mentioned our location is perfectly located so central to all that Melbourne has to offer. I hope you enjoyed the show in the Regent Theatre.

Thank you also for your kind words in relation to our staff. They are delighted that they could make your stay a special one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

In general, the hotel was ok. I find it hard to see how it justifies the money, but that could be because the rate for a single is the same for two people (my friend ended up not being able to make it). The bathroom was pretty small, water pressure not great. There was a crack in the wall (covered by the curtain), not a lot in the way of amenities.
The room was however clean and tidy, the housekeeping good.
I probably wouldn't stay here again for the price, especially given there was no compassionate discount for my friend unable to make it due to the bushfires.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MAC123894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear MAC123894,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. It was disappointing to read your review and to see that you had issues with the room you were allocated. The issues with water pressure and the crack in the wall will be investigated and I thank you for bringing this to my attention.

With regards the rates for your room. Our rates are for the room and not the number of people that occupy the room. We do not have a single occupancy rate at the hotel.
We sincerely do hope that you will return to the hotel in the future. If you would like to book or to discuss this further please feel free to contact me on n.blundell@rendezvoushotels.com

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Public areas were very well presented. Asked for a room with a good view and got one on the top floor with great views, so was very happy with that. Room was very small (similar to that of a cruise ship cabin) but ok for a short stay. There was a suspect looking stain on the sash that runs along the foot of the bead but I just took it off the bed. Booked the Grand Reveal package which included 2 drinks and 3 canapes. I was disapointed that the 2 drinks only included either house beer or wine, no spirits included. Also was disapointed that the free canapes only included the cheap ones in the menu (despite there being no mention of this when we booked) and when we went to order the canapes before we went out to the movies we were told it would take up to 45 minutes to get them, which meant we missed out which was a shame. Also the guy working on the bar gave of the vibe that he would much rather be somewhere else. We also had the buffet breakfast which was good (no comparison to Rendezvous in Singapore but for Melbourne it was ok).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stuntdriver_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear stuntdriver_paul,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. I am delighted to see that we were able to accommodate your request for a high floor and a great view over the Yarra River. Being a heritage listed building we are limited somewhat by the layout of the rooms and in most cases are unable to extend on the room size. During our recent refurbishments we have aimed to use the space available to us in the most efficient manner to ensure the best possible outcome for our guests. I do apologise that the room did not meet your expectations.

I was disappointed to read about your experience in the bar and the issues with your canapés. We do always like to advise our guests if there is going to be a delay in some service and for this I apologise and I can assure you we will be addressing this with our food and beverage team to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a gorgeous old hotel with wood panelling and high ornate ceilings. Our room was a good size with twin beds and the bathroom was modern with a very large shower and great water pressure. The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel is in a good location being an easy walk to Southbank and Crown, and there is a tram stop for the tourist tram right outside the hotel doors. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Alison C,

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

I am very proud to say that our hotel celebrates its 100th anniversary this year which gives the hotel its original heritage character.

It is more than pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and our location. Our team makes every effort to look after our valued guests and your positive feedback is welcomed by all.

We hope to welcome you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne soon.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 159 in Melbourne
3,472 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,735 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing