We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #67 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a one-night break. The Yarra view room was clean and modern although, as with many refurbished old hotels the room was on the small side. Decent facilities though, and robes are always welcome. If you can get a good price then this is a good option for a city break. Those travelling with lots of luggage, staying more than a couple of nights, or who like to practice highland dancing will find the rooms a bit cramped.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jerry_Cornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Jerry_Cornell,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers here on tripadvisor and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. In response to your comments regarding our room size we understand that the configuration of some of our rooms can be smaller than others.

Being a heritage listed building we are limited somewhat by the layout of the rooms and in most cases are unable to extend on the room size. During our recent refurbishments we have aimed to use the space available to us in the most efficient manner to ensure the best possible outcome for our guests. I do apologise that the bathroom did not meet your expectations.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the near future.

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,017)
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,200 - 4,206 of 5,018 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne was exactly what we expected. It was right amongst everything you needed- trams and trains right outside and airport bus not far from the hotel. The customer service from the reception was amazing, he spent lots of time with my daughter and myself telling us where to go, what trams to take what places to eat at etc. We had a room with two single beds and the view wasn't great ( another building ) but the room was spotless and had what we needed. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Emily W,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular the service from the reception team.

We look forward to having you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked for two nights for my arrival into Melbourne. I used the skybus from the airport ($17 one way or $28 return) which also provided me with a free shuttle from Southern Cross Station straight to the hotel free of charge - ideal.
The rooms are generally quite small, but they are clean and modern with all the mod cons - flat screen TV, iPod dock etc. The room also has a hair dryer, iron, kettle (free tea and coffee selection) fridge - there is a mini bar and a price list in the room if required, the hotel also provide a 24hour room service menu. You also have the option of selecting your pillows from a menu, but I didn't use this service. The bathroom is small and therefore only has a shower rather than a bath/shower, but it is powerful and there is plenty hot water. There is a good selection of French Connection (FCUK) toiletries provided too.
The hotel provides excellent customer service - reception staff were very welcoming and due to the amount of luggage I had, a member of staff brought them up for me and showed me to my room. House keeping were efficient - when I returned back to my room (late morning) my bed had been made, my room had been cleaned with fresh towels, glasses and new toiletries in the bathroom.
The hotel is opposite Flinders Street Station and and The Yarra river as well ad being close to many shops, restaurants, the Crown Casino and the Eureka Sky Tower. Although my room faced on to the railway, the noise wasn't really noticeable due to the double glazed windows. During my stay (7th & 8th October) the windows were cleaned at the front of the building during a routine clean so the view was perfect.
There is also free Internet access in the rooms, however, the Internet expires after 3 hours so you need to reconnect via the hotel website for a further three hours; I don't think that there is a limit to how many times you can reconnect so it is ok but some guests might find it annoying.
I would highly recommend this hotel - friendly and helpful staff, ideal central location and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Amy P,

Many thanks for your review. We sincerely appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us feedback from their stays. This feedback is vital to ensuring the ongoing improvement of our rooms and services.

I will be sure to share your detailed comments with the team. It is always pleasing to hear when our guest appreciate the smaller touches such as our premium guest amenities, pillow menu and free Wi-Fi.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Australia.

Kind Regards

Alexander Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne is a great place to stay and the location allows easy access to transportation and local attractions. Service was excellent! Plant to stay there in the future. The room was beautifully decorated with a heritage décor. The bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom although compact was very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank timetotravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear timetotravelworld,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay.

It was wonderful to hear you enjoyed the hotels service and found the hotel ideally situated for your visit to Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Australia.

Kind Regards

Alexander Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne is a great place to stay while in Melbourne. The rates are very affordable, very nice rooms, the service is really good and very nice staff. The rooms we had have a beautiful view of the river and the night lights. It is a very central location which is close to the Crown Casino, Flinders's Station, the city in general. Trams just outside the door to go most places around the city. We have stayed there twice in the last 3 years and we were very happy with everything on both stays. We will be back to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river, great views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent B, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Fiona S,

First of all let me thank you for writing such a wonderful review and your kind words regarding our Team Members and our great location. The Team and I are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Vincent Bellerose
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a good hotel with small, but clean rooms. However it's right next to the railway station and you can hear the trains all night. Additionally, the free internet is capped at a very slow rate. My windoe was very dirty, so although there was a great view of the Yarra River it was hard to see and there was no chance of taking a photo.
The gym is small (one working bike, one broken, 2 treadmills, 4 weights machines, dumbells and a rowing machine).
The service was good with friendly staff, but honestly, I wouldnt stay there again unless they put me in a better room, not on the side of the railway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is high up to avoid noise, or a room that isn't on the railways station side...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear i_seraphim,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Though it was wonderful to hear you enjoyed the hotels service and facilities, its was disappointing to hear you found the proximity to the train lines an issue. We sincerely apologise that this interrupted your rest whilst at the hotel. We aim to ensure every guest is allocated a room that suits their travel needs. We would certainly be able to provide you a more suitable room for your next trip. Only a small portion of our rooms face the train line with 85% of the rooms well back from any potential noise issues.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Please feel free to contact the hotel direct to ensure the most suitable room allocation for your needs.

Kind Regards

Alexander Billing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked one night as a birthday surprise for my husband. which was kindly acknowledged by the hotel with a card and chocolates. The room was beautifully decorated with a heritage décor. The bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom although compact was very clean. Although facing busy Flinders Street and the station, the double glazing ensured a good night's sleep.
the buffet breakfast provided a delicious range and we enjoyed a drink and tapas in the bar. the hotel has a luxury old world feel, with all the mod cons and a very convenient city location. staff were courteous and friendly with excellent service. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return when celebrating another event!

Room Tip: check the website for great packages.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank San2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear San2028,
We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for your husband’s birthday. We’re particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed the recent refurbishments of the hotel and the facilities we have to offer - especially considering the work that has gone into ensuring the old style meets with the needs of our modern travelers.
As you mentioned, we do have a number of packages available and can be of assistance when organizing additional amenities and inclusions for a birthday, anniversary or that special occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,654 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
8,164 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $103 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing