We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Personal Double Act”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #64 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Business Personal Double Act”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Recently stayed for 5 nights, 2 for business and 3 personal for the weekend. Refurbished boutique hotel in a fabulous central city location, just down from Flinders Station. For work the hotel is great as there is a drive way for easy pick up drop off if required. My first room was quite small, but adequate and well kitted out. For the weekend when my sister turned up I moved to a larger corner room which was a much better size, in fact, would have been better for the whole visit. Turn left outside the hotel, and a short walk gets you to one of the restaurant/cafe alley ways for which Melbourne is famous. Walk all the way through the alley and you get to Collins, Little Collins and Bourke St shops and malls. Ahhh! Heaven. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juddster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Juddster1,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review posted on Tripadvisor.

The team puts a huge amount of work into ensuring that every guest, be they travelling for business or pleasure have an enjoyable stay. It was wonderful to hear your feedback and how much you enjoyed the hotels and the location.

We hope to be welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Warm Regards

Alexander Billing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,467
    1,782
    771
    265
    148
See reviews for
544
1,820
349
1,058
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have stayed in a number of hotels while on business trips in Melbourne for over a decade and this is one of the best. It is a characterful hotel but still well appointed and maintained. Dinner at the Straits Cafe was very good quality, both the meal and the service. The proximity to Flinders Street Station was also a big plus. Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stephenrpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony J, Executive Chef at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear stephenrpritchard

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experiences in the hotel. My team and I work extremely hard to ensure we delivery excellent service and choice for our guests.
We look forward in welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Johnson
Regional Director Kitchen Operations
Executive Chef – Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife booked us in for an Anniversary weekend retreat - could not have picked a better hotel!

From the staff in top hats to the deep leather chairs to the view of Southbank ...... all was wonderful. Used it as a base to explore the city (lived here 10 years but never wandered the alleys like a tourist), didn't try the in house dining as there is so many great eating places close by.

Easy walk to Federation Square, Southbank & the Crown complex.

Too good for words.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dVaridel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jag K, Director of Sales at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear dVaridel

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are really glad to hear that you and your wife had a lovely anniversary stay with us and enjoyed our location, especially being able to explore all the secret laneways Melbourne has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Jag Kaggoda
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic weekend. The hotel is close to everything and the staff were very helpful. Loved the ambience of the foyer and the bar where you can sit in large chairs and talk about your day. In the room it was a little bit noisy but the view was worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and you will be able to look over the Yarra River towards Southbank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Magicnetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Magicnetti,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We’re really glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the view. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have stayed a few times and love it. An historic building with so much character.The bar menu is great, from breakfast to the best tapas. A short walk to the shopping district, flinders street station and south bank. Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we've stayed in have been good so I really can't give advice on this,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele176210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony J, Executive Chef at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Michele176210

Thank you for your kind words, We are glad you enjoyed the variety of food offerings in our Travellers Bar. My team and I work extremely hard to ensure we delivery excellent service and choice for our guests.
We look forward in welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Johnson
Regional Director Kitchen Operations
Executive Chef – Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful room, big bed, small bathroom but big shower with rain head.
Packaged included parking and breakfast helpful staff. Easy walking distance to transport shops restaurants. Good service nice and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent B, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Troy B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.
The Team and I are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Vincent Bellerose
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great location, room and bathroom was a bit small but has been tastefully renovated. Magnificent foyer and stairway, beautifully designed and built in the 1900's. We had a voucher stay and the hot chocolate included in the deal was very nice, as was the bar and lounge areas with vey comfortable high back leather chairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brucepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jag K, Director of Sales at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear brucepo,

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us, and really appreciate the time guests take to provide their experience. We are very proud of the heritage and history behind this building and it’s great when our guests feel the same way.

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Kind regards
Jag Kaggoda
Director, Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#56 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,338 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing