We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Boutique Hotel Near The City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #62 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel Near The City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Boutique hotel. Rooms slightly small but comfy. Staff friendly. Food n bfast is decent. Wifi is reasonably fast but can b costly. Overall 4/5 star. Rooms neat, tidy n clean. The restaurant downstairs serves a meat Tenderloin Steak. Goes well with bottle of Shiraz.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    1,686
    725
    250
    142
See reviews for
521
1,703
328
992
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Don't believe the photos they showed on their website.
I came using Voucher bought online and was treated Badly. the staff have poor manners.Honestly it wasn't worth anything near what we paid for voucher.

1. The room was extremely small compared to what shown on website. I asked for a room closer to the lift. Two adults plus a toddler, closer to the lift would be more convenient to us. They refused. Their reason being: we are staying for 6 nights and no other availability. I found out other guests came later had a much bigger room under same category as the room we had.
(Did I mention the view? Oh, forget it) you get no view!

2. I asked again next morning the counter lady agreed other rooms were better than mine under same price category. She said she would check with her supervisor. Supervisor was not there at the time I asked so she asked the assistant supervisor who came out and used her finger pointing at the screen and walked away. The lady later told us we had to pay $60 extra to get a bigger room!

3. The cleaner seemed to have a problem with this room too. The toilet roll, tissue, body lotion, shower cap, even soap, were found too precious for her to refill. I had to call Housekeeping 3 days continuously because cleaner failed to refill! she took two toilet rolls out and did not put any in. how frustrating! the rest of the days i just couldn't be bothered calling anymore. Hello! Do they care?

4. Dust everywhere in the room too. I have to wipe it off myself!

5. First day we had two mugs in good condition. Second day we had a broken mug given to us. I called and was given small cup instead because they said no mugs available.

6. Everyday I had to bring my keys back to counter and get replaced. Its inconvenient i know but i don't mind if it doesn't take up so much of my time. Some staff are good and can organise it fast. Others u just wonder why they are so stupid because they talked to me on separate occasions but still asked me for my driving licence.

7. I could not access wifi as promised until I confronted the front desk with the booklet on third day of my stay. Of course, the free service is slow like hell, but I managed to get online to post this!

8. I bumped into this blonde short haired, Middle Aged cleaner lady at the lift one morning. I said Hi with a big smile. She returned my favour with a black long face. What's wrong with this place?!

My advice is, if you could after a comfortable place, don't bother this hotel. The voucher seems like a good deal but don't forget the extra $30 or $50 they charge on weekends.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was the perfect getaway for my wife and myself, where we didn't have to get into the car after we arrived. It's a great with easy walking distance to the shops cinemas, casino etc. Whilst the rooms itself was not overly special, it was clean and spacious enough. The atmosphere of the place was elegant and stylish and you almost felt like you were living in the 1940s. It was a nice retrest for a couple. The service was very good.

Room Tip: Can only suggest to try and get a room that overlooks Flinder St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just stayed for a long weekend with my fiancé. Fantastic location if you're looking to be in the CBD although the actual road the hotel is on is not the best road (right by train station). If you're looking for an older building with a bit of character, this is a good choice. I think rooms have been renovated in last few years. Our room was neat & tidy with a comfortable bed. However it was very small, with a tiny bathroom. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJosiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Attended a high tea at this hotel with friends.On the table was a small glass of warm water.Waiter eventually arrived with the bubbly and the tier of food.No tea or coffee.The sandwiches were made from thick bread (toast) and consisted of hard boiled egg,ham and cheese,eit5her salmon or tuna the rbread was to thick to tell the difference,cakes we re rich and gluggy,scones were delicious but still no tea or coffee.This arrived several minutes later and was served on domestic hotel china.Previous high teas alaways had English Royal Doulton,a pot of tea and e3xcellent service. I feel this their first foray into High Teas and they were swamped with the Scoopon b uyers (like us) I feel they will learn and have more staff.

Room Tip: Be prepared for stairs up to reception and down to restruant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend with my husband two weeks ago. I liked the location, the staff were friendly, although they could put more Reception staff on when it's busy, because I hate waiting in line. Our room was ready at 11.00am which was great. Rooms are pretty small but functional, we had a bottle of wine waiting for us as part of a deal we got. The air conditioning wasn't working properly, but we rang up and they were prompt in fixing in while we went out. Then the TV starting having issues, they tried to fix it but because it was late at night, the Maintenance man wasn't there, so they offered us the free buffet breakfast in the morning, which I was happy with.

The bathroom was poorly designed, the toilet is at the entrance to the shower and everytime you had a shower, it flooded the toilet area, so if someone else went to the toilet after someone had had a shower, the floor was flooded.

Check-out was efficient and overall enjoyed our stay, but would probably go to another hotel next time in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenBeesWax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for one night so we could attend a function at nearby Crown. The room is very well appointed, we had view over the Yarra and we love the styling of the small but nicely decorated room. The staff are efficient and pleasant. The interior of the hotel is also very well done, this hotel is more like a boutique hotel than a large chain. Our only gripe (and this is carried over from our last stay in August 2012) is the size of the shower screen, as without a dam made out of a towel, you may flood the bathroom. There was a note with extra towels in the bathroom, so management are aware, just a shame that 8 months after our last visit, when we did make them aware of the issue, it hasn't been fixed. If it had have been, I'd be happy to rate this hotel a 5 out of 5. We will return, great location and excellent value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#53 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,194 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing