We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was so bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #64 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food was so bad”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We checked in our an our early so we only got one room out of the two. This was 1pm so they don't seem to be terribly organised in the house keeping deoartment. No genuine empathy from the customer service agent at the front desk and she kept us waiting half an hour with no follow up. We had to wait again to basically get one room key. We carried our bags up to the room. The room is nice but tiny. The breakfast was in edible, I have never been so disappointed. The rest of the food I ate in the hotel very average.

Even small things like going in the lift to your room is awkward, if there is someone else in the lift and they swipe before you, the lift goes and you can miss your level. This is not a five star hotel. Also noise from other people's doors outside the rooms is noisy - again not five star AT ALL

I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: They are so tiny, I think you need to pay a lot to be able to move
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juz171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    1,837
    796
    275
    149
See reviews for
552
1,883
360
1,113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I only stayed one night in a Superior Room, so it wasn't so bad because there wasn't much room. But if I was staying longer I would like a bigger room. The only thing I didn't like was the balcony out side the bedroom window that couldn't be accessed from my room.
The room was clean and had just a basic bathroom, shower and toilet.
The mini bar prices were very cheap compared to most hotels.
The service was friendly and professional.
The buffet breakfast was just your standard breakfast, nothing fancy. Cereal x4, eggs, bacon, toast, raisin toast, muffins, pastries, fruit (fresh and preserved), yogurt, coffee, tea and juices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'm not sure why my previous review did not get posted but this is the worst hotel I have stayed in in my 20 years in travel. From the beginning with no-one helping me to my room with my 3 pieces of luggage even though there were so called staff just hanging around the counter doing nothing to the attitude from front desk when my wifi wouldn't work. I was given misinformation on the location of a restaurant, resulting in me being late for my own function to sending someone to help me with my 20kgs of material who complained every 30 seconds about having to do it even though I had not been the one to ask him but rather another staff member. I couldn't take it anymore so I told him to go away - I would do it myself. The 6 blocks I walked with this material should not have happened as I was told it was 5 minutes from the hotel otherwise I would have taken a taxi. Coming back to my room and seeing that my room had been serviced but there was a wet towel in the sink left behind. I also asked for a pillow from the pillow menu which was totally forgotten about and when I called to check on where it was after an hour and a half, took another 45 minutes to arrive and was presented with two choices none of which I had asked for. The guy at the front desk told me it was 4.5 star hotel - that is laughable. Will never stay here again nor any other Rendezvous again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Yep! The rooms are the size that you would expect from a grand old lady of 100 years, yet our room had been very recently refurbished, was very clean, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The staff we encountered were friendly, informative and helpful..........No Complaints Whatsoever!! and we would happily stay again. Jan and Chris Smith.- Happy Travellers.

Room Tip: Quiet, Refurbished at the back of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasmi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We requested a quiet room on our booking form. We were not disappointed. Room was top floor, city view and very quiet. One of the best stays I've had in a hotel. Clean, comfortable, modern room. Room was on the small side but this didn't bother us. Great service and located within walking distance of the action.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room on the booking form.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terminator M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were visiting from country Victoria and stayed at the Rendezvous in Melbourne for a weekend away, the room was perfect for what we needed, comfy bed and clean room. The hotel is right in the city so close to shopping, restaurants and the train station.
The only complaint I have is that there was no mattress protector and NO quilt cover - there was a bottom sheet, a top sheet, and just the doona, they had thrown another top sheet over the top to try and hide it- but obviously as soon as you get into bed you realise the top sheet is just tucked under the doona.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levilouicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at teh Rendezvous in Melbourne for Easter 2013. In general the hotel was quite good, its just that the rooms were so small, that it really took the shine off. The location is great. Its just accross from Flinders Street Station, so the trams stop is almost just out front, and you are just accross the river from Southgate and the Casino. The service was very good. The breakfast was also quite good, although most hotels that claim this star rating often have eggs cooked to order. The Rendezvous was just a straight up buffet. The old world charm is certainly there in the foyer and bar area, and certainly in the lifts (which were slow and clunky). However, as soon as you get into the rooms, you feel like you are in Tokyo. The rooms were just too small. They have obviously done a major cut down to get the most beds in that they can. I am not a big guy, but my feet were in the shower when sitting on the toilet ! It didn't really spoil the stay, it was more just a disapointment. We were paying minimum rate, so maybe you can get a bigger room with a few more dollars.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHobit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing