We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very small rooms the hotel is 100years old and feels it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #66 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very small rooms the hotel is 100years old and feels it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is an old refurbished establishment and the rooms are very small. I found lift access confusing and if you got in the wrong lift it was a rabbit warren to navigate. As mentioned the rooms are tiny mine had a view of a white brick wall. The tv did not have access to afl football which is available at other hotels that I have stayed in. I am a regular traveller to Melbourne CBD hotels and I would rate the Novotel and the sebel as far better options if you are a customer that likes a room with some space. I can handle small spaces but I felt uncomfortable staying here with my wife. Which is a Shame as this is the first time I have travelled to Melbourne with her in 12 months. When I spoke to reception about my room they said this room is one step up from a base room and all rooms are a similar size. He told me that the hotel is 100 years old and that the room size was quite generous back then.
I also had to follow them up about my house keeping as the room had not been made up by 240pm. They explained that rooms where customers had checked out received priority at this hotel.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for people that are sensitive about small spaces or old lifts. Or anyone that could afford to stay at the Novotel or sebel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    1,771
    768
    264
    148
See reviews for
541
1,804
348
1,054
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently had 3 nights at this beautiful hotel & I would highly recommend it.
I was upgraded at no extra charge to a lovely room on the 9th floor with a great view when I expressed my disappointment at the first room that I was shown on the 2nd floor, only that it was very small for a 3 night stay.
Felicity at reception was so friendly & understanding & spoke with the manager to have my room changed, I thought that was very nice of them to do that.
I dined at the restaurant that first night, great food & service.
I had full buffet breakfast every morning & everything was fresh, delicious & well presented.
The Travellers bar is a lovely spot to relax. The building itself is stunning with lovely decor & it is very centrally located.
All the staff were friendly & professional.
A big thank you to you all.
I will definately stay again. Peta Harding. Nelson Bay. NSW

Room Tip: Higher floor, city scape view, looking to Flinders Station & Yarra river over to Southbank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hello
I have just stayed at the Rendezvous in Flinders st Melbourne for the first time. I rarely complain as errors do occur however this would have to be the worst hotel I have stayed in in recent times. Firstly, phoning down to have my car ready in 45 mins resulted in a no show, only when you present your ticket do they get your car. This is despite the 7 people waiting as I was. To add insult to injury, arriving back at the hotel at 11:15pm only to find my room had not been serviced was the last straw. I phoned reception, only to be advised that unless I had requested my room to have been serviced it would not have been done. Excuse me! I would suggest we stay somewhere else in future!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_WarriorsWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We arrived at 08:30 on a Sunday morning. Would have just dropped our bags off and go for a walk until we could check in.
Fortunately they had upgraded us to a refurbished room and it was ready.
Just what we needed after our flight from Singapore.
They explained that there was an issue with the new shower screens but supplied extra towels.
Not really a problem.
Bed was perfect, fantastic service, centrally located and it was my birthday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Right in the heart of Melbourne this hotel is close to virtually everything. Our stay was at a 'special low rate' which I am always apprehensive about because I expect to be given the worst room available but what we had was quite good. At the rear of the building near the service elevator it was roomy and quite at night but noisy from about 0730 in the morning when house- maids were banging their cleaning trolleys against the outside wall. Fittings and furnishings were modern and good quality and there were nice touches such as slippers and bathrobes. The only negative is the size of the bathroom. It's very small but well equipped. Everything worked well and it was a comfortable stay. Staff were friendly and professional as you should expect. Valet parking seems expensive at $35 but it was worth it for convenience and actually quite reasonable in cost. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4444_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in the Deluxe suite which was clean but small. The shower was small and the shower screen was ineffective as water sprayed out everywhere which was inconvenient. The decorative cushions smelled bad as well.


The view was spectacular and the service was good too.
Staff were friendly, well groomed and helpful.

Room Tip: Request for a south bank view on the top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope10512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at short notice for the White Night festival weekend . The location is perfect, a short walk from Flinders Street station and walking distance to all of the city attractions. We received an upgrade to a deluxe room which was well appointed with an extremely comfortable bed and modern furnishings. The buffet breakfast was fantastic with tea plungers ( much nicer than tea bags ) and a great selection to choose from. The best hotel we have stayed at in the city by far.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing