We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in Melb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #67 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked two nights through an Our Deal voucher at The Rendezvous.
I was on my own for two nights in Melbourne.
Firstly there was no charge when I wanted to change my booking.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant during my whole stay. Suggesting breakfast haunts (Degraves street) fantastic suggestion, where I went both mornings.
The rooms where small, but comfortable for one. If my partner had come with me it would have been squeezy. Clean, fresh and attractive bathroom.
Comfortable bed with a pillow menu. Good air conditioning.
The location great, on tram line with Flinders street train station a 2 minute walk.
I did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment, but the menu looked interesting.
I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,021)
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,466 - 4,472 of 5,023 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

A typical Rendezvous hotel - beautiful old city building transformed into a comfortable middle-of-the-road hotel. Quite a successful conversion in this case with very polite and efficient staff and an excellent location, but the decorations and furnishings could do with a bit of a jazzing up. We'd stay here again though at the right price.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Having spent 10 frantic days in Sydney, we were hoping for a few days in Melbourne to chill out. Thankfully this hotel was in a very central location and our room was very spacious and quiet.
The hotel is located a few hundreds yards away from Federation Sq, the tram stops just outside the hotel entrance if want to explore further afield eg. st kilda.
We didn't have breakfast as part of our stay but because the hotel is on Finders St there's plenty of options just a short stroll away.
The reception staff were very helpful in giving us advice on where to go and what to do, especially as it was 42C outside and we wanted to stay cool.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huw-and-Anwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Bought a night on sale for $100 from ourdeals.com.au a few months back. Stayed on a Tuesday night.

Beautiful classy old style building, very well maintained. Trams right out the front and spencer street station on the corner, with a quick walk under the train station to get to Southgate beside the water.

Room was small very tidy and modern and perfect for for a few nights stay. Mini bar seemed really cheap, $7 for half bottle of wine, $4 for beer...very reasonable and more likely to make use of when its hot priced obscenely...so of course we devoured wine, beer, chips and nuts. No more do not disturb signs or make up my room, it's now a button you press on a panel which lights up another panel near the door out the front. Haven't seen anything like that before, so that was cool. We were right near housekeeping stores and were woken up by noisy chatty housekeepers,laughing and seeming not to realise that people were trying to sleep still at that hour of the morning.

Great menu selection, room service 24hrs, got dinner coupons but didn't use them unfortunately.

Shower had one of those big rain shower heads so water pressure not that great. Bathroom was tiny, but well laid out. Great magnifying double sided mirror very well placed to apply makeup. Lights came on automatically when you walked in.

3hrs free internet in each room, paid also available. Very friendly and accommodating staff, would def go back again as the location is great and the room was fantastic for the price.

Very happy!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This lovely old hotel has been tastefully refurbished retaining its beautiful mosiac floor and painted ceilings. Right on flinders street it is a perfect location for all transport. The service is attentive and the rooms although not grand were simple , clean and well priced.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The staff were wonderful from the moment we set foot in the door. We were set upon by staff wanting to assist with bags etc... And they genuinely welcomed us.., I have NEVER had that happen elsewhere! We checked in and went into a fantastically classical lobby, up through the timeless elevators and found our room...

I was initially a little disappointed by the size and the view of a wall but then I thought "hey! I've paid a lot more money elsewhere and gotten smaller rooms that were dirty.. Abd the view isn't everything'. The reviews about the toilet and the shower have some truth, but saying your feet are IN the shower is an extreme exaggeration! Yes it's small, but so is our bathroom at home, and it was renovated to a wonderful degree. The decor all round is beautiful. I'm currently writing this in my hotel room. I was concerned about the noise level at first also, and I can hear a (very) distant rumble from the station and trams but it's nothing that will keep this happy camper from a good nights sleep :)

The bed is wonderfully comfortable. There is a wonderful bar/lounge area below to chill out in and you are right in the heart of Melbourne shopping districts... Really.. There's little to complain about! We're so difficult to please these days it seems. Me and my fiancé are very laid back people.. And the rendezvous suits our needs and expectations just fine :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singme2sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in Jan 2013. Room and hotel was neat and clean, but the room I stayed was quite small. The location is central this has advantage of being close to transport and attractions, but the noise and trembling from tram and train especially at night was quite disturbing - not hotel's fault - but try to get a room away from the railway if you can. Service was generally good. They allowed early check-in without fuss, although housekeeping made a visit soon after while I was unpacking to check the mini-bar as it was not done when the previous guest checked-out. It didn't matter too much to me but was bit odd that they let me check-in before these were done. The gym was hidden away on 3rd or 4th floor, and there was no information guide in the room about the gym and other facilities, and no signs at the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,656 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,173 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $102 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing