We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, rooms small but nicely decorated.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #64 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms small but nicely decorated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here during the Australian Open. The location is fantastic - right opposite Flinders St station, and easy walking distance to the main shopping area, the botanical gardens and Southbank. The rooms are really nicely decorated, although there are a little small and don't have much natural daylight. We had both a bath and shower in the bathroom. Staff were friendly. Would stay there again, and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nova T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    1,735
    746
    257
    146
See reviews for
530
1,757
339
1,026
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Was in Melbourne for 3 night stay with a friend stayed in twin room.
Check in was good but room (room 417) wasn't ready at time of check in at 2pm was told we would get a phone call when ready - didn't get the call- when arriving back at 4pm room ready.
Location is the best point of Hotel closed to everything with tram at door.
Very noisy rooms can hear doorway , next door through wall,water running in walls very loud. etc.
Room recently renovated good furnishings.
Air con good touch on noisy side but can live with it.
Beds medium to firm good night sleep.
Small tv with very poor reception on all channels.
Bathroom so small that when you sit on the toilet your legs are in the shower - seriously Im not exaggerating it is smaller then small.. Shower water pressure fine, shower head too big for shower and cant be adjusted to suit.
Room service poor rang on 2 different times (1am + 9pm) told both times a 1 hour wait didn't order quicker to go out to street for take away feed.
Room cleaned every day thumbs up here.
Checking out fast no issues.
Would we stay here again - Maybe

Room Tip: try not swinging a cat in bathroom seriously its the smallest closet I've showered in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during the Australian Open for a long weekend and found it to be great. The rooms have been refurbished so everything was new and there was plenty of room for the 2 of us. The bathroom was small but it didn't bother us at all. Mini bar prices were reasonable too! Everything is within walking distance and we will definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheesecake19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home from 2 enjoyable nights at the Rendezvous in Melbourne. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was new and clean, bathroom was small but didn't plan to spend too much time in there. The windows are sound proof so the room was very quiet even though the hotel is located across the road from the train station. Location was excellent, easy walk to South bank for all the restaurants and close to the city for shopping. We'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Located close to shops, restaurants, trams, station. We were there for Aust Open Tennis so prices higher than normal. Rooms a little small and although modern, needed more light (picky?). Cleaning of room not up to the mark, no vacuuming and friends bed very poorly made.
Desk staff were very helpful and did their jobs well.
Loved the location though and this certainly outweighed any negatives.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Histo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for work and found the hotel to be in a great location, but it had the smallest rooms I have encountered in any of my travels. It felt like I was in a closet, and the bathroom was tiny. The service was good, and the bed was comfortable. Will not stay again, I like some space.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Rendezvous for two nights and I purchased this accommodation on the internet.
The location is perfect - right opposite Flinders Street Station and trams everywhere.
Shops, offices, restaurants, bars very close by, so great location for nightlife also.

My problem was the room at the hotel. It was incredibly small - very dark and difficult to read or even see properly. We looked across to a brick wall - understandable, but hey, have additional lighting in the room if this is the case - and the bathroom was extraordinarily pokey. If I sat on the toilet, my feet were in the shower recess!! Two people could not fit in the bathroom at the same time.

On coming back to the bar at the hotel one night at approximately 10.00pm, we ordered some drinks, enjoyed these & were just about to order a second when we were told that the bar was closing - 10.30pm on a Friday night!!!

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Would perhaps stay there again because of the location but only if I could book a bigger room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perth1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#55 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,265 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing