We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #68 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is situated in a very central location. Some rooms are smaller and faces a side carpark however the staff were very helpful and changed it for me on my second night to a river facing one. The River view rooms are more spacious and appeared to be recently refurbished. Tea and coffee were not replenished everyday but that's minor discomfort compared to the cleanliness of the room.
Overall I was very pleased with the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Jillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,937 - 4,943 of 5,428 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Rendezvous this week.
The room/s were clean, well presented and the 'expected' facilities were available.
Bed was comfortable and pillow menu a great addiditive.
We were very disapointed in the bathroom "flooding" problem. The shower drainage is poorly designed and the bathroom floor ends up covered in water, making it slippery and dangerous. A notice plus two extra towels provides us with enough information to establish that this problem is known and not going to get fixed soon.
we were with another couple who stayed in the room next door and they experienced the exact problem with flooding bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was very unimpressed with this hotel, my partner booked it and upon arrival let the staff know it was for a special occasion hoping for the offer of an upgrade, no dice. The girl at the front counter adopted a more or less 'that's nice' attitude. The staff are all either too oblivious or just don't care, nobody offered to take our bags (which we're quite large) up to our rooms at all. The rooms are TINY, especially the bathroom where even I who is 5 foot nothing struggled to do my hair. If you're only using this is a place to sleep then thats fine, and it is indeed very close to everything. But for someone like us who were on holidays I very much didn't appreciate being woken at 8am by the housekeepers banging around in the bathroom next door then proceeding to vacuum. Check out is late for a reason, PEOPLE LIKE TO SLEEP IN!!! I rang down to front desk and was hung up on twice and on the third call there was no apology at all, just poor customer service all round. Would not recommend this to others, nor would I consider staying in another Rendezvous hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sriles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Did not get off to a good start with the rendezvous. Perhaps it was because we were using a scoop on voucher for the length of our stay! We were not welcomed at all and felt the man who checked us in was cold and short as he spoke. We were given no introduction to the hotel, services and had to figure it all out for ourselves, such as where to find breakfast which was included with our deal. Our level 6 room had a view of a parking lot (those parking would also have a view of us) so we had to keep blinds closed the whole time which was annoying as the light switch system in the room was difficult and frustrating to figure. The bathroom was the smallest I've seen but it was clean and had the things you needed. Some days our shampoo, etc wasn't replenished and if I left a water bottle out house keeping threw it out!! Annoying! The room itself was fine and didn't bother us too much as we only returned to sleep at night - if we were there more I'm sure we would have been disappointed further. The location is good, breakfast was average, some staff were less than friendly, housekeeping was also below average, gym was very small. I won't be going back but at the same time the little things I didn't let bother me so I wouldn't consider the trip ruined.

Room Tip: Try an upgrade perhaps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelC2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Flew to Melbourne for a week of r&r. The Rendezvous is perfectly located in the CBD for those who wish to base themselves a short walk from EVERYTHING. I have read a number of previous reviews and the rooms are indeed small, however this shouldn't matter if you're only going to use your room for a brief rest breaks and sleep. Our room was modern and clean. The bed was very small, which was slightly disappointing. Pillows were terrible. Service was good, although we hardly needed to interact with staff. All things aside, we will definitely stay here during our next visit.

Room Tip: When booking, request a queen or kind bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Rendezvous Hotel. Firstly, the location is fantastic. So many cafes and shops within easy walking distance! The room was very clean and had lovely touches of bathrobes and slippers for use during your stay and a selection of pillows you can request. Floor boards a bit creaky and no cutlery in room to eat our bits after shopping at the markets but kitchen staff helped with our requests. Staff were very helpful. Had a light lunch in the cafe which was enjoyable. Overall, a very positive experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
8,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing