We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for our wedding anniversary. Left our bags early and valet parking with no problems. Our room was small but very clean and freshly refurbished. Bathroom clean and a big bath. Champagne on arrival fantastic. Breakfast was very nice. I would return in a heartbeat. Great location

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taar411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,079 - 5,085 of 5,531 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

I travel to Melbourne on business regularly and typically overnight - Rendezvous suits me perfectly. It is no 5 star flash, uber expensive option but it is very comfortable, extremely well located (some outstanding restaurants nearby including Maha just around the corner) and quiet with character a plenty. Love the central portico and first floor bar. Charming. Rooms are modern and well appointed though are on the snug side as many have mentioned. No problem at all if you are a lone traveller or a couple. I dined downstairs some years back - no problems, but typically venture out. Just a short stroll under the Yarra to South Bank or else head North into the CBD. I keep coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickyKnees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Business trip, stayed for one night. Room was immaculate, they offer a pillow menu, full size ironing board, and real blow dryer. Loved the room, comfy and quiet. The hotel is so beautiful and staff were outstanding. Professional but friendly, and helpful. Check in and out was super fast. Can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 646Lisa_M646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights over a weekend and thought it was good. When I booked, we upgraded our room and I requested a room with a view. We got a stunning view of the Yarra and Southbank, but a TINY room! This didn't bother us too much as we were going to be out and about all weekend anyway. Even though we paid for an upgrade, my Dad didn't and he ended up in the room next to us which was exactly the same (??). We were in a double bed, which was small. We are both quite tall so it was a bit uncomfortable. A queen sized bed would have been great. The room was newly renovated and comfortable enough for the time we spent there, which wasn't much. The mini-bar was reasonably priced which was a nice surprise. The hotel itself was very clean and had a nice feel about it. The staff were friendly and check in and out was quick and easy.
Its in a fantastic location, easy to get anywhere and everything is close by. Flinders St Station directly opposite, trams everywhere and not too far to walk either. We walked to Etihad Stadium (about 25 mins) and also Lygon St which was about the same. Nice walks, if you'd rather take a cab, nothing cost more than $10. (Except the airport which was about $50)
I would recommend staying here if you're on a tighter budget but still want a reasonable place to stay (and aren't bothered about having a small room if you're not spending much time in it). If you book ahead you can get a good price. Next time I'm going to Crown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view, or upgrade it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We picked up a coupon voucher for the Rendezvous Hotel. We are from Melbourne but like to stay in the City every now and then. We found the staff reception staff very robotic and almost rude. Not sure if it was due to being a voucher or not. The room was small but nicely decorated, very high ceilings. We were upgraded so not sure what the standard room would be like but I imagine very very tiny. Cleaning staff were great and very friendly.

Valet parking was great $35 but included on our voucher. Breakfast was good steep stairs to lower ground level. We arrived at 9.30 but didn't avoid the rush, although staff did get through the line very quickly.

All in all not a bad place to stay on a budget. Don't know if I would rush there again although the location is great opposite Flinders Street Station.

Wouldn't stay any longer than a couple of days and only if you weren't going to spend a lot of time in your room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dare2burbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a good value little hotel that ticks all the boxes, particularly for business travel.
Prompt, friendly service, especially at check in/out and for room service, was appreciated.
Helpful concierge, reasonable breakfast, a lovely in house bar and an excellent location close to the heart of Melbourne CBD and Flinders station were all advantages.
Our room was very quiet, however the outlook onto carparks and building sites was uninspiring -
I suspect the rooms on the Flinders st side have a better outlook but may be noisier?
Well appointed but small bathroom, and the room looked to have been upgraded recently Comfortable bed, reasonable a/c, and the usual inclusions such as minibar, safe, wifi, robes, etc
all made our stay enjoyable. No frills, but all the basics!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melly308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A suprisingly warm welcome from all staff, front desk efficient with a smile, bar staff very friendly without being over the top. Room size a little on the small size but very clean and well fitted out. Parts of the hotel have been kept as 100 years ago, a lovely touch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,723 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 161 in Melbourne
3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $95 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Australia's finest historic hotels. Built in 1912, this meticulously restored hotel retains the elegant style of the early 1900s while providing you with all the convenience of 21st century technology and amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing